Do Introverts Make Bad Friends? (Therapy Thursday)

in #psychology6 years ago

Therapy-Thursday-introverts.png

I'm using Thursdays to kind of do my own version of therapy. The kind where I basically just write out my thoughts/feelings and experiences with life situations, because it helps me almost see it from a different perspective. Or maybe it just helps to get it out of my head for a minute. :)

So this article, I'm Sorry for all the Time My Depression and Anxiety Made me a Rubbish Friend popped up on my facebook memories from last year. I apparently still have "All The Feelings" about the topic!

I get that this is one person's opinion/life experience on the matter, but I see it all the time and I felt GUILTY AS HELL about it for decades. This is more of a "my personal life experience" rather than a commentary on the article. I suppose it just brought up all of my own issues with feeling like a shitty friend for pretty much my entire life in large part because I'm an introvert (and add to that an empath and it's even... well, more guilt inducing when I didn't know which end was up!)

So yeah, long before the internet and social media was even a thing, this was my own personal guilt trip.

Now with social media, I often see/hear people apologizing for not being a "good" friend, when what it seems like to me is that they aren't the kind of friend that society defines as a 'good friend'. I feel like I would have written this in my 20's and probably at least part of my 30's as well. Except for that ONE BFF that I always had (who was my roommate most of the time until I got married), I wished that I could be that social person for a long while.

friends-ford.png

I felt SO damn guilty for decades because I wasn't the type of 'friend' that I should be (even as far back as elementary school, I got tired of hanging out all the time, the visits or sleepovers that friends wanted to continue. I remember asking my mom to say that I was busy/grounded/had to do chores because I just wanted my friends to GO HOME.)

So... No. I'm tired of feeling like I should be apologizing for not being the type of friend who wants to hang out in person. For any reason. If its because of my depression or my anxiety, because I'm feeling too busy/over scheduled or just because I am not in the damn mood.

introvert.png

I'm tired of people trying to make me feel guilty for not showing up more, not wanting to stop by and visit, for not wanting to chat incessantly or because I would rather stay home than go out.

I think its awesome that there are friends out there who love to get together daily/weekly for coffee, cards or just a visit, but I'm just not the type. If I have to leave my house for ANY reason/length of time for 4 days in a row, you can damn well bet I'm going to be doing everything I can to stay home and not leave for anything for the next two. The most you're going to get out of me on a regular basis is a completely spontaneous "hey, you wanna hang out... tonight? Now? in 15 minutes?" And by regular basis, that most likely means once every 6 months or so.

I think its awesome that there are people out there who enjoy chatting all hours of the day about every type of thing that ever comes to mind. I am not one of them. I'm happy to chat if you need to talk/are having an issue, but the keeping up every day all day via private messages? Not my thing. A little goes a long way.

I think its great that there are people who enjoy talking on the phone for hours, even though I find the thought to be pretty damn abhorrent.

friends-quote.png

How about we stop trying to make introverts or anti-social people feel like they need to change so that other people are happier? Or worse, implying that we would be happier if we just got out more.

friends-johnmulvaneyquote.png

Some of us just stay home, share too much/too often/TMI stuff on places like facebook. For some of us, that is our social life (and some people manage to accomplish BOTH!). It isn't new, it isn't sad, and I know in MY case anyway, before the internet, I was just home alone (or with my kids/husband) a LOT. I read a lot. I listened to music a lot. I created a lot. That's just how I am.

The things I value most in a friend is that I know I can pick up with them pretty much any time and we're good. I can tell them whatever is on my mind and trust that they will share what is on their mind. I know that they won't be shocked by intimate details of my life and they will probably not judge me for being too bitchy when the hormones hit. And I will do the same for them. I think I'm pretty damn chill and can listen to just about any kind of TMI conversation and it's all good. If I have a dissenting opinion on choices you're making, I probably won't give my opinion unless you ask for it... and I'm not going to judge you because I disagree, either. (This is assuming that you're not causing someone else pain for no good reason).

