Whisky Review Season is Back! Tonight: The Macallan 12 Year, Triple Cask Matured Scotch Whisky Review.

in #review7 years ago (edited)

Just the other day, as I left the dining room, the empty, dusty green Ardbeg bottle on my bookshelf arrested me for a second. What?? What's going on here...? I'm....I'm...craving Scotch again, in a serious way. This means summertime is over.


Join me tonight as I ease into "Scotch season" by heading to the highlands, and sampling the delightful Macallan 12 year, matured in three different types of oak casks, seasoned with both sherry and bourbon, resulting in an interesting and oak-spice-heavy flavor palette, which offsets and complements the heavy sweetness and honey/vanilla/stewed fruit notes of the whisky.


LET'S GO!

(NOTE: I've changed my rating system from a 1 - 5 stars template to a 1 - 10 star system because I need more room to rate nuance!)


Nose:

Solvent, honey, cinnamon, vanilla, stewed apricots and spices invade the nostrils. Undertones of moldy book, and slight intimations of brown leather.


Body:

Solvent punch. Stewed fruits. Cinnamon. Vanilla and honey mixed with a slight oily feel and offset by powerful oak spices.


Finish:

Pure spice. Lingering cinnamons and vanillas. The oak oils and spices hang on 'til the very end of the ride.


FINAL RATING: 7 out of 10 Stars.


A nice, easy Scotch for fall. Nothing too challenging, but satisfying and warm all the same. Perfect for an easy September or October night on the porch with friends.

~*~

PREVIOUS REVIEWS:



~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Oh man I love Macallan. It's not the easiest scotch to find where I live but it's the first word out of my mouth at a bar if I see it on the shelf.

Macallan 35 is my absolute favorite scotch of all time. If it wouldn't break the bank, I'd have a glass or 5 every day.

If it wouldn't break the bank, I'd have a glass or 5 every day.

Haha. I hear ya, loud and clear.

Sounds nice and any season is scotch on the rocks season! Chivas has nothing beating it for me, always my favourite even over single malts like Glenfiddich.
Do you have any older bottles? I have had the 25 yr old Chivas and oh the taste of the age is so good!

I don't have any older bottles at home right now. I hear you though, the taste of age is unmatchable. My all-time favorite at this point would have to be the Lagavulin 16 year. Beautiful stuff. I'll have to try the 25 year old Chivas! Thanks for the comment!

Yeah and unfortunately they are costly! I will have to look into trying some others at some point.

You're welcome mate, good seeing another with good taste haha.

EXCELLENT POST FRIEND. i LIKE THAT Whisky. In venezuela the people drink whisky too much witth ice. the popular are black label 12 old parr 12 and buchanans 12.

That's interesting. Have never tried Old Parr but thought about buying a bottle tonight. Blended whiskies seem to be popular there, hey?

If I can ask, what has been the impact of the current economic and political situation in Venezuela on your community? I am always interested to hear what is going on from individuals who actually know, and not just the media.

Terrible situation i am enginner and 12 years ago my salary was 2000 us dollar per month. When Chavez died my salary was 400 Dollar per month and actually 50 dollar per month. The minimun salary now is about 10 dollar per month and one chicken the cost is 3 dollars. There is no principal medicines the young people is leaving Venezuela. The majority of the people wants a change of government but Maduro has the militarys and security forces that stop that. Its very difficult situation and learn all of us that there is no believe in populist. Plus the insecurity is fatal.

Man. I am really sorry to hear that. What a horrible situation.

One of my best buddies got me this for my 30th birthday this past February. Have you heard of it or tried it? I would say it's only about 25% gone, as it is much too harsh for me to drink compared to what I'm used to, like bourbon. Any tips on how to make this palatable to me? Or am I just not there yet? haha
IMG_9458.JPG

Ah! I've seen this one before, but never tried it. You might try cutting it with some water. Just a couple drops will probably open up the flavor and take away some of the burn. You could cut it even more than that, too, to suit your taste. Even the "pro" reviewers I am aware of sometimes do this to get a better grasp on the finer points of the flavor palette. A good whisky bar will always give you a nice glass of cold spring water with your dram. You could sip the whisky in small tastes and chase it this way, too. Interesting bottle!

Thanks for the tips! I'll start trying some 'sippers' at night with a dash of h2o. I feel kind of bad, I saw this bottle at my local liquor store for around 70 bucks. I would never in my life spend that on any beverage and it is so difficult for me to put down. I am obviously no scotch expert, but if you like your scotch to make you feel like a dragon during and afterwards, this one is right up your alley. Even my old man who is 74 and drinks windsor daily started tearing up. I would love to see what you thought of it, let me know if you ever do :)

if you like your scotch to make you feel like a dragon during and afterwards, this one is right up your alley. Even my old man who is 74 and drinks windsor daily started tearing up.

Yeah, now you have definitely peaked my interest ;)
I wonder if it is cask strength? I am gonna try to sample a dram if I can sniff one out in town here. If I do, I will definitely post a review!

I'm not sure if it is cask strength or not. Hope you can find it somewhere so I can hear what you think!

well now its time to enjoy relax you have done a great work great speeches take some great rest and come back again with full stamina 🤗

Thanks my friend. Much appreciated.

It's by buddy when i am alone.... :D Cheers !!!

Wow great, you are an wonderful friend, But I don't know the test of it, you have given a very beautiful explanation about the importance as well as ingredients of it. Thanks ,but in my Area after drinking people behave surprisely.Thanks for sharing, but please keep in mind one thing too much of everything is very bad, by the way you forget me, you didn't come to my blog and don't hear from you long. Please make a visit friend,good luck with the drink.

"Stewed fruits. Cinnamon. Vanilla and honey..." Damnn, that sounds so delicious! I am a cheapskate when it comes to whiskey (like Jameson), but heck, once I become a millionaire due to crypto's i'll be getting me hell loads of the good stuff xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87