Have you been using tags wrong this whole time?

in #steem6 years ago

Hey guys,

I'm in no way a steemit guru so please take this post as a suggestion on how you can think about and use tags in the future.

Steemit is the future of social media and blogging, at least in my eyes. And we have only gotten started which gives us an amazing opportunity to be among the first steempreneurs (my own made-up word, feel free to use it 😉).

30656172_10156352118351672_2699691948343558144_n.png
Hellooo are you paying attention? This is important

Are you using the right tags for your audience?

I guess we all are familiar with the 5 tag rule by this time and now we need to know how to use them as wise as we can.


We can move forward with two different strategies. The quantity or the quality.

The quantity strategy are based on using tags that have a big following and a big payout.

The pros of using this tag is that a lot of people are using it and probably also looking at the trending/new/hot page.
The short time your post is there it will probably be shown to a large number of people and hopefully, some will read it.

The cons is that due to the high amount of posts that keep on coming it will soon be pushed down by the new ones. If you have many friends who have you on their voting bot you can probably be lucky and make it to the trending page.
The risk of getting lost in the heavy flow is big and your post might not get the attention it deserves.

The quality strategy is based on using tags that have a smaller following, maybe a smaller payout but more loyal readers.

The pros using a tag that has a smaller following is that it has less chance to get lost in the huge flow of posts.
People who read it will most likely upvote, follow or resteem (if your post is good) since they are really into the subject
People are more likely to see you more times and get curious about who you are.

The cons Not as big payout as the larger tags and not as big audience.


So how do you choose your tags?

I have made a guide for you here.

If you click on trending, new or hot you will come to the post page.

Skärmklipp.PNG

Scroll down and click on all tags

view all tags.PNG

When you have done that you should get a list of all the most popular tags on steemit.
There you can choose for yourself which ones you would like to tag your post with.
However these are not all tags there is.
You can always make one of your own.
Or use tags that are not on the list, it's all up to you.

Tags are a great way to reach out and get new followers.
But it's really a game of trial and error to see which one works best for you.

It's always a good idea to use different tags depending on the subject, make sure that they are relevant to what you write about.
for example, if you write a travel post about beaches it might not be so relevant to use a food tag just because a lot of people follow that tag.
If you however write about food while traveling you can very well use the travel tag.

By trying new tags you will reach out to people who are not following you and hopefully get new fans.

Switch it up sometimes and try something new to spice things up.

Do you have any other tips on how to use tags?

I would love to see it in the comments 😊


Do not forget to enter my --> #veganbakingcompetition there is honor, glory, and SBD to be rewarded for the winners =) Last day to enter is on Thursday

If you liked this post and want to read more then feel free to visit some of my other posts :)

1, Fruits and veggies Monday - veggie enchilada
2, Minimalise your life, getting ready for the yard sale
3, Veganwednesday, discover the new product Swedish vegans are going crazy about
4, Three little bliss balls
5, Layered breakfast smoothies
6, Swedens first all vegan ice cream bar is open
7, 5 reasons why you should travel alone
8, Vegan travel guide - Koh Phangan - Eat co
9, In times of need take your time, change and grow stronger
10, Pretty peachy pink psmoothie

Thank you for taking your time and read my post. It means a lot to me
If you liked it, please upvote, comment and resteem if you feel like it

Lots of love to you all / Nicole <3

30713274_10156349643441672_4343071479471013888_n.png

Sort:  

Good post. I didn't think before of the advantages of the less used tags. I can say it is true. People of Czech Republic and Slovakia usually use tag #cesky and it has very dedicated readers. Some are only focused on posts there.

Thank you :) I'm happy you like it. Yeah it all depends on what you are interested in and what kind of audience you want to appeal to.

Congratulations @nicoleslife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @nicoleslife, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Hi @shadowspub,
Wow thank you so much. That makes me so happy 😊.
I'll be sure to join =) Thank you for the invitation.