Anyway, I could go on forever about this, but ironically enough, I have a gym date with my BFF and I'm forcing myself to leave the house because she needs me to workout with her... and the thing is, I need HER to workout with me, otherwise I won't leave the house. That's how it works for us.

friends-1.png

I suppose another reason I have so few in person friends is because my kids are my friends and my husband is my friend. Once I get done hanging out with all five kids AND my husband, my social fuel tank is fairly empty. And that's okay, because at least for now, I get a lot of alone time to recharge... and write :)

friends-kids.png

ALL THAT BEING SAID, I also know that it can be exceedingly draining to be friends with someone who suffers from depression/anxiety when they need your help or want their help, but there is only so much you can do. I really REALLY understand. My husband and I both struggle with various emotional issues and we both get worn out from it! I'll be writing more on that topic very soon as we work through this most recent bout of hardcore "seasonal" depression that has kind of spread out into years instead of just a season... but that's for next time.

friends-Patrick-silly.png

Right now I need to go work off some stress with the weights.

Thanks for reading! It's obviously not a simple topic and I know I didn't cover all of the spectrum in one blog post.

I'm curious about your thoughts and experiences.

Do you feel like you're an introvert? Extrovert? What do your friendships look like and how do you take care of your own mental/emotional health so that you don't wear yourself out?

springtime.png

Annnnd, I had to add one last photo, because this quote seemed perfect for this adorable photo that I got of Tiberius back during our boat life. We were in Hoffman's Cay and Tiberius was actually protecting this poor little crab (that our other dog kept trying to kill.) The crab kept trying to escape and Tiberius was RIGHT on top of him the entire time we were on the beach. A perfect illustration of an extrovert/introvert relationship :) Tiberius thought for sure he was protecting the crab and kept Cinnamon from killing it. The poor crab had to just think this monster was going to bug him to death.

personalspace.png

springtime.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animation By @zord189

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

springtime.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts!

Storytime Saturday: Psychological Thriller

fate.png

Sunday Funnies: Letters from a Boat Cat

TempestCover-250.png

Mommy Monday: To My Kids: Let's Talk About Mother's Day

thumb-mothersday.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I entered a design contest

TSNT-designcontest.png

Workout Wednesday: Full Body Workout & Extra Glutes Work

WO-W-2.png

Therapy Thursday: I Gave Up Alcohol for One Year

Therapy-Thursday-2-alcohol.png

springtime.png

Photos & graphics are mine except for the steemit and teamgirlpowa graphics that are sourced under the graphic.
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Hi @byn, actually I am an introvert. Been that all my life, but I realised to gain visibility in business, I need to show up more often. I need to be at the right events and network with the right people. Being an introvert, I usually just drown in the background and people won't notice me enough for me to leave a good impression.

I decided to push myself out of my comfort zone and become more extroverted, and it has worked out quite well for me. I just need to be mindful of my downtime everytime after a show or speech. My little recharge time.

And I realised being an introvert helps during the follow-ups of those events. I get to engage with people on a deeper level to understand their business and life more, and see how I can add value.

My husband is an introvert as well, and has to get out there for his work as well. He definitely needs his down time (usually in nature is best!) I am fortunate that when I have been working with the public, he's been my 'public face' (I was an artist and painted on motorcycles at rallies) because he's good at the social networking, public persona/small talk/sales person. I'm HORRIBLE at it!

But yes, we have to do what we need including taking downtime when we need it to recharge!

I like that last paragraph especially. That would make a big difference to ME as a customer!

😮 All these comments are like mini reports, oh no. I came to the wrong thread to leave an easy upvote and comment. Lol

Hey yea we had this conversation kinda and you and I are cool whenever we take back up the converation. We're both cool like that. Same way with all my best friends. Has to be. We got kids and we're usually too busy or too tired.

Our apartment also sucks for any kind of entertainment. We need a bigger place soon. But we do have some good friends (another family) that live inland and have a real nice place. Walk in pool with a big landscaped waterslide. We were actually invited out this past weekend, but yup. Too much to do and too weary.

