Steemit Tips #6 - Steemit Voting Power - Like Video Game Mana from Heaven...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit voting power is one of those things a new user may hear about without realizing its importance. I used to play an online game called City of Heroes. My character was a healer named Blammo! (I know, kinda strange name for a "healer") He was not built for combat, so I usually kept him in the rear and had the rest of our team come to me when they needed healing or regeneration. I had to always be careful to avoid having to give the dreaded "OOM" or Out of Mana message. The tanks and ranged characters protected me and I kept them patched up and in the fight. If anything happened to the healer the group was screwed.

High Voting Power is a very good thing

Voting power (or VP) is kind of like mana, in that you want to keep it as high as possible. At 100% each time you vote it will cost 2%. Vote 10 times and you're down to 80% VP. At that rate, it will take 24 hours to regenerate fully. So a good rule of thumb is to try to keep your voting power at 80% or higher. A good site to track your stats is steemd.com/@username (insert your @name) so ned would be: steemd.com/@ned ok?

I usually like to vote on thoughtful comments left at my posts. If you've ever left one and I didn't do so it's probably because I'm watching my Voting Power and don't want it to get so low that it'll take days to regenerate. I've seen brand-new Steemians voting over and over until their power was down to 6%, don't do that.

When your Steem Power value reaches 500, you gain access to the slider letting you choose what percentage to vote at, or you can use busy.org instead.

Now, of course, I always appreciate your support for the @evernoticethat blog. Anything we can do to help each other grow is good for us and good for Steemit. What is YOUR Voting Power? What strategy are you using to manage it effectively?

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Join Steemfollower now, to Get More Upvotes & Followers!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Steemit Tips #5 - How Often Should you Upload a Blog Post without OVERPOSTING?

The Wisdom of the Ages

A Thank-You Message to my 500 Amazing Followers!

Steemit Tips # 4 - How to Promote your Blog Posts the RIGHT Way!

Steemit Tips # 3 - What is The Best Time for YOU to Publish Your Blog Posts?

Steemit Tips # 2 - Blog Post Ideas For Busy Bloggers

Steemit Tips #1 - How To Cruise Like a Whale in a School Full of Minnows


Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Nice post on voting power @evernoticethat. Good to know to keep it around 80%. So many new users will need to learn this.

Thanks. Anything I can do to give back to the community that helped make blogging fun for me again!

You are very welcome! On another note, once you reach 500 voting power and can lower the vote bar, do your votes use less of your voting power saving more for later? Have a follow and hope your day is going well :)

The same to you Brother. Here is the definitive answer.

Great analogy! That really is how it works, except as you cast spells (votes), the spell becomes less powerful. Even a 98% vote isn't as strong as a 100%. It's the same idea though.

I'm currently in recharge mode. I got enough SP that my vote value didn't decrease, so I just kept going until I was below 50%. That's just not helpful. Now I have to wait a few days, but I'll be back to full health soon.

I came up with the idea of the following. What do you think, helpful?
Recharge.PNG

I LOVE that! I almost wish there was a way those of us with excess voting power could "loan" it to someone doing awesome work on Steemit. @humanearl upvotes new users like me but is always running out of "Mana" when upvoting thoughtful comments. I'd like to see them add something like that in the future.


source

Thanks, and yes, I agree. It would be cool. It would probably have to be a system where the "price" is different based on how much SP you have.

I thought I read that you used to be able to upvote 40 times in a day and it would recharge every day. That sounds so good. I would be able to pass a little more love around. I hate not being able to leave upvotes for people when they work hard to produce good content. I feel awkward telling them that I'm poor right now, but I still want to engage in the conversation. It's a challenge, but a good one to have. Nice that there's so much good content being created.

I believe that 40 number was before the last hardfork 19. If so, that was right around the time I started, so all I was trying to do was survive as a newbie lol! When I can't vote, I try to leave a nice comment to show my appreciation.

I think that's a fab idea! Please do it.

That´s very interesting comparison that you made with the game, I think that everybody that have ever played a game like this one understands the feeling of being out of mana!
Even knowing steemit is not a videogame you should always keep you VP high so you can have some influence in the community!

You are absolutely right! When I first thought of the post I was looking for an angle to make it memorable to more people. So far I've been very happy with the response. :)

It's really such a precious resource! And the more you get involved, the more you use it up. Member of a curation guild? Need to upvote their posts to maintain membership. Building up points on steemfollower.com? That's several votes you can't spend on your feed. It's a whole resource management minigame...

I was hoping that tying it into the gaming aspect would cause it to resonate with more people. I'm so glad it has.

Interesting comparison! You could say that Steemit is like a big video game that rewards the "players" for making good content. Thanks for making that point, now I notice that ;).

Lol! excellent observation. I'll spread a little upvote love for that comment. Take care! :)

I made this mistake. Now I'm at 90%. Actually, I will be at 80% until end of the day :) and now I constantly watch my VP.

Good keeping an eye out. There are times when I have to vote alot, but once I'm done I let it "sleep" until it regenerates. I love supporting awesome content like your helpful writeup of the Steemit World Map

:) and forgot to mention I'm using SteemWorld. It is still in beta but it is quicker than steemd.com. The process is the same https://steemworld.org/@yourusername

Thank you for this great reminder :)

Thank you evernoticethat for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.17% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Good luck on getting that slider!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84