What Do You Think?

in #steemit6 years ago

Oh that's right.. You can't tell me.

BTW, this is actually @futuremind, posting with my non-posting account because I don't have the ability to post with my main account.



SAYSITALL.PNG

Does this seem a little harsh? It is, and it doesn't reflect a full picture of what's going on, but this is how many Steemian's feel right now, and that is exactly why I posted it.

While the HF20 may ultimately solve solutions at the technical level, it doesn't seem to add anything to the user experience, and is it not the "average user" that builds the populous in a social network?. (I know it's still equilibrating, or "syncing/updating") but the average user doesn't know, or understand this. Why, because the system needs more than a fork to fix things. The Steem blockchain needs a full blown economic overhaul.

There are plenty of people voicing their opinions about development, and I think this is great, but this isn't the first time there was an uproar, and generally, people seem to forget previous issues once things are back to normal. Is this what we want for Steemit, increasing complexities, lack of communication, questionable developments, and reruns of denial of service for account operations?

I mean, really take a minute to digest that, and ask yourself if this isn't complete bullshit.


HF20: Why STEEM software development process is broken and why to fix it NOW!
@develcuy

Don't forget to be gentle...
@meno

Hard Fork Up The...
@rok-sivante

Hard Fork 20 Meme Contest
@stellabelle


I could sit here linking posts until the cows come home, but you get the picture.

I remember when I first signed up for Steemit. How long ago?




I really didn't have a clue what was going on, (beneath the surface), and no one that signs up is going to get a conceptual understanding for quite a while, because it's complicated AF for most people. I try to explain it to individuals who are interested in Steemit, and they get very confused, smart people, and I am a great explainer, I know I am..

So when I first started posting, my blogs looked like crap, and I just floated around commenting, posting, and having a great time, until I hit my first bandwidth restriction.

I remember panicking because I felt like I had made the greatest post in the world. (I think it was about Joe Rogan, so of course it was an awesome post) I didn't have the slightest clue what to do. So I went looking for help.

I happened to meet @fyrstikken at this time, and he graciously delegated me around 300 Steem Power for a short while, to help me build my account to a sufficiently "independent" level, where I wouldn't need a delegation to ensure bandwidth allotment. I remember how awesome that felt, and thinking that the Steem blockchain needs more stake holders like him. I'll never forget that, so thank you fyrstikken.


Why am I talking about all of this?

Because really, even though it was a really nice thing for him to do, no one should need a delegation for account operations. That is my opinion, and it will not change. This system was never branded as a "pay to play" kind of place, but in some respects, it is. I would like to see this change, not modifications that increase the need for larger stake. We will effectively work ourselves in reverse with this type of thinking.

Since this system only seems to gain a steeper learning curve, I think we need to start setting some standards for ourselves. I LOVE the technical side of the blockchain, but I am not naive enough to think facebook users will migrate to a platform where they need to learn economics, technical jargon, and manage various "mana/RC recharges." People want to post and go, and if they make money, press a cash out button. This to me, is a common sense concept, yet we push towards complexity.

Why is a simple invention such as a "fork" such an essential household item? Because it's a simple tool, with a simple function, that simply makes life easier. I find the comparison to a blockchain fork to be quite diametrical, and of course there is nothing simple about blockchain, but what the hell, I digress.

So what kind of standards do we need to set. Well first, we need to radically accept that things aren't going to get simpler around here, so now we have a duty and a responsibility to understand what is going on. We need to state, and be clear as to what we want, and concise with our decisions.

For me it's as simple as this. I have worked my ass off on the blockchain, and I have invested some of my own money, yet now, I am given an error when trying to post, that I may need to buy some Steem power? I don't think so, I really don't. I have purchased enough, and worked hard enough to have my place here. So this is how things will work for me, I'll post this, and wait for everything to charge before transacting again. If my operations are limited to a point where I cannot blog the way I want to, I am powering down everything and leaving. If it sounds harsh, good. It's time people stop pussyfooting around and express how they feel.

I really hope my words resonate with the community, and if they don't, flag me. That's what it's for, but I'm frustrated guys, I love the Steem blockchain, and I want a better experience for us all.

That's pretty much all I have to say. I know this was off the cusp, and rantish but I needed to get it off my chest.


Much love Steemian's

@futuremind



Please considering voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png



image.png


Sort:  

Hey, remember when we had bandwidth? Yeah, I don't really expect this to be an issue once it all blows over, and as you mention it, the likeliest outcome is that people will forget that it happened. People won't need to know much about economics, that will be for sure.

I wouldn't buy more just for the sake of posting. That doesn't make sense. This whole situation does suck though, I won't deny that.

likeliest outcome is that people will forget that it happened. @eonwarped

My thoughts exactly.

generally, people seem to forget previous issues once things are back to normal. @futuremind

I'm not planning to buy anymore, just waiting this shit storm out. This was mostly me venting. I doubt I will actually end up leaving, but I think I bring up some valid arguments anyways.

Thanks for stopping by bro, it's much appreciated.

now lets see if I can post this

I have purchased enough, and worked hard enough to have my place here. So this is how things will work for me, I'll post this, and wait for everything to charge before transacting again. If my operations are limited to a point where I cannot blog the way I want to, I am powering down everything and leaving. If it sounds harsh, good. It's time people stop pussyfooting around and express how they feel.

Hear, hear. It seems I had enough RC for an upvote, a resteem, and a comment. So I still have hope, but you are right on.

Hey there, I was charging for the past few days, so I had to wait to answer you!

It appears as though things are in somewhat working order again.

🎭 minus my sanity 🐟

Yeah I agree, though I am still a bit shook up it seems that things are back to normal again.

They still feel different huh?

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imaginary-friend! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97