I much prefer the company of 1 person or a small group. No company at all has never been a problem for me either. Feeling alone has never been about whether people were around or not. :)

The first sentence of your comment was THE best ever, btw. :)

Haha @byn. I just laid it all on the line with that one. I love reading people's posts, but sometimes I'm just like, "Please let it be an easy one!"

I should have known better before I clicked on your post. Lol. :)

Oh, I totally hear you! I have those days as well. I look for photography posts :)

Lol @byn are you watching me on my laptop camera? Shhh. You'll give away all our secrets because, you know, it's such a secret. You got me rolling now. :)

I absolutely love it when I can just step into a conversation and it feels like it was just a minute ago that we were talking!

I think I tend to 'click' with other people who feel the same way.

I very much prefer very small groups or one on one company... or being on stage. That works, too! :) It's the interacting in a small-talk-polite kind of way that wears me out the most!

How about we stop trying to make introverts or anti-social people feel like they need to change so that other people are happier? Or worse, implying that we would be happier if we just got out more.

Yes, please. I'm in bit of a funk from staying home lately, but only because I have no particular schedule until my grad program starts. So I've been finding things to work on instead, and that's great. Doing more art, which is nice. Reading books at a leisurely pace. Cleaning my apartment. Cooking and listening to podcasts.

But! Going out just for the purpose of socializing? Yikes. No, thanks, I'd rather stay in.

Lol, you sound like me! I have made steemit my 'scheduled' job for the time being. That and working on my book, so I allot a specific amount of time each day and consider it a priority. It definitely helps a lot, because I was feeling a bit of a funk before I started doing this!

I am not very good at imposing schedules on myself without the help of any external structure, but I should probably get better at it before I start my dissertation, huh?

Lol, I'm not good at schedules, persay, but I can give myself a list of things that need to be done each day. I like checking off the boxes :) My kids tend to come and visit me at random times, so it's hard for me to set a strict schedule, but I do have my priority list of 'have to' things!

I wish you the best of luck! A dissertation sounds like a LOT of hard work!!!

Thanks! I have developed lots of tricks to get and stay on task when needed, and I like to break things down into lists to check off as well, so hopefully it’ll go alright. 😄

It's so hard being a good friend...it's a selfless act, really and it's all about heart. I think true friendship is caring what the other person needs and meeting them there...just like going to the gym together. I'm an extrovert, but I'm very close to an introvert and I've learned to read them and understand them, and ultimately what they need has nothing to do with me, so I can't take things personally. I love them where they're at, and hope they love me where I am too.

That is a very good way to put it! I hate leaving the house, but somehow it's okay when I'm doing it to help someone else out (and it helps me at the same time!) I'm very thankful for my introvert friends and kids!

Haha I understand! My husband is my favorite person to be around!

This is an awesome way of handling the stigma of we who prefer our own company, and select small circle of friends and family. I'm an introvert and largely anti-social empath, too. I prefer my two or three close friends, and now Jeff, (who is the opposite in that regard). I sat alone for years, read, wrote and listened to music, took long walks to the lake and near abouts. I struggled dating and trust few with my thoughts. I get anxiety, too. Depression hasn't visited in a long time, but I went through a terrible time as a young woman coming to peace with my abusive marriage and other equally enormous issues (eating disorder). Ive come through much stronger and accept my quirks and desire to sit home more than go out. I love writing, reading and art (though it has been on the back burner too long). All said, I love your story and applaud that you, too, are comfortable with your own skin. I'm happy you have a great marriage and wonderful kids, too!

I spent the first (too long) while of my marriage wanting MORE friends, thinking that we needed to have couple-friends and all that. I spent way too much of my life and my energy wishing/thinking that I needed to be different in this way. I am pretty much fine, and have been, with being "different" in most ways... but the social life part always made me feel like there was something wrong with me.

Of course, there were plenty of things "wrong" with me, too, I suppose :) But that's a whole 'nother story!

Thanks for the comment. I'm so glad to hear that you've come through stronger. I've struggled with so much myself, I know how much strength it takes to get through those trials and struggles. <3

The things I value most in a friend is that I know I can pick up with them pretty much any time and we're good.

