The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 11steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 11 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As detailed earlier, this diet has turned into a weight-loss diet too.

Perhaps it's anticipation of tonight's Steemit Meetup Toronto, but I did a little better today. Once again, there was no real difference between the taste of the meals and the taste of regular. The vim came back, and there's no sign of heath issues.

I've stuck with this diet so far, but part of the reason is falling into a routine. As I'll explain below, this routinization is going to be put to a test.

Today's Meals

After yesterday's flip, the flop: Scrambled Eggs with Ham and Green Pepper:

As per usual, it took a cup of boiled water, two stirrings, and a wait of eight minutes to reconstitute:

I can't say why, but the more of these I eat, the more excess fluid there is. Before eating it, I had more "scrambled egg soup" fluid than usual. It could be the luck of the draw. In passing, the ham chunks in this meal were fairly big.

The dinner was the Lasagna with Meat Sauce:

As per usual, the same reconstituting process as per above except with two cups of water instead of one. But not before removing the oxygen absorber packet, which occasionally is hard to find. They're normally at the top of the food in the packet, but there are times I've had to dig for them.

[Unfortunately, I missed the pic for this one - guess I was too absorbed in eating it.]

The lasagna tasted like the kind you buy frozen, but it did have one wrinkle: the cheese glued itself to my spoon when I stirred it. Not gooily or globbily, but film-like. This is a wrinkle of the freeze-drying, I'm sure.

The Nutrition facts for both, with the lasagna on the left and the scrambled eggs on the right:

show a total of (310 x 2) = 720 calories for the lasagna and 380 calories for the eggs-and-ham. As with all the dinners, the Nutrition Facts numbers for the lasagna (left) are per half-pouch.

Effects, So Far, And Announcement:

So far, somewhat better. Though prolly due to the impending meetup, I got through the day with a little more vim than yesterday. The night-owl phase was reverted, and the insomnia lessened its grip. No sign of malady and the feelings of hunger were mild. Although my weight did bounce upwards:

it increased from a pretty low figure. I can live with another stretch on the plateau.


As I mentioned above, tomorrow is going to entail a change in routine. Because I'm attending an extended-family dinner, I'm going off the SHTF diet for one day. Tomorrow will be a hiatus day.

The day after tomorrow will be a test day. After climbing down from the wagon, can I get back on and proceed? It's an important question for any dieter. True, dieting breaks slow down the diet. But it's also true that a dieter who can fall off and get back on is more antifragile than the charge-ahead-at-all-costs dieter.

I'll find out Tuesday how robust I am...

Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!

Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13
Day 14
Day 15
Day 16

Sort:  

But not before removing the oxygen absorber packet, which occasionally is hard to find. They're normally at the top of the food in the packet, but there are times I've had to dig for them.

It is completely safe to eat the meal if you haven't found the oxygen absorber...just dont eat the oxygen absorber ;>

Yes, you're right. Still, it's - well, never mind. :)

now I'm going to have to try one w/ abosrber...just to see

havent even stuffed em in bob yet

Congratulations @nxtblg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your still doing great , keep it up ! hope you have a great Steemit up ! And enjoyed the Birthday dinner ! see you after your little break !😋💙👍😀

Thanks a lot!

You are really going through with this! Good for you @nxtblg

And today, I'm back on it.

It's nice to know the prepper food packs are actually edible, I always assume such things, and bomb shelters are designed for piece of mind but fail in actual catostrophic times, you open in disaster and find it's dehydrated dog food. Good luck with your diet/reviews. You looked like you're in good shape this evening, pleasure meeting you, wish we'd had more opportunity to chat.

Thanks a lot, and likewise. It was a real blast last night!

very good publication, I love this kind of publications keep it up!

You can do it...just one day I think you will be able to overcome this obstacle and get back on the diet that you have pushed through so far. 🤔👍👏👏👏👏👏 As always great post and keep up the good work.

Thanks! It's gonna be a challenge; props for your encouragement.

getting to eat normal food and then going back is tough. I love some Stouffer's lasagna though.

It's going to be a challenge, all right.

Maybe you should offer to cater the whole affair with Mountain House.

I can't make myself be consistent on a certain diet. The longest I did was at least 3 months. I ate little to rice and sweets. It did have big effect on my weight and it's the change in diet that worked.

Good luck on your diet! Eat in moderation on your cheat day :D

I can't make myself be consistent on a certain diet. The longest I did was at least 3 months. I ate little to rice and sweets. It did have big effect on my weight and it's the change in diet that worked.

I'm a yo-yo dieter myself. Anyhoo, a weight-loss diet is essentially controlled famine. It's not supposed to last very long.

Good luck on your diet! Eat in moderation on your cheat day :D

To be honest, I'm making a point not to. More of a challenge this way.

Thanks for sharing i will done upvote I always see your post. And follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39