You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Introverts Make Bad Friends? (Therapy Thursday)

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

This is an awesome way of handling the stigma of we who prefer our own company, and select small circle of friends and family. I'm an introvert and largely anti-social empath, too. I prefer my two or three close friends, and now Jeff, (who is the opposite in that regard). I sat alone for years, read, wrote and listened to music, took long walks to the lake and near abouts. I struggled dating and trust few with my thoughts. I get anxiety, too. Depression hasn't visited in a long time, but I went through a terrible time as a young woman coming to peace with my abusive marriage and other equally enormous issues (eating disorder). Ive come through much stronger and accept my quirks and desire to sit home more than go out. I love writing, reading and art (though it has been on the back burner too long). All said, I love your story and applaud that you, too, are comfortable with your own skin. I'm happy you have a great marriage and wonderful kids, too!

Sort:  

I spent the first (too long) while of my marriage wanting MORE friends, thinking that we needed to have couple-friends and all that. I spent way too much of my life and my energy wishing/thinking that I needed to be different in this way. I am pretty much fine, and have been, with being "different" in most ways... but the social life part always made me feel like there was something wrong with me.

Of course, there were plenty of things "wrong" with me, too, I suppose :) But that's a whole 'nother story!

Thanks for the comment. I'm so glad to hear that you've come through stronger. I've struggled with so much myself, I know how much strength it takes to get through those trials and struggles. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61