The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 0steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

In the prepping and homesteading world, storing food for an SHTF event is the perennial #2 topic. It's only beaten out by the good old bug-out-bag.

To hedge against a real disaster, standard advice says to buy food that'll store for a long time without going bad. The quantity varies: some say six months, some say a year, and there are hard-core folks who'll go up to five. Usually, the recommendations revolves around what kind of prep food to buy and store: freeze-dried, MREs, etc. A more conscientious prepper advises his/her readers to work their prep food into their regular diets so as to get used to 'em. The idea being, it'll be less of a shock when the prep food has to be relied upon.

But as far as I know, no-one has tested out living on prep food solely for a month or more.

That's the purpose of this series. For the next thirty days, starting tomorrow, I'm going to live off a 30-day supply of freeze-dried prep food. Every day, I'll write about the experience: how the meals taste, plus their effects on my health, energy level and most importantly my weight.

If I lose a significant amount of weight, then the daily rations are not adequate for a largeish male. This is important to know because it directly affects the time that the preps will last. If a six-month supply only provides half the calories needed, then bam: your six months is now three.

Obviously, it's best to know this in advance of a real disaster.

The Brand I Chose

Since I'm a member of Costco, I bought the "Mountain House – 1-month Food Supply Pouch Kit." It cost C$369.99 total.

It arrived in a big box

which contained eight smaller boxes. These boxes contained the free-dried food packets.

Five of the right had suppers, six per box:

And, the other three had breakfasts - ten per box:

The dinners require 2 cups of boiling water per packet; the breakfasts require only one cup.

One Smaller, One Bigger

If you've got your calculator whirring, you've seen that the total number of meals is sixty. Thirty days means two packs per day: one small, one big.

This is something I would not had known had I just thrown the box into a storage space.

Because the "supper" is twice the size of the "breakfast", I could eat half for lunch and save the other half for dinner. For this trial, however, I'll stick to two meals a day.

What I'll Be Watching For

As noted above, I'll be making notes each day that focus on:

  • Taste;
  • Health (vaguely);
  • Energy (also subjective);
  • Weight

With regards to the last, I'll weigh myself each day and show the scale. To be honest, I could lose a lot of weight.

If this experiment proves to be the "SHTF Diet," I'd actually be better off. :)

But if you're normal weight and depending on this food, you're at risk of becoming underweight if your prep food doesn't supply enough calories. As I said at the beginning, it's important to find out in advance if this is the case. Best to find out before the SHTF if your six-month supply is really three.

(Image from here.)


Over the next thirty days, in this adventure of a sort, I'm going to find out if a thirty-day supply of SHTF-ready food is adequate for a real thirty days. Follow along, and you'll find out too.

Tomorrow, it begins! Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!


Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7

Sort:  

Oh, that's nasty! Goodluck mate happy it isn't me doing it! haha

I don't mind; the foreknowledge is worth it. Thanks!

Super true let us know how it went!

How can u reply so fast which application to you use?

Super true let us know how it went!

Sure will!

How can u reply so fast which application to you use?

Desktop. :)

Just the normal steemit website? damnnu active then haha

That's awesome, I am already following so I will look forward to your posts. Me personally I only store a small amount of food, storing food is problematic for a lot of reasons, I store bullets.

Thanks a lot. I figured it was high time someone tried it out.

I store bullets.

That must have worked out very well for you in the Obama years! I still remember stories about ammo flying off the shelves at premium prices.

I actually started my hording then, the trick was to get to Walmart before the local gun store owners and/or friends of the employees would show up and buy up everything. By going to a Walmart most mornings I was able to acquire plenty of ammo even in the worst part of the drought. What is the shelf life on the Mountain House?

I think it's 25 years. The food is freeze-dried, the packets are sealed, and each packet has an oxygen absorber. Next to storing the food in nitrogen, that's the best I know of.

25 years is the max I have seen, it would be interesting to put some aside or find some that is 24 years old.

Yes, that would be a good test.

Wow do they really taste good? I tried some of another kind and it wasn’t that great. I don’t remember the name ether that is how good they were.😰 Very good post keep us up on your adventure.👍👏👏👏

Some of the Mountain House are not bad. My hubby use to take them on the road with him. It was cheaper, healthier and better quality than truck stop food.

Yea I can see that. I think would rather eat some mre’s then truck stop food.😃😷👍👏👏

One of the things that put me up to this experiment was seeing some, uh, irreverent nicknames for MREs. :)

I hope your experiment goes great for you. This is a different kind of adventure then cryptos but still have fun.

