The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 16steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 16 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As detailed earlier, this diet has turned into a weight-loss diet too.

One day past the half-way point, and my insomnia had turned into sleeping twice a day; it's the result of me not being able to scrape up the energy to bull through when exhausted. Again, this might be seasonal. There are no real health effects other than continual hunger. My early-on luck has vanished, turning the novelty into the regular diet grind. You'll find out below how I "knocked" myself into the twice-a-day pattern.

Today's Meals

The two varieties of breakfast packets make the breakfast routine something like a mutex. Today, I flipped back to the Granola with Blueberries and Milk:

As with the others, it reconstituted to make the granola moist and the blueberries edible.

As has been the case with a few of these packages, I had a fair bit of excess fluid after I stirred in the half cup of cold water. Eating directly from the packet meant that I could upend it and let the fluid drain right into my mouth. :) Useful.

The dinner was a less-common variety in the 30-day boxes: Lasagna with Meat Sauce.

Even though it was the first variety I had more than two weeks ago, today's was only the third. Like all the dinners, it reconstituted with 2 cups of boiled water, a few stirrings and a wait of less than ten minutes:

Unique among the packs, the Lasagna leaves cheese clinging to the spoon. If you're planning to use these packets in an off-grid situation, like camping, you should know that this meal requires you to clean the spoon with soap, water and a fair bit of scrubbing.

Taste-wise, it tastes like the real thing - at least, the prepared-frozen real thing. Mountain House didn't skimp on the meat.

The Nutrition Facts for both,

with the Granola on the left and the Lasagna on the right, shows something interesting. Because of the tomato sauce, the lasagna dinner contains much more vitamin C than the other dinners. It also contains the fewest calories: since its values are per half packet, its total is (310 * 2) = 620.

Effects, So Far:

As the old saying tells us, it's ain't a sprint; it's a marathon. The grind is still there to grind through. I wish it were not so, but this diet got a bit tougher after my Hiatus Day last Monday. There may be something to sticking to it religiously until you're done.

As I noted above, my insomnia has turned into sleeping twice a day: the result of me trying to bull my way through the day but not succeeding. In righting myself, I'm waking up while groggy. This morning, it had its amusing side when I stumbled and whacked the top of my right leg into a chair. That got me wide awake, quickly. :)

Weight-wise, it's steady as she goes:

which does give teeth to the saw about the second ten pounds being harder than the first ten.

Conclusion For Day 16

I'm slowly righting myself to a more normal schedule, though it's presenting a difficulty or two. :) My energy is still normal, but the peppiness early on is gone. The tomato sauce in the lasagna added a lot more vitamin C than usual, which is something to mull over if you're preparing for a real disaster.

Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!

Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13
Day 14
Day 15
Day 16
Day 17
Day 18
Day 19
Day 20
Day 21
Day 22
Day 23

Sort:  

Could you not make a packet into 2 portions so your eating small amounts 4 times a day instead of 2?

I could, and some people have. It just seemed more intuitive to eat a full packet.

Eating smaller portions 4 x daily or even just splitting the 2nd packet might keep your energy level up :)

Consider long walks or a hobby to draw energy from, the hardest part of changing a diet or habits can be filling the blank hours. Congrats on reaching the halfway point, hope your shin is feeling better.

Consider long walks or a hobby to draw energy from, the hardest part of changing a diet or habits can be filling the blank hours.

I could try that; I certainly could. "Prepping" is an umbrella term that covers a lot of hobbies.

Thanks for such a great post hopefully you will get your sleep back on track so your not so groggy when you wake up. Again great post keep it up.😁👍👏👏👏👏👏 Keep steeming on!!✌️👍👏👏👍👏👏👏👏👏

Thanks once again!

you are more than halfway done, that's awesome. Clearly Mountain House needs some supplementation but is good for at least a couple of weeks, that's pretty cool.

You can get by on it, that's true. Funny that the daily calorie count is in line with those notorious "short rations."

do they have like a deluxe kit?

Not that I know of; I didn't see any at Costco.

wow, that looks like a really good blueberry to granola ratio. Must of have been filling. Did the blueberry get soft after you prepared it or were they kind of tough?

They were pretty soft. I've felt a bit of tough in the mac and cheese, but not the granola.

These two seem like the better of the options.

Hooray !! It's just a perfect weight loss and no side effects. Thank you @nxtblg for very helpful information. Successful greeting always👍👍👍

Congratulations @nxtblg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

wow, That is good, very healthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66233.88
ETH 3561.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14