Great that you inform peopleabout how to use tags correctly. I most of the time use the same, but sometimes I change one or 2 to see if I can reach new people.;)

Do you think it works to switch them up sometime?
It's really all about trial an error to find what works for you :) I'm happy you liked my post darling :)

I dont know actually, just trying out what works!! It is so different from IG, and here you find new people more through comments right, so I am using it more to show people to which groups my posts belongs.

Totally agree. Comments is a way more effective way to connect with other people :)

Yes it is, I just wish I had more hours a day for it;)

Loved your information. I'd never really thought about the tags like that. Thanks!

I'm happy you liked it :)

Hey Nicole, you've brought up an interesting topic. Seems like you are putting up a great thought on how to get more audience for your posts. Thanks for sharing your wisdom with all!

I'd like to add my experiences & some tricks with it. First of all, we have some idea about how our post will perform broadly. E.g. we know how much are we going to promote it, how many bot votes we're gonna buy etc. stuff. And if we are not going to buy some very heavy votes, it's almost impossible to get to the trending page in popular tags these days. So I'd have avoided the use of popular tag "steem" as my first tag for this post. You've also used popular tags like blog & writing. It's good to use all popular tags (except the first one) and wait for some time to see the result. But as you said after a few minutes, our post gets lost under the heavy influx of posts. So I'd change the popular tags after some minutes or an hour (when it's no more in top 100) and replace popular tags with smaller ones. I'd have preferred more relevant and less popular tags like guide, steemit-education, tutorial-trail, steem-help, tutorial, help etc. for this post.

In fact, I generally check the amount of dollar votes top 20 posts have fetched (and the time passed) on any tag I put, to gauge the chances for my post there. Also, if you keep changing your tags, you can probably expose your post to wider audience.

And a shorter route to reach to https://steemit.com/tags would be to pull the drop down menu by clicking the 3 horizontal lines at the top right corner and then click "Explore". 😊

Keep tagging 😊

Hey :),

Thank you so much for this amazing comment. I haven't thought about changing the taggs. I guess I thought it worked similar to instagram where it doesn't matter if you change your taggs you will still end up further down.
I will save your tips and make sure they come to use :).
Thank you for educating me 😊

Thank you for this post - discovered through curation from @shawdowspub Some useful info for us newbies! Following you from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand. :) And resteeming. For later ref and for others to learn. :)

Thank you so much =) I'm so happy you liked it.
I hope you have a good time in Chiang Mai, would love to go there some day :)

I LIVE here in Chiang Mai, 16 years already. And yes, I always have a good time wherever I choose to live & love. :)

Oh wow, you must really love it there :) How come you ended up there?

haha.... Loooong story, best told over wine. I was on the way to India and diverted unexpectedly to Koh Samui in Thailand. First man I met was an awesome American healer. I fell hard. He pursued me around the world. I finally relented. WE had 3 beautiful months togther and then he killed himself without warning, note or reason. In a state of shock some months later I seem to have married a Thai guy knowing that I didn't love him and found myself unexpectedly pregnant at the age of 40. And here I am. Thai husband left as quickly as he came.... I'm still here. It is an awesome place to live!! Swing by for coffee sometime... haha. :)

Omg that is quite a story.
I'm sorry you had to go through that but it did give you a beautiful child.
Oh i'll keep that invitation in mind. Me and hubby are planning on a 2 month trip to asia in december/january :)

Thanks for this. I've been thinking on tags just recently and why my posts hardly receive any views even when they are really great posts with amazing content and have come to the conclusion that it must be the tags for one, but also that maybe I'm just a newbie and have only been here for a couple months now and not many know what I write about...hmmm

I'm happy you liked it.
It is hard to reach your audience. The best part is to engage with others and spend a lot of time comenting on posts. Also joining a discord group helps a lot :)
There is plenty out there and invitation to different groups are usually at the end of peoples posts.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49