Sort:  

Whoa.. you slaughtered the daughter why? :|

Great job @byn. You had the gift of words.

I was just trying to skim, but you got me hooked since the first paragraph. My mind said, I don't have time for this, but the way you wrote could really entice readers to read some more.

And the ending, it was tragic, totally unexpected. grr.

You should write a book some day.
P.S. Next time don't kill a little girl though. haha

Wow! Thank you, that is quite the compliment :) I do hope to write a book some day. These freewrite challenges definitely stoke my creativity (and bring out my morbid side!) I really appreciate your comments. I'll try to keep the kids alive in the next one... but really, I couldn't have planned a more horrible punishment if I'd tried. It even shocked me!

That was so sad!! I sure didn't see that ending coming.

That was fabulous @byn, you took this to another level. One day I will tackle a @mariannewest weekend freewrite 3 parter. 👏

wow, what a roller coaster of emotion and tragic end, this was a very engaging read.

Thank you! Weekend freewrites are my absolute favorite things!

Congratulations with the very well deserved Curie vote with your story, Byn! 🤗

Your story is fantastically dark and devastating! The punishment given was so terribly cruel and monstrous.

Some of the young gremlins of the town of Freewrite have been kind enough to volunteer to deliver today's prompts! Please be advised, they have silly string and have eaten their way through a basket of Pixie Stix.

Freewrite Day 178 - sugar bowl

Thank you! I appreciate the prompt delivery, too! :)

byn, I opened this last night but ended up going to bed because I was so tired. What a story!!!!! And after placing the vote, I saw the curie vote on it. So happy for you and so well deserved!!
What a story - right to the heart. Wow!

Thank you so much. I LOVE the weekend freewrites SO much. I'm thinking I'll do this for the author reading and maybe just polish it up a bit as I read and see how it turns out!

Please tag me when you post! It's amazing, lady! Just like you!

that would be fantastic!!!

Excellent story. Very gripping and the most horrible punishment that can be.

Thank you! It was a surprising ending, even to me!

That has happened to me, too!

Wow that was super intense. What an awesome story. Sad, mystical, sensational. I almost felt the scream of his wife.

Wow @byn! This was amazing. I flew through this story with true concern for the outcome. What a heartbreaking story but so well crafted. Resteemed.

Thank you! It felt pretty rough to me (especially with that second prompt!) but you know I LOVE the challenge of weekendfreewrites!

Do you think about this yourself on the fly?

Oddly enough, yes. I saw the first prompt and said to myself, "UGH. This sounds like something futuristic. I don't DO futuristic..." Then I started writing. I had no idea where it was going to go. I don't think ahead, especially on the weekend freewrites, because every 5 minutes I have an entirely new prompt!

The ending is often a total surprise to me as well.

Lol. Quite a talent you have then if I may say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48