Steemit Tips #1 - How To Cruise Like a Whale in a School Full of Minnows

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So, you've been on Steemit for a bit, and you’re wondering what you can do to gain more exposure, RIGHT? Well this fellow Minnow knows exactly what you're going through, so snuggle up and get comfy - I'll give it to you from the eyes of a person who sees a way forward.

"Houston, we have a problem"

I've been on Steemit for just a few months now, and started looking at ways to increase engagement. One of the things I began noticing was the momentum that was building in the comments section. I tend to be a little on the quiet side IRL, however: the internet, social media and blogging allow me to get "out there" much more.

I’m a student, who loves to read and write. There are so many great Authors on Steemit, that at times - I have to peel my protesting eyeballs off of the hot, steamy screen in order to go to bed. Alone. Again. (I knew you would laugh at that - heh, heh)

Give, and you shall receive

When I first started commenting, there wasn't much of a response. I felt as if I was shouting into one of those giant empty caves out west, and hearing my voice echo back: hello! - Helloo! - HELLOOO!!! Then that pretty little light bulb went on in my head and I began to add relevant pics to my comments, which caused an uptick in the "replies" section. So if you're new to Steemit, you can start by actually reading the posts, and leaving more than just "great writing dude!" as a response. That will really help.

To me, a writer is akin to a 13th century Blacksmith. Taking a lump of words, then pounding them out (on a keyboard) TAP-TAP-TAP and shaping them into something useful and beautiful.

Put that Cherry right on top, Mister!

Show that talented writer that you appreciate their work, by reading it, and then: try to add something to the conversation. Maybe a link with further information, a funny graphic, or even looking at the issue from a fresh perspective - can stimulate more discussion. If we can provide "more than just an upvote" our contributions will lead to a richer Steemit community, and more eyeballs on your own posts.

You never know when some kind words of encouragement may be just what someone else needs. It feels great to make a real human connection with a person who may be on the other side of the world. If you ACT on these tips, over time, you will grow on the platform, and - soon enough - you'll be swimming with the big fish!

Follow @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

image credit: 1,2,3,4

divider-1024.png

If you liked this post, would you please upvote it, resteem it to your friends and follow me for more. You can also read my most recent articles:

BITCOIN - OVER $5000 USD AND HOLDING - IS STEEM NEXT?

Life Is Precious # 2 - Josephine Baker's Last Dance


Sort:  

I am new on steemit and I find your advice interesting. I'll try to follow them ... as much as I can. Have you been able to evaluate your growth? Please let me know.

Yes I have. I watch my followers, comments, SP and bandwidth. steem tools is a site containing many apps you can use to improve your Steemit knowledge. One thing I learned was to never do "follow for follow" (it turns people off) steemit.chat is a great place to meet new people who may follow you after they get to know you.

comprende steem is a French website about Steem resources. While I'm not an expert (Im learning just like you are) I wanted to write something from a new users point of view. Tutorials by @jerrybanfield really helped me out when I first started. Best wishes! :)

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I love the minnowpond! Keep them coming!

Congratulations @evernoticethat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, I didn't even have a speech prepared! I'd like to thank The Academy... and Superagent @OriginalWorks Let's do lunch.

I read one of your recent posts that was promoted in a Steemit chat. That was really good and so is this. This information is really useful to a newbie like me. Thanks for your work. I'm now following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35