Millions of Users Have Been Hacked with Malware Found INSIDE their Anti-Malware Program. Find Out if You're Safe and What to Do if You're Not.

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Every day, we rely on anti-malware and anti-virus programs to keep our computers safe. So, imagine the shock when I realized that a program I've been using on and off years had been hacked!

Yesterday, Piriform announced that older versions of their anti-malware program, CCleaner, were compromised. I have had the Free version of CCleaner and run it from time to time when I want to make doubly sure that my Vipre anti-virus software didn't miss anything.

Here is a Link to the Press Release

According to the press release, the data was non-sensitive data which included “computer name, IP address, list of installed software, list of active software, list of network adapters”. Something else I didn't realize was that Piriform was recently bought out by Avast. I was once one of the 400 million Avast antivirus users but a while ago before I switched to Vipre.

News Release on Piriform's CCleaner Hack

Profound comment by @dandesign86

I mean seriously... Do we need an anti-malware program for our anti-malware program now?

So, What Are Your Options?

Toss it

Burn it

Conduct an exorcism

No Need to Freak Out...


Here are the Steps to Take

Step 1: Check to see if you are compromised

Check to see if you have a version that is compromised. Apparently, over 2 million users are affected. The compromised versions are 32 bit... CCleaner v5.33.6162 and CCleaner Cloud v1.07.3191. As you can see by my image, I have CCleaner v5.28.6005 (64-bit) which is really old. Even though it's not listed as a compromised version, it's not the latest release.

ccleaner.JPG

Step 2: Protect yourself with the newest release

The CCleaner Cloud will update automatically. However, if you have the CCleaner v5.33.6162, you need to update it to CCleaner v5.34. If you have one of the two compromised versions or if you just want to update to the newest release, download the latest version by clicking https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/standard.

After I updated my program, you can see that it now has the CCleaner v5.34 which is deemed malware-free.

ccleaner2.JPG

For Us Nerds

https://www.wired.com/story/ccleaner-malware-supply-chain-software-security/
https://press.avast.com/avast-acquires-piriform-maker-of-ccleaner


My Latest Posts

Remember to comment, follow, upvote and resteem to show support.

Much luv,

@karencarrens

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

thank you for the heads up am going to check if on one of my computers I may not have that installed, sounds familiar

That's great. You never know with these things.

This is why I only use Linux or Unix. I hate Windows because of how (purposely) vulnerable it is. And even the best anti-virus software has major holes. Good post! @suicialviral

I know, so some anti-virus software bogs my computer down. And, in this case, you have to wonder if the bad stuff is coming in in spite of or because of it. But, better to be protected than not.

I mean seriously... Do we need a anti-malware program for our anti-malware program now ? I also wonder how much of the malware out there was actually made by the same people who then buy us programs to protect ourselves ..

LOL. Do we need an anti-malware program for our anti-malware program now? That's hilarious! It would have actually made an amazing title for my blog!!! It's so good, I edited my post and gave it honorable mention above. :)

And, yes, the more malware out there, the better business is... hmmmm.

Haha glad you liked the joke. The internet is really the wild Wild West !

I feel these Anti Virus Companies only creates new virus and inject into our system and then ask money to clean it LOL. Byt great advice, in my home computer I usually use CCleaner.

I wouldn't doubt that. I just realized after reading your comment, I need to update my husband's laptop too.🙄

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Jeez, I can't keep up with all this shit - I just use an iPad - that ok?

You should be just fine with an iPad. I never had issues, or at least known of issues with viruses and malware with iOS. :)

Good to know thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28