The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 12steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 12 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As detailed earlier, this diet has turned into a weight-loss diet too.

After yesterday's hiatus day, I'm back on the Hunger Trail. In order to increase the challenge of getting back on the diet, I ate without restraint yesterday. So far, resuming the diet has not been difficult - but that might change tomorrow. In my experience as a dieter, it's the second day that requires grit.

Today's Meals

Continuing the habit of alternating between the two kinds of breakfast packets, I went with the Granola with Blueberries:

It's the only variety that's reconstituted with cold water. After adding the 1/2 cup, the granola became damp and the blueberries expanded to pretty-much normal:

There was a bit of excess fluid, which only had a hint of blueberry taste.

Dinner was the old standard, macaroni and cheese:

As with all the dinners, two cups of boiling water plus some stirring and eight minutes' wait reconstituted it:

This time 'round, the noodles were a bit on the crunchy side. The sauce was once again thick, and its taste was salty. Unsurprisingly, a full pack of mac and cheese supplies 86% of the recommended daily allowance of sodium. You can see so from its Nutrition Facts box, the one on the left:

The granola with blueberries only supplies 5%. Funny enough, even with the salty cheese I got slightly less than the daily allowance of sodium.

Effects, So Far:

As I said above, I did go at the food yesterday. Undoubtedly, there was a carry-over into today. Health- and condition-wise, I was normal. The only oddity is me becoming even more of a night owl.

As for weight, I unsurprisingly gained a few pounds:

Some of this was rebound and I'm sure it'll be temporary.

Conclusion For Day 12

Changing direction back to the diet trail didn't cause any difficulties so far. My weight did spring back somewhat, which isn't that unexpected given that my food consumption had "rebounded." No health issues or dizziness, and no real discomfort. I suspect this is because yesterday's feasting carried over into today.

Tomorrow, I'll find out how lucky a number is 13.

Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!

Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13
Day 14
Day 15
Day 16
Day 17
Day 18

Sort:  

And you are still hanging in there?
I take my hat off to you!

Yes I am, though some days are tougher than others. :) Thanks!

I can just imagine!
Hang in there!

Glad to see your back from your Hiatus @nxtblg ! just finished checking out your post on the meet up , that was awesome ! nice to see your back to the diet , those pouches this time didnt look to great lol ! I think you just need to cook them more ! and wow , thats a lot of salt in the mac n cheese , as much as I love my salt . Nice to see though that your hanging in there ! keep up the great work !👍👍👍✌💕
This would be me !!

I felt that today....

one wonders how long it takes scurvy to set in

I'm watching for it. If my teeth start aching, I'll take steps.

lol Good thing for those blueberries.

yeah, those might get you to two months without scurvy. ;)

Wow 😮 look at you going full speed ahead. Did you have a great time yesterday... never mind already saw that post. I am glad to see your post again hope things go good for your. 😃👍👍👍👍👏👏👏👏👏 keep pushing forward, keep posting and steem on.

Thanks once again!

I never get sick of blueberries, just like I never get sick of chocolate! Living in New Jersey, fresh in-season blueberries are one of the things the state is known for. But I always have frozen blueberries on hand and usually put them in a protein shake.

It's great if you can get them fresh. Do the growers have bear problems?

As for weight, I unsurprisingly gained a few pounds:

I'm sure the blueberry is the reason))

Heh - thanks!

Congratulations @nxtblg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52