Bruichladdich Octomore 07.2 / 208 PPM Single Malt Scotch Whisky Review!

in #whisky8 years ago (edited)

Supposedly 5 times peatier than LaPhroaig (which boasts to be the most richly flavored of all Islay malts) the Octomore 7.2 is something else.

I had gone out with some friends for my birthday to my favorite whisky bar in town. As a birthday present the bartender/owner, Tomoya, said he wanted me to try a dram of some super peaty stuff, made by folks with connections to LaPhroaig. I knew nothing about the stuff, but of course was down like a clown.

With a PPM (Phenol Parts Per Million) rating of 208, this stuff was no joke (LaPhroaig malts clock in at about 40 PPM). When I took a whiff, I was not taken aback. This stuff doesn't smell too peaty, I thought. Then I took a sip.


Nose.

Lacquer. Solvent. Pears. Medicinal. Iodine.

Mouth.

Tongue going to melt off from peat smoke. Pure, hellacious, Islay joy. This dry, smoky peat explosion is immediately tempered and made palatable by the subtle sweetness infused from the Syrah wine casks.

Finish.

Vanilla. Peat. Cinnamon. Smoke.

Final Rating: 4.7 / 5 Stars.

Excellent stuff, though I am not sure I would want more than one dram in a night due to the huge intensity of the mouthfeel.


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed my last single malt whisky review, you can find it here.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63787.47
ETH 2643.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83