It IS draining being around people......and I love people, but am an empath too and sometimes you just have to take care of you because no matter how much you guard yourself it all still leaks on over to you.

I loved working with the Public at the Library too but if I had to be out at the desk ALL day the last thing I wanted to do was talk to anyone when I got home.

Why I use to take car rides alone and just crank up the music and chill........come home about 3 hours later and be asked where I was LOLL

I think true friends accept you as you are......no matter how you are and no, I'm not a phone chatter everyday but when needed or wanted I will talk for hours if someone needs me.

If I think they need me.........and I'm usually right when I think that I WILL call them out of the blue and not think twice......

But all that takes its toll on yourself and if your not healthy you don't do any good to anyone else when they NEED you and they will.......

and are you very sure your MOm didn't give up a Baby girl in 1964 for adoption? LOLLLLLLLLL

hugs

I hate going places, but when I'm alone, I loooooove to crank up the music and sing along at the top of my lungs. :) It's so NICE.

I can talk for hours and hours, I just dread talking on the phone. I guess I'm somewhat awkward in several social ways and the phone seems to make it worse. It's like I am missing cues that really bother me. I keep feeling like I'm not quite as present when I can't see someone's face (maybe?).

We do seem to be a lot alike! :)

"I read a lot."

Bless your soul! Heya @byn, I'm also an introvert—there's literally nothing wrong about that!

I used to get guilted all the time for not going out or entertaining conversations when I really didn't want to. I think you're doing a fantastic job, we have to cut the fat from our lives—whether literal or people!

With love,
@shello

Thank you! I was soooooo good at giving up toxic attitudes (and people) in so many areas of my life. This one (and body image!!!) were so freaking hard for me to figure out and work on!

Thanks for the support!

No problem! It's never too late to learn new things, and I'm loving how your life is transforming because of it :D

I can totally relate. As an introvert myself, I get my feelings of identity through my thoughts, memories, and emotions. I want to know if someone is true friend material before I truly begin disrobing my personality. In other words, I want some sort of indication that the friendship is worth investing in. My husband who is an extrovert, just rolls his eyes sometimes because I am too quiet and drives him nuts lol.

My husband and I are SO different, and yet both introverted in our own ways. He can do the small talk, if he has to, so he SEEMS way more outgoing than me in public situations. I will strike up a deep, TMI type conversation in a hot minute while he will never have that kind of conversation. We've gradually found our comfort zone over the years, but I will admit its been hard at times... just figuring out what we need and how to connect with each other! Thank you for the comment!

Are you walking through my mind? lol that's how I felt while I was reading this post. I am in an out my introvert shell. Though that still makes me an introvert. I have two best friends from my childhood that never made me feel like I need to call or reassure them we were still friends. We see each other once in a few years but time and distance never affected our relationship.
My definition of a friend is someone who accepts you the way you are, loves you, respects you and tells you things straight to your face.

I never categorized myself as an introvert for most of my life, mostly because I talk a lot :) I thought introverts were just like my husband, who not only doesn't care to socialize, but also doesn't like to talk at all!

I agree with your definition of friendship 110%

I am an introvert @byn. Sometimes a little on the extreme side cox there are days (most days) that I don’t feel like being out there. I work remotely and I’m comfortable that way but it really is detrimental to me in the long run. So I made a conscious choice to train myself to associate better with people by dragging my feet to attending events. However, when I feel beaten down, I will take a break and socially detox so I don’t burn out. Sometimes this detox takes longer than usual but you get the drill. Live life detox, repeat :p

I'm definitely prone towards the extreme side. I can go weeks without ever leaving my house... and if my kids didn't stop by a few times a week (and there are 5 of them, so that's a lot of visits) I probably wouldn't see anyone at all. I've also noticed that I can start sinking into depression and becoming even MORE of a hermit, so I'm trying to get back into leaving the house to hit the gym with my friend and whatnot. The thought of typical events just wears me out, so other than sitting in a coffeeshop to listen to my daughter play for a while, I probably won't ever be the 'let's go to events' type.

I think it's awesome that you can recognize that in yourself and know how to fix it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82