Bookmarkable Series: Don't lose your audience! Learn how you can optimize your GIF files so your blog post loads faster for your viewers. Includes a short tutorial video!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Who doesn’t love a good GIF! They add personality to your posts. There are times that I add multiple GIFs to a single post. What I didn’t realize is that some GIF are very large in size. They can slow the load time of your page. With slow load time, you lose viewers, which means a loss of upvotes, follows, resteems and comments. So, take a couple extra steps to ensure you are saving your audience time and bandwidth!

@enchantedspirit said in the recent @unmentionable post… Curation with Style: The Best of the Unmentionables Ep 2

…do yourself and your audience a favor. Don't waste their time making them wait on what you want to say and show them. Once spent, time is a resource you can never reclaim. Nobody has scads to spare. Be a considerate blogger ... and a good Steemit citizen.

Optimized Cat with Banana GIF

Special Shoutout to @mountainwashere for Leaving This Comment
gif optimizer 15.JPG

See a Short Step-by-Step Tutorial Video (3:18)

Significantly reduces the file size

image

image


EZGif.com is #bookmarkable… because some things are just meant to be saved.

image

Previous Bookmarkable Series Posts


My Latest Posts

Remember to comment, follow, upvote and resteem to show support.

Much luv,

@karencarrens

***This post was posted by eSteem mobile app.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

I've enjoyed this series of posts. It inspired me to write one of my own yesterday, and now this is also a very helpful post.

I actually used EZGif.com in a recent post, so I'm glad to see that you recommend it too. Thanks for sharing!

Awww thanks for your feedback. Letting me know that I helped inspire you ...means the world to me! 🤗🤗🤗

You're very welcome! Keep up the good work. I'll be following along so I can see if anything else inspires me!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

I love optimized GIFs! Many thanks for this post,

Cheers, Fitz

That's awesome! What percentage were you able to reduce? Looks

took about 50% off, beyond that, the gifs quality dropped too much

That's pretty good! 😀

An incredibly useful post - I will be bookmarking this for future use, as load time is very important to me, especially being a web design geek haha.

Thank you! Resteeming

Thanks for the resteem! Tech nerds unite!

This is great! I need to start using these - I am very very slowly moving up the Steemit learning curve and info like this is really useful, thanks!

You're welcome! I hope it's clear enough. If you have questions, don't hesitate to ask. Thanks for the encouragment.

Cool - I will start piling up the questions!!

Cheers

That's handy, I've been avoiding gifs for a while because of load times!

Wow! What a great comment! I'm going to highlight it in my post 😀

good tip! I use ezgif on all my gifs... not just to compress them, but also to create them from still shots!

And I love that site! You really can do tons with it. And, thanks for the tipu in my wallet 😋 it was fun to see. Are you testing it out? I think I may look into it.

yeah, i've been using it for a while now to stash my SBD, it pays some dividends, too!

tbh sending you that tip was by accident ;) but still, ezgif is great and i'd love to see more great gifs without unneeded pageload on steemit, so a well deserved accident it was!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 4.34 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @karencarrens. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53