Well, I'm going to find out! Thanks.

I will be waiting to see how things are going. Good luck and have fun.👍👏👏

Sounds like a cool experiment @nxtblg! I'll be following you to see how it goes. You're going to be eating like an astronaut on earth. LOL

That's a cool way to think about it!

Thanks for the follow.

I am not sure what you exercise level is now, but people also need to factor in the fact that they will expend a lot more energy in a SHTF situation. When the power goes out, dealing with basic necessities goes up several notches unless you are lucky enough to already be completely off the grid. Most are in for a rude surprise.

Wise words. Unless we can get away with a hunker-down option, we will be expending more energy. So if this turns into an unintended diet, we'll know to pack away more food.

Funny: widespread obesity might actually save a lot of people from starving to death. I don't know of any prepper writer who's factored this in.

Obesity would only help if you have a good place prepared to hunker in place. Since my accident, (2007) I have gained a lot of weight because I move at about 1/3 to 1/2 speed. There is NO WAY, I could take off on foot. I don't think I would make it even if my legs worked properly. I DO NOT have the perfect place to hunker down, but it is well stocked, so I plan to just hunker in place.

There's lots of people like you, and there is a real case for bugging-in (as it's called.) For one: what if enough government survives to muster troops to keep people in place? What good would a bug-out location do if you're blocked from going there?

Also, if any ration scheme is set up it'll concentrate on the cities. So will law enforcement.

Really, bugging-out is only inarguable for a natural disaster like a hurricane or tornado. Thankfully, early-warning systems plus ordinary-folks sluggishness means you can bug out well in advance without getting stuck in a traffic jam. Thank goodness for "I'll take my chances" ;)

I have zero confidence of any part of government bothering to try to feed us. My hubby was a Marine and I have a few tricks up my sleeve. I am not very close to a good sized city. Not sure why this subdivision was built out here, but there are MILES of farm land, pasture land and trees surround us. All the lots are between 3/4 and 1 1/4 acres, heavy old growth hardwoods and every place has a fireplace. Lots of deer, rabbit and squirrels, a creek 300 ft from my house. Not perfect, but enough to work with.

Good for you.

Have you read the book "Lights Out" by David Crawford? It's centered in a Texas subdivision much like yours, tho' it's surrounded by ranch land instead of farmland.

No I have not. Thanks for letting me know about it. I'll see if there is a digital copy. I am vision impaired and can no longer read printed books.

Looking forward to following this journey. Hope those meals are tasty or its going to be a long month for you. Good Luck :)

Thanks.

Hope those meals are tasty or its going to be a long month for you.

Granted that, if the S really hit the F, I'd shove down food that tasted like cardboard. :) But in a real disaster, lousy-tasting food makes life worse. I figure it's best to find out beforehand.

Im wishing you all the best ! just commented on your first day post ! it will be interesting to see how it all works out in the end , hope you stay healthy ! good luck , i will be following your progress ! upped an dresteemed !👍✌💕😀

Super cool. How could I not follow? Wondering what part of the country you live in prepper?

I live in a city, Toronto in Canada.

Interesting... I've always wondered what those taste like. Thanks for letting us follow along with you. I used to keep a SHTF larder of mostly canned goods, but no longer have the room. These freeze-dried packets might solve the space issue somewhat.

Thanks yourself. I just came back from writing the first-day report

tl;dr: It tastes like "real" food, did take some adjusting to, but no ill effects to speak of. I'm getting by.

These freeze-dried packets might solve the space issue somewhat.

I hear ya about the cans: I've got a lot myself and they are bulky to store. But this stuff, though light, is also bulky: the 1-month box was bigger than an end table. Only two of them would fit underneath a 2 12' x 5' desk.

oh wow! I had no idea the box was so big! lol

I guess I should have shown my hand or added a ruler to the photograph...

No worries. But a pasta meal like lasagna that's freeze-dried vs canned pasta/meat that's already softened... I'm thinking if there's no storage benefit I might go with canned in that case! (btw - I spotted a comment you made today on another post regarding an anthology. I'm in a group of writers who are putting out five anthologies of creative writing on Steemit: four fiction and one poetry. I can give you a link to our discord server if you're interested in learning more about that.)

30 days sounds like a very serious challenge. I wouldn't even imagine trying to follow a SHTF diet... :O Congrats for the brevity!

Thanks!

I figure someone has to...

Hahah! I like that kind of attitude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41