Mini Motivation #91 - What kind of problems do you fight over?

in #psychology6 years ago

I was chatting with an old friend the other day, let’s call him Ken. We both grew up together, and had been through some tough times before we are slightly better now, financially I mean.

Ken was commenting that, just like any couples, from time to time, he would have arguments with his wife. But he did noticed that their topics or reasons of arguments were different over time. When they were starting out and poorer, they would often quarrel about money - not having enough to cover the bills, how they should be splitting the responsibilities, whether they can change to the latest iPhones etc.

Then, when they were more financially sound, the arguments would start from seemingly petty matters - that female client he’s always meeting, why does he always leave the toilet seat up/down, why aren’t they talking more anymore.

And that got me thinking, because I did see where Ken was coming from. In the latter, those issues seemed petty because they had gone through way bigger issues before - getting summons from banks, cards being frozen, working with debt consultants, borrowing from friends and families.

And the ending remark was, given the choice, we would opt for their financial problems because in the end, they worked together to solve the problem, and that brought them closer together. Petty problems of recent, in his opinion, were not even real problems at all, and were high emotional in nature.

That got me thinking as well, how often did I myself argue with my partners over small matters, and would not had been a real issue if we were in a poorer financial state.

What do you think? Do you think this is a valid argument/observation, or just isolated cases?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3-minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I mostly blog about Steemit Success Strategies, business, marketing, entrepreneurship, psychology, community and random thoughts.

Talking about Steemit Success Strategies, if you want to 10x your results on this platform, perhaps some of these guides will be able to help you.

  1. How to generate at least 365 post ideas for your Steemit Life (and possibly never run out of ideas again!)
  2. The 4 Big Cs of Steemit Success
  3. 8 Content Strategies to Excite & Engage your Steemit Followers
  4. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 1)
  5. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 2)
  6. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles
  7. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "List Type" Post Titles
  8. Steemit Success Strategies #1 - The Law of Requisite Variety
  9. Steemit Success Strategies #2 - Batching + Parkinson's Law
  10. How to apply the 80/20 rule to your Steemit Life
  11. Steemit Experiment Report: 21 days, 21 minutes, 21 posts later, PLUS an 8-Step Guide on How to Write a Steemit Post every day under 30 minutes
  12. Case Study on Bid Botting - A Steemit Bootcamp follow-up module, a cheatsheet and why I probably won't use it

At least once a month, I run Steemit community events and training workshops with my buddies at #teammalaysia too. Some examples are:

  1. Steemit Bootcamp March 2018 - KICKSTART Your Steemit Success
  2. BoilerRoom 03.03.2018 | Let's Huddle, Hustle & Hack Out Awesome Steemit Contents!

I'm also grateful to be part of #steemitbloggers , SmartSteem and the sndbox.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

follow_maverickfoo.gif


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD5, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

Sort:  

It's a valid observation in my opinion. Truth is misunderstandings will always be there. No two humans can live in perfect harmony. Better petty problems than financial challenges. 😉

That's why it's always a work in progress, eh?

Yes, always will be. 😆

Hmm yeah interesting point! Maybe something to do with a pattern being developed, generally when my partner and I fight it's semi intense but very brief, I think we do a good job of not letting things crop up but just getting them out in the open immediately (which seems more painful at the time but is ultimately worth it I think). Great post!

It's great that you recognise the patterns, because by doing so, you will have the awareness to change. Awarness has to come before any change can take place.

Interesting isn't it, how incessant the human mind is in focusing on the tiny black dot on a giant white wall. Even when it turns out to be a fly and buzzes right off....lol.

The mind can find even a speck of dust in the cleanest room... :)

Definitely a valid one, it is just like two partners in the company quarrel but for the betterment of the company. In other words, the concept of a family should be there for both partners to commit. haha, still a young bachelor talking about family :P

Well, future-pacing is good so you are more prepared for the upcoming challenges, bro!

Business partners can sometimes be easier because there's the money element - profit, bottom line, share prices etc. But on the relationship front, it takes a totally different spin.

Ah, got you. It has deeper tie compare to business partners. If have kids, then got one more entity.

Yeah, married couples will have a bit of misunderstanding sometimes and it is actually good as you will get to know more about your partner's characteristic. Jealousy is normal too, which means your partner cared for you and still loves you. There are many types of argument between me and my wife, but mostly about petty things like doing the house chores ;)

I guess to a certain degree, even argumanrs are a form of communication, eh?

You are right bro.

I do not really like to argue but my partner starts out critiquing me almost daily about something small. I am never what she wants me to be so there is always something. I also am who I am and so certain things she does not like about me she brings it up.

I keep reminding myself that she just wants me to be a better person so I need to change. Old habits die hard. No way would I ever stand a chance in arguing with the wife. That is how much I love her :p

There is no way of reducing the arguments but each of us can always do better at handling the situations. I pick my fights here and there but in general will just do what is asked and move on. Arguing is just wasting my energy to completing the task at hand.

Thanks for sharing your experiences, @mawit07. Just a thought though, as much as we want our partners to grow and become better, I'm not sure if "changing" your partner's behavious is the right way. But then again, what do I know, right?

You make a good point. Maybe it is myself that needs to change.

You write so many motivational posts, inspired me to fill my blog with a few of my own. Thanks.

I do that sometimes and then when I calm down, I realise how ridiculous it was to get upset... like that upset over something so trivial that did not warrant so much negative energy.... But the older I get, the easier it is put the things into perspective but of course it is WIP ... haha

The story of "cari pasal"? haha.

Or maybe... the story of "lepas geram" as prequel? 😉.... haha

And "Armageddon" as the finale...

🤣😂🤣😂

🤣😂🤣😂

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97