Ardbeg 10 Year Scotch Whisky Review

in #scotch8 years ago (edited)

Ardbeg is something else. While other single malts make me think of books, relaxation and leather, Ardbeg is all of this plus plotting a masonic takeover of the world from the cloisters of an ancient Scottish castle.

I recently purchased my first bottle of Ardbeg, though I have tried a couple different expressions at a malts bar before. I was not disappointed. I am still trying to find my own unique review style, but I think I am just going to shoot from the hip like I always do, while backing some of these hip shots up with pertinent information.

Anywho, here is my review of this fantastic beast of a whisky. For more tasting notes and the details of how I came to buy this bottle, please check out the tasting video above!

But first, some photos!


Limited Japan-only packaging. The Japanese reads 「世界が熱望する究極のアイラモルト」"Sekai ga netsubou suru kyuukyoku aira moruto"
"The ultimate malt the world has been burning in longing for."


Yes. Somewhat not "run of the mill."


This Japanese box shows a dude ripping whisky bottles out of the ground with a rope. Just another day bitches. Hahaha. Any other countries have the same box? Fuckin' A!


My precious.

Nose.

Creamy caramel honey, extremely heavy peat smoke, ash and wood. Menthol, sea spray and fish.

Mouth.

Vanilla sweetness, licorice and toffee followed by an explosive peat smoke with sea salt, pepper and tobacco. This intensity mingles with vanilla expressions set off by macadamia nuts in a sea brine and tarry smoke expression.

Finish.

A very long finish. Smoky. Spicy. Lingering ashes.

My initial Facebook review may have been the most honest, and may be more of the type of approach to whisky reviews I will take from here on out:

Ardbeg 10! Islay! Smoky sea salt licorice-y black pepper menthol mother fuckin' peat fest with hints of fish and ash in an old vanilla-ish pine forest by the spices of the great sturdy and bookish tobacco sea!

I think that about says it all.

Thanks for stopping by!

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person.)

Sort:  

I enjoyed your vid and writing! (This is my very first post/reply on Steemit too!) I'm also just venturing forth into the world of whiskey, with absolutely NO knowledge, and so am looking for good things to try. 乾杯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61