Steemit is Like Marriage, and Most Marriages Fail. Do This to Keep Your Blog (and Marriage) Alive!

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemit is like a marriage.

marriage steemit.png

Marriage takes time, effort and patience. You don't put a ring on it and not expect to lose half your earnings in front a judge within a year.

Steemit takes the same techniques used to keep a relationship together.

Commitment

You have to be committed to Steemit. If you only post here and there, you can't expect to gain followers.

Consistency

If you act like a gentleman one day and a bipolar maniac the next, it won't be long before she leaves you for a more stable fella. Same with your Steemit followers. They want a blog they can count on to provide quality content that also entertains.

Communication

Communication is key to any interpersonal relationship. Respond to those who comment on your posts. Comment on other's articles with thought provoking commentary related to the subject matter. Start a conversation! Ask questions to clarify a point. Share your knowledge. Communicate!

Patience

When things stagnate, you don't just pack your bags and head for a hotel. You spice things up! It took patience to woo her into a relationship- it takes time and patience to build your Steemit blog.

Nothing good happens overnight.

Quality

Put your best face forward. Every day. Pick up your socks! In other words don't be sloppy. Publish quality, original content. Be your best every day.

Help and Support Each Other

Build your Steemit community up and they will build you up.

You Can't Change Them

You have things you may not like in your spouse. But you cannot change them. The only person on Earth you can change is yourself.

If something is not working for you at Steemit, well, you can't change that either. But you can change yourself and adapt and overcome.

What are more tips to help you Steemit success? Share yours in the comments!

Images via Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-cat-image-0182

animated-arrow-image-0314 I'm Creating a Game App, Help!
~
Reactions and Impressions of the Written Exchange
~
How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion
~
Finding Your Steemit Niche
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
Mondays Blood Moon
~
Tuesdays Orangey Pink Sun
~
Miss Calculate
~
Harbor Days Festival
~
The Day Kitten Went on Strike
~
Steemit whalemobile

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

committed and working on it..LOL

When I see Steemians like @robertsekhose getting more $$$ for his PUNY comments than I do for well-researched posts it pushes me further towards the boundary of "digital domestic violence"... Hey Rob, didn't YO' MAMA ever teach you the "art of subtly"??? Or is that one of the things you're working on???... And NO, I don't want your DAMN upvote....

"Don't be a gentleman one day and biopolar maniac the next" hilarious 😂. However yes I do agree I haven't been the consistent of all people, which why from today I will.
A quick question, how many posts must you post per day?

It's not a must per day, but personally I would recommend one a day...

You got me all excited with this posting @arbitrarykitten. I feel Really good about STEEMIT. I even Powered UP more STEEM Today. Thank You for always being Kind to me and responding to people who leave you thought provoking Comments........................

I'm so happy to hear that!

Oh, it's most definitely my pleasure :)

Why do you think that most marriages fail?

Communication. Bad, lack, mis or dis.

Oh, I didn't mean the reason for failing. But rather why do you think that most marriages fail and not most marriages make it through.

Partly do to society, in my honest opinion.

In "the olden days" people fixed things when they were broken. Now, we generally toss them and get new ones.

Also, more people are choosing not to get married and live together without the contract of marriage. But I digress...

There is not just one reason why marriages (and relationships) break up. It's never that black and white.

The reason why I asked was that in my country (Slovakia), 2016 has been the year with the most marriages and least divorces in the past 10 years. So maybe things are finally getting better. Especially because people live together longer before they get married.

That is very encouraging news! I hope its a lasting trend

Good post, but I think you just made a lot of single guys nervous!

Ok, you must elaborate on that one!

I agree with your opinion that the relationship in marriage must be strengthened by good communication. Sometimes marriage can be destroyed because the communication in it does not take place in harmony.

Communication, or lack thereof, is the number one relationship killer. Miscommunication, discommunication...

I only just now realized how many negative communication words there are... thats scary!

I totally agree that communication is paramount to a successful relationship. I always tell my wife what bar I'm going to and what time I'll be home, and I'm always truthful about it. Getting home late is what gets me in trouble!

Lol! Yup, that'll do it every time!

You are a good husband. Kudos to you for communicating :)

kids these day...so immature.
In my day divorce was very rare
...almost unheard of as a matter of fact
...and there was as definite stigma attached.
...most children were born IN wedlock
...and were raised by TWO parents.

I know many would argue with me, but in all honesty I believe the problems in society today are mainly due to the fact that 1. first- villages became non existent- "It takes a village to raise a child"- AND accountability and belonging. 2. more and more children are being raised in single parent houses.

well no...it does NOT take a village to raise a child...it takes a family. Mom and Dad are bare minimium...they can just BARELY get the job done. It's lots and lots easier if they have an extended family. Mom and dad, gramps and grannies...unks and aunts...and cozins..

that's worked out pretty well every time it's been tried...
.....for...oh...about two or three HUNDRED thousand years..

That is what I was referring to, the ancient and not so ancient but long since past "villages" were an extended family.

I grew up with half of each year in Italy and half in California. I remember one day I was on my Great Grandmas third floor terrace in Italy. It overlooked the Piazza of our small neighborhood. I was five- I remember because in the fall I was to begin American Kindergarten.

It was after lunch and in Italy most everyone would nap. Businesses would close, employees go home and rest.

There was very little movement on this hot day. I seemed to be the only one awake. As I stood there, a boy came into view. He put his face against a window with his hands cupped to block the sunlight and peered in. He went to the next house, and the next, peering into the windows.

Suddenly a little old lady erupted from a house across the way. She began beating the boy with her purse while screaming Italian obscenities. After she determined he'd had enough she grabbed his ear and drug him down the cobblestone path, disappearing around a corner and out of sight to deliver him to his parents I presume.

Even at my young age, I thought to myself this would never happen in America. I realized no one even knew their neighbors in the US, and more than likely someone would call the police as first line of defense.

perhaps the America you were exposed to...you did say california?
I was raised in the REAL america, FlyOver Country..the bible belt...that scene would not have been unusual..

Yup! Cali- Don't judge, I was a minor and not in control of my living arrangements ;)

I've been to cali eleventy seventeen times...been there got the scars..both emotional and financial...I have EVERY reason to judge.

I hope you escaped

...perhaps therapy would be useful?

We moved away right before high school. For this I am thankful ;)

That's actually a GREAT analogy! More people should read this, so re-steeming.

Why, thank you Denmark :)

I love your analysis. I never thought of it like this. But hey ! you are correct. It is like a marriage. Incomprehensible ... Your post is a damn good guide to a good "marriage" - in life and in steemit. ;)

Thank you so much :)

If something is not working for you at Steemit, well, you can't change that either. But you can change yourself and adapt and overcome.

Change is a constant thing, we can do that by making our choices flexible and easy always. This is an inspiring post.

Thank you! That means a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59