The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 2 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As explained at the start, I'll be eating two of the meal packets - one breakfast, one dinner - and reporting on how the meals go down and the effects.

Important Lesson

I owe thanks to @stevescoins for pointing something out that I didn't even think to check: the calorie count of these meals. Taken together, the two meals are well below a normal diet for anyone above a child. I've learned another lesson, though I could have avoided this one by foresight:

In addition to checking the preparation methods for your emergency food, check the calorie count for the suggested day's feeding. If it's well below the norm, you have to supplement your supplements with enough food to add those calories.

For this "Mountain House – 1-month Food Supply Pouch Kit", I could get the calorie count up to normal range by adding one MRE per day. A cheap alternative would be to store cheap staple food - rice, flour, basic pasta, ramen, beans, or suchlike - and use the Mountain House packs for variety.

That would make for a useful change in a second round. But for this 30 days, I'm sticking to the original plan even though it amounts to a crash diet. Strangely, it's been working out better than the diets I've been on before. As with yesterday, today's packets tasted like real food, there's no discernible effects on my health, and my energy level is good.

Today's Meals

The breakfast pack I chose was scrambled eggs with ham and green pepper.

It took a full cup of boiling water to reconstitute. Interestingly, the recommended water left a little excess fluid, which I supped like a soup from the packet.

This one tasted good. The eggs were fluffy and nothing was off. Because of the freeze-drying, the egg part reconsituted into little cubes.

For the dinner, I picked the turkey tetrazzini.

Preparing it required two cups of boiling water. As I noted yesterday, I'd have to secure an off-grid method of boiling water, and store up enough fuel (wood or propane) to keep doing so, as a hedge against the power going out.

This dinner was like a thick turkey soup:

It tasted like the real thing, though there seemed to be microscopic pieces of gristle in the meat; I couldn't tell for sure.

Effects, So Far:

Strangely, my energy level is still up; no sluggishness. This could be due to the placebo effect, or it could be excitement from a big change in habit. I did have those "hungries," but to a lesser extent than yesterday. The headache I experienced yesterday afternoon-evening didn't reappear today, though that could have resulted from me drinking a little more coffee than yesterday.

Odd. Given the calorie count, I'm effectively on a diet. But if anything, I'm a little peppier than I was when I was eating fully.

The diet part is beginning to show on the scale:

whose number does indicate I could lose a lot of weight anyway. :)

Conclusion For Day 2

Even though I knew today what I didn't know yesterday - that these packets have to be supplemented with caloric food to get the calorie count to normal - today was less difficult than yesterday. It's also less discomfiting than the real weight-loss diets I've been on.

Odd, and I can't explain why.

So far, unusually good. Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!


Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9

Sort:  

my energy level is still up; no sluggishness

Do you usually eat a lot of sugar enhanced foods?; those can give you some (sometimes unnoticed) rushes combined with long times of drag.

it's my major problem..haven't kicked sugar yet

A cheap alternative would be to store cheap staple food - rice, flour, basic pasta, ramen, beans, or suchlike - and use the Mountain House packs for variety.

good idea; also add peanut butter and honey, which store well and can add some sweet variety. peanut butter and plain rice can be an interesting meal (done it lol)

good to hear it's working so far!; you might also want to order a few additional units and add a third freezed dried meal if you start feeling underpowered; it'd keep you close to your original plan

Do you usually eat a lot of sugar enhanced foods?; those can give you some (sometimes unnoticed) rushes combined with long times of drag.

No, but I do tend to eat a fair bit of carbs. That - me going off the carbs - could explain it.

good idea; also add peanut butter and honey, which store well and can add some sweet variety. peanut butter and plain rice can be an interesting meal (done it lol)

That's one thing I discovered: if you get bored with staples, you can come up with something new (and good!) just by mixing up what you've got.

For example, I've added flavor powder [powdered flavor cubes, eg. chicken) to the rice I put in the rice cooker. Works well and tastes good. Also, I discovered you can make good macaroni in a rice cooker: just use 1 cup macaroni to 1 cup water instead of the 1:2 ratio for rice:water.

good to hear it's working so far!; you might also want to order a few additional units and add a third freezed dried meal if you start feeling underpowered; it'd keep you close to your original plan

I might...


Thanks for the resteem!

de nada

Glad to see its going good so far ! I also would suggest having peanut butter or some type of energy or granolla type bars like Cliff that store really well to be sure you are getting enough calories . Great job , keep it up my friend !😀👍✌💕

Thanks that’s good to know about the supplementing to get the calories to where you need them. Again good luck and be safe on your experiment. Great post 👍👍😃👏👏👏👏

Thanks! So far, I'm holding up.

And I am passing along my mistakes so you don't make them :-)

To let you know that I am glad that you are so willing to make those mistakes for us. Your the best 😃👍👏👏

Are these things even delicious, nxtblg? If they aren't I doubt it is worth it :D

Believe it or not, they are. Quite good for freeze-dried.

how many calories are there in each package? It's funny I was reading another guy's post who was doing a 40 day fast, his last post was like day 28 but I haven't seen anything else from him since. I hope he is all right.
the problem with the MREs is they don't have a great shelf life, better off with canned food.

I haven't checked specifically, but they're less than MREs. I promise I won't go dark. :)

You're right about MREs having not-so-good shelf life. 5 years max.

Damnn that seems nasty haha Good to hear it didn't taste bad. It looks terrible! hahaha

Props for doing this, dont think I could do it myself unless absolutely necessary. I did a week long juice diet two years ago, the first 3 days were alright, but the final 4 were dreadful. Couldnt wait to get back to eating regular food. The only good thing about this endurance test was more free time not having to worry about meal prep

free time not having to worry about meal prep

Yes, that is a convenience!

Based on my calcs, it would take ~$700 per month to feed myself for a month on a combined Mountain House / MRE diet. Convenience costs...

interesting. It would cost me almost the same amount to do the juicing diet with delivery. 7 bottles a day for 7 days cost me roughly $180.

Well done on day 2, the meals do sound OK and look like the real thing in the packets. Make sure you are keeping hydrated to :)

Oh yes; I won't be in any danger of going thirsty. :)

Thanks that’s good to know about the supplementing to get the calories to where you need them. Again good luck and be safe on your experiment. Great post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39