Steemit Tips # 4 - How to Promote your Blog Posts the RIGHT Way!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How many of you have had a baby out there? Raise your hands! Did you swaddle her up in blankets and sneak out of the hospital in the middle of the night? Of course not! When your adorable little girl was born you invited all of your friends and family over to see the newborn, didn't you? Your post is your baby on Steemit. At current count, we have over half a million souls in our big, beautiful family available to see the newest member of your tribe.

Do the same for your posts.

We see them all the time in Steemit Chat. Hard-working authors are bitterly complaining that no one is visiting their lonely post. These literary purists would never taint their masterpiece by letting people know it's there. To them, giving the creation a boost in exposure is tantamount to treason. And so they sit, week after week writing hand-wringing blurbs about their unseen article.

New users may think the mere act of publishing a post is enough without a base of support. That's like writing a book and leaving a copy in the woods hoping someone will one day stumble across it. Unless you have a network beforehand or get really lucky, it's unlikely to happen.

Do you listen to music? What's your favorite band? Chances are when they completed their CD they went out and promoted it to jumpstart sales. Rounds of radio station interviews meet and greet, TV appearances, all combine to create a Tsunami of awareness for their work.

Do the same for your blog.

Put yourself out there

Begin as I do by building real relationships with people in the comment section instead of just begging for upvotes. Read the entire article, then leave a meaningful response. Believe me; I check my stats daily. It's noticeable when I see the same people repeatedly upvoting, commenting and resteeming my posts. Their support makes me want to check them out and if I like what I see, I'll give an upvote.

The very act of leaving a real comment will cause readers to check out your blog. Do it.

Use your head when "promoting" your blog

On Twitter, years ago - someone started something called #TeamFollowback. This was a follow-for-follow group. A way to get alot of followers quickly. The problem was, that's all they did - follow you, then they forgot about you, there was no real engagement at all. Don't be that guy.

A great place to start getting to know some awesome people is the PAL (Peace, Abundance, Liberty) server on Discord. Here's an invite from me. Chat with some of the friendly folks there and let them get to know you. DO NOT promote your blog to them. There are special areas for that; you want to make a real connection. Show them you're an actual human being, and they may just decide to check out your blog.

See what I mean? You're increasing exposure to your blog just by being friendly and helpful.

Let’s all grow together the right way.

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Join Steemfollower now, to Get More Upvotes & Followers!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Steemit Tips # 3 - What is The Best Time for YOU to Publish Your Blog Posts?

Life on Steemit - 150 Days on the Blockchain!

Happy New Year 2018 Steemit! What's on your Calendar of Events - your wishes and Resolutions for a Healthy, Prosperous Future?

BITCOIN PRICE - The Case for Buying, Selling and Holding Cryptocurrency

Smile! - Everything Happens for a Reason

Life is Precious #4 - Intuition and the Wisdom of Listening to your Inner Guide


Sort:  

I agree with all your points.... I have been on steemit for over 4 months and what I've learned is that in order for a post to do well it needs massive promotion.

Comments are fastest ways to make quality connections on here.

I've tried out steemfollower before, nice concept but wasn't really effective for me.

I like to try out lots of different things. Varying post times, article length etc. then use and refine whatever works. I remember being criticized for using the post promotion channel to promote my post. The writer refused to do anything but complain about the lack of visibility for her posts. She was taking herself way too seriously and just assumed readers would find her work because it was there...

Even little things like choosing a thumbnail image that pops can really make your post stand out. If you take a look at my last 10 thumbnails, you'll find they were chosen for a reason. I will sometimes spend an hour searching for an arresting image. Just imagine someone scrolling the "new" section. What do they see?

The pic - The headline - The first line of the post

I try to optimize all three.

These and other tips, can really help our blogging efforts. Much success to you! :)

I just write and I don't care who or if anyone sees it. I just write cause I want to voice my opinion. I think too many people still get caught up in the popularity contest.

Only been here for about 6 weeks but already hooked on Steemit and all the wonderful people I have virtually met.

Your post reiterates nicely the tactic that I was quick to adopt.

Posting regularly but commenting like a demon upvoting/following and then inviting comment on a recent post - this seems to be pretty effective and my account is quietly growing organically.

I am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say.

That said I am not sure that my work will be of interest to you but I still invite you to pop by for a gander if you have a spare moment.

:)

I would welcome your thoughts on a recent short #freewrite piece I did on the theme of 'Toothache': https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ldacey-laforge/linda-dacey-laforge-freewrite-toothache

I wish you well.

xox

Thanks for stopping by Linda! The UK is likely my favorite country! Yes, this is what began to turn things around for me. The one thing I never did was to link a post in a comment. This might turn off some Whales so it's something I wouldn't do. Have you looked into the chat I mentioned? It's a great way to meet new people! :)

You are the among the first one to welcome me here on steemit and thank you for that. Basically, if you want good response and good followers do things like on facebook. Try to invite family and friends then connect with people you share interests with. AND READ POSTS (sorry) don't joust spam. Thank you for this post I like to read your stuff

You hit the nail on the head Mate! I'm glad you're finding my posts useful. There's more to come! :)

Looking forward for more :)

There are several users that I have built a relationship with on here. I comment on their posts and talk to them, they comment on my posts and talk to me. I'm more interested in having those types of relationships than the random whale that comes along and gives me $100 or $50. I'm trying to be the sort of person that I would like to engage with. Steemit doesn't revolve around me and the community owes me nothing, so I have to put in the effort of forming connections.

