Mini Motivation #90 - Immortalising Life Through the 5-inch Screen

in #psychology6 years ago

Last night at Steem Music, there were performances by a few extremely talented Steemians. The setting was a cozy cafe. The time was late into the night. The style was mostly acoustic, my personal favourite. A great way to unwind.

And as I was tapping to the beats and swaying to the tunes, I realized a few of the audience members had taken out their phones and started recording the performances. And I recalled a story an old mentor, Billy, once shared with me.

It was Billy's first ride on a helicopter, off the coast of Australia. Because it was the first time, he was very anxious and excited about it, and the moment that the helicopter lifted off, he decided he wanted to capture the breathtaking view, took out his camera, and started recording. He was conscious of what he saw on the viewfinder screen because he wanted to record all that in - the seagulls gliding through the clouds, the waves clashing into each other in the endless see, the crimson sunset at the horizon. This went on until the helicopter landed and the ride was finally over.

As he was walking away from the helicopter, he replayed the video, and had a big realization. In the effort to capture the memory, he had deliberately viewed it from a 5 inch screen, rather than take in the spectacle in full view with his eyes, and his other senses.

I am not judging how people want to preserve their memories, and technology is indeed a great tool to help that. I generally prefer to soak in the entire experience, especially when it may only happen once, and replaying from my own memory evokes emotions, allowing me to relive the experience.

And although I can't "play back" from my memory for the benefit of others - I can story tell, I can connect, I can describe.

But that's me. What about you? Record with your devices, or with your senses?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3-minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I mostly blog about Steemit Success Strategies, business, marketing, entrepreneurship, psychology, community and random thoughts.

Talking about Steemit Success Strategies, if you want to 10x your results on this platform, perhaps some of these guides will be able to help you.

  1. How to generate at least 365 post ideas for your Steemit Life (and possibly never run out of ideas again!)
  2. The 4 Big Cs of Steemit Success
  3. 8 Content Strategies to Excite & Engage your Steemit Followers
  4. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 1)
  5. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 2)
  6. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles
  7. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "List Type" Post Titles
  8. Steemit Success Strategies #1 - The Law of Requisite Variety
  9. Steemit Success Strategies #2 - Batching + Parkinson's Law
  10. How to apply the 80/20 rule to your Steemit Life
  11. Steemit Experiment Report: 21 days, 21 minutes, 21 posts later, PLUS an 8-Step Guide on How to Write a Steemit Post every day under 30 minutes
  12. Case Study on Bid Botting - A Steemit Bootcamp follow-up module, a cheatsheet and why I probably won't use it

At least once a month, I run Steemit community events and training workshops with my buddies at #teammalaysia too. Some examples are:

  1. Steemit Bootcamp March 2018 - KICKSTART Your Steemit Success
  2. BoilerRoom 03.03.2018 | Let's Huddle, Hustle & Hack Out Awesome Steemit Contents!

I'm also grateful to be part of #steemitbloggers , SmartSteem and the sndbox.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

follow_maverickfoo.gif


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD5, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

Sort:  

I feel you @maverickfoo. Everyone's experiencing life in a different perspective - but immersing ourselves in the reality of the current moment is just.. different :)

With my senses, if have time, will just take out the phone to do some photo shot for keeping the memory sake. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61757.84
ETH 2985.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48