The Wisdom of the Ages

in #life6 years ago

Roots author Alex Haley once said "When an old person dies, it's like a library burning" a lifetime of accumulated knowledge can be lost forever if not passed down. That's why every precious moment we spend with our seniors, is so valuable.

As a child, I used to love going over to Grandma's house. She would bake dozens of tasty pies every year around the holidays and we loved to help her out. As I got older, I began to notice that my Aunts and Uncles would only come around just for their pie pickup, leaving her alone the rest of the year. You could always tell when they needed money because that was the only *other* time they'd ever bother to visit at all...

At some point, I began to sense her loneliness, so I began stopping by to visit on my own, without any reason at all. My Grandmother loved to tell me stories about how she got through hard times. She built the prepper in me by sharing accounts of industriousness during times of distress. Those events had a profound effect on me while highlighting the importance of being self-sufficient. Canning goods, storing water, we even had a pot-bellied stove which kept us warm when the power went out. These lessons helped me mature at an early age so that now I feel the wisdom of my ancestors coming down to me through the ages.

So I encourage you to make some time to visit with an older loved one. Do you have a senior in your life who shared golden nuggets of advice with you, which helped your growth as a person? Please share.

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Join Steemfollower now, to Get More Upvotes & Followers!

Image credit: 1, 2

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

A Thank-You Message to my 500 Amazing Followers!

Steemit Tips # 4 - How to Promote your Blog Posts the RIGHT Way!

Steemit Tips # 3 - What is The Best Time for YOU to Publish Your Blog Posts?

Life on Steemit - 150 Days on the Blockchain!


Sort:  

Long time no post. I was kinda worried. I would love to hear your grama stories. I wasn't old enough to remember my grandparents (except my grandma from mother side)

Thanks. I was in the middle of packing and moving back to the States. I got back just in time to register for classes, so I wanted to quickly write something! :)

Ahw, you're a nice grandchild to her! I live in the Netherlands and I only have one grandparent left but he lives in Cambodia. Even though I haven't spent a lot of time with him (only when I travel to Cambodia), I feel a great connection with my grandfather. I wish I could easily visit my grandparents and take care of them.

Everybody is busy making life but sometimes we do forget the ones who gave us many advices (grandparents and parents). Sometimes I'm too busy that I forget to spend real quality time with my parents, but luckily I'm conscious about it and now I'm trying to spend more time with them and the same way around.

Great post! Upvoted + added you.

That's so nice! Yeah, it's just a gentle reminder for those of us with busy lives to ponder.

I visit my great aunt for this very reason. Great post. Thank you for sharing and reminding people to spend time with their elders. Joy

We learn so much from them and it's good to give back. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Unfortunately, I live far away from my grandparents to be able to do such. Although I can probably hear some tales from the older ones at work.

Anyway, you're a sweet person thinking about how your grandma might have felt. You must've really learned a lot :)

Thank you for that kind comment. I also feel your loved ones know how you feel no matter what the distance. Many blessings to you and your family! :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you @evernoticethat for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.09% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54