Like you just did here. Whenever someone new leaves a relevant comment on my blog, I take a look at theirs. I see the same people in chat who just upload a post and then, do nothing. No interaction at all or an attempt to make a human connection except to complain. It's refreshing to read a comment by someone that actually read the article. :)

One feature of the site that I find underrated is resteeming. People aren't going to stick to one type of content and like to see some variety. Resteeming the posts that are high quality and that you think are interesting will allow your followers to see things they might otherwise have never have thought to look at. There's one guy called @kafkanarchy84 and I find his posts really interesting. He resteems a lot of good content which is beneficial for the community and for him.

I hear you. I don't do too much of that as the blogger you resteem today might be a totally different person tomorrow.

Example: I read this awesome motivational post and was just about to resteem it. I had to step out for a sec and when I returned he had a brand new post up of some of the nastiest, most hateful stuff. The "great motivator turned into "The great bigot" just like that. (snaps finger)

I was very happy not being linked to him or a part of the mess that followed.

I do agree it can be a powerful tool for a known, trusted and worthy content creator.

"Let's all grow together the right way". I'm a newbie to this community (started 4 days ago) and I'm having a hard time having my posts get noticed so here I am trying to learn from other people's posts. I totally agree with you that it's not just about upvoting and getting upvoted. Because you would forget others; their posts and even their names. ( I already did unfortunately). Thank you for this post and I will bear in mind AND PUT INTO PRACTICE what you said in here.

This is an absolutely AMAZING post! I enjoyed every part of it, and I want to attest that building reputation via leaving MEANINGFUL comments is perfectly true. This is my first week on here, and I've already learned that what matters is the creation of value-adding content, the content able to enrich and replenish the people's lives and satisfy their desire for learning.

I am using SteemFollower and a Facebook group to raise awareness about my blog. I also post comments on hot topics about which I possess certain knowledge and insight. Sometimes I make my own genuine posts targeting what people love to see on blogs.

I also joined that new Discord server you invited me to. Thanks a lot and keep up with quality blogging.

Excellent @miroslavm I'm happy that your reputation number is rising and you're finding value in my posts. You're learning quickly and I think you will do well on Steemit. I checked your blog out and just wanted to tip you that you can use 5 tags per post (if you can find relevant tags) to increase Its visibility. Your last post is doing well and I'm rooting for you! GO MIROSLAV! :)

Thank you again. There is still yet too much to learn. As for the tip you gave me - I do know that I can add up to 5 tags, but I did not do it as I felt it will make my posts a bit spammy. And after only 4 days I am fedup of those miscategorizing posts. I don't like to see Hollywood celeb gossip tagged under #politics. And in many cases they use wrong tags as primary ones. I hope these posts are penalized later. However, I will be using max tags carefully in the future, as you suggested.

That is very true and I thought that's what you were doing. It's better to use a few relevant tags than many wrong ones. Very wise of you. You will do fine here. :)

One more question. You have a CTA on the post footer. Are these CTA's effective on here?

No problem. For me, the answer is yes. I used to have a hobby tech blog before I came here where I could test things out quietly. As a blogger, you learn to try out many different things to see what works.

When I started out on Steemit, I did not use one, just to see what would happen. Then I noticed almost all of the successful writers used them at the end of their posts. Take a look at posts by @firepower for instance. He is one of the top bloggers on this platform, with over 15,000 followers. They work. :)

So I tested it and saw an immediate jump in my stats. I still test things like posting times, article length, thumbnails, etc. to try and get better everyday. But you should do what's comfortable for you. That's why I respond to comments when I can as we're all in this together.:)

I agree. A guild that you connect with helps. A community that you relate to helps. And above else, writing about what you care about. Sharing photos that are original. Lots of gifs out there. And if that works for you great. I am aware that my community, the ones I hope to attract to steemit, will bring a whole different twist on things. As I am sure anyone's community outside of steemit. So it is also a suggestion to bring friends to steemit, but stay in touch with them. Say it's you and the bowling league, well if you just post photos of the bowling night and shared stories of your lives together, you would have a built in community from which you all could branch out and meet new people. I do improv, so i'm reaching out to improvisers. I'm thankful for my friend, @improv. The sonofagun even took the name of the thing we all love. I'm happy to see him succeeding, but I hope to stay in better touch as we continue. Last but not least, You are doing this and I hope more people do it, take some time to say hello in comments. Appreciation appreciates. Just saying thank you can go a long way. Nice to stumble across your blog. Hope to stay in touch. Wishing you all the very best!

Nice to meet you @jacobts and you're right about inviting our disparate tribes to join Steemit Nation. I snuck a quick peek at your blog when no one was looking and LOVE your witty, conversational style. You must be the only person that could make an ordinarily dry analysis of Bitcoin's drunken price swings, interesting. It's also good to meet someone that put a little thought into his titles as well, nice job!

I was supposed to be continuing my binge-watching on Netflix of the series 3%, but started getting into some really meaty comments instead. I like what I saw on your blog and will follow you as soon as I'm done hammering this out. You seem like the type of person that wants to take a big ol' bite out of life. So I feel compelled to say: Don't just kiss that pig! Slip her some tongue! :) Cheers!

Thank you so much for those informations. I totally agree with you, that's why I tried to find my crew here to upvote their posts and get upvote from them too. I'm trying to find people who will get interested in with my contents. I suggest same too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35