The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 1 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As explained at the start, I'll be eating two of the meal packets - one breakfast, one dinner - and reporting on how the meals go down and the effects.

So far, so good. The freeze-dried food tasted like cooked food, no effect on my health, energy level okay, and I haven't lost any weight. The last is noteworthy because emergency food is supposed to keep you fed; it's not supposed to be a weight-loss plan. In a disaster, you need a full ration of calories to get you through.

The Meals

The breakfast pack I chose was granola with milk and blueberries:

It took a half a cup of cold water to reconstitute. With the half cup in, it looked watery:

but tasted good: it tasted like the real thing.

For the dinner, I picked the lasagna with meat sauce.

Preparing it was a little more complicated. I added two cups of boiling water. Easy in normal times, but it might not be so easy in a disaster that knocked the power out. If I were to rely on it as disaster food, I'd have to secure an off-grid method of boiling water and store up enough fuel (wood or propane) to keep doing so.

I'm glad I found this out in advance.

Below the cut line are close-flaps that stick together with some semi-solid adhesive. These flaps worked.

As with the granola, the lasagna tasted like the real thing. The only difference was that the cheese clung to my spoon evenly like a film. Most probably, because the freeze-drying turned the cheese into fine-grained powder.

If you looked closely at the open packet of granola, you saw a little envelope below the packet. That's the oxygen absorber.

Effects, So Far:

As mentioned above, my energy level did not go down. I was able to do everything I had to do without getting sluggish. If anything, my energy level was higher - but that's probably due to a placebo effect.

'Round mid-afternoon I got the "hungries," but it was not the kind of hunger that brings sluggishness with it.

No adverse effect on my health, either. I was riding a headache as of late afternoon, but that could be coincidental or just part of feeling hungry. It's gone now.

As for my weight, I'm pleased (if a little bemused) to show that my weight is unchanged from the prior day.

As the scale shows, I could lose a lot of weight - but a disaster is not the time for a diet! When things fall apart, you need a full-calorie ration. So far, it appears that I have.

Conclusion For Day 1

It's off to a good start. The food was as good as advertised. The two-meal plan did take some adjusting to, but only to the point of discomfort. I did not lose any energy. Had I been obliged to eat these meals in an SHTF situation, I could do what I had to do without being dragged down.

But I did learn that I'll need a way to boil water, which is also prudent to have as a low-tech water decontaminater.

So far, so good! Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!


Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8

Sort:  

I've got a packet of Mountain House "Chicken and Rice", and a packet of Backpacker's Pantry "Mashed Potatoes & Gravy with Beef" to test out. These run 400-500 calories per package.

Are you only running on 1000 calories a day? I don't know your age or height(ed), but you'll need about 2200 calories a day (https://www.lifespanfitness.com/fitness/resources/calories-calculator) to be functional over time.

Watch out for dehydration, weakness, dizziness, and muscle loss.

Don't feel bad about bailing on this test if necessary.

Good Luck!

Watch out for dehydration, weakness, dizziness, and muscle loss.

Thanks for the heads-up, and for the resteem. I don't think I'm risking muscle loss, given that I'm fat, but if I lose weight that's not a good sign.

a couple of things off the top of my head...i.e, may be wrong. best to verify these ;>

  • calories are burned off muscle before fat in situation where they arent being used; IF you are exercising, tho, you are burning more calories
  • you will start losing weight (260 lbs) if you take in less than 3000 calories/day

A couple of days on a "starvation" diet isnt going to hurt you regardless, but BE CAREFUL!

I will; thanks again.

Also, if you were planning to use them as a longer term source, you could always supplement with ratio bars to increase caloric intake. Barring a nuclear disaster or zombies outside your door, you could also forage. There are edible plants around even in winter.

That's a really good idea. It does look like the calorie count is well below the daily requirement, which means that anyone who relies on it for emergency food had better store a source of "calorie food" to go along with it. Rice beans, flour, basic pasta or likewise.

I read somewhere that potatoes yield the most calories per acre. If the land's there to spare, a potato patch will do.

I am glade to hear 👂 that the food tastes good like the real thing. My next backpacking trip I will have to get some of those. I’m glad the first day went good for you and you didn’t lose energy.👍👏👏👏🎉🎊

That might well work. They're light and designed as wilderness food. But, you will need a pot to boil water & firestarter unless you stick to the breakfast packs.

REI sell backpacking stoves, pots and plates. I just did like any of the packaged food they tasted a little off.👍😁keep up the good work.

Wow thanks for being a great test subject for this stuff ! it actually doesnt look to bad and is great to know you can survive on it ! thanks for sharing your information with us all , im thinking of getting a survival kit together especially once I move out in the country ! Upped and resteemed !👍✌💕😀

what's the total number of calories in the two packets? the diverse threesomes on the packet sure seem to love it!
perhaps off grid water boiling should be integrated into the challenge, make it more realistic, for way off the grid a rocket stove is the way to go but a camping stove and a couple of canisters should last most of the month boiling 2 cups of water a day.

perhaps off grid water boiling should be integrated into the challenge

That's a good idea, but I'll punt on it until the next time 'round. :)

could you prepare the meals with cold water and just have it cold?

I haven't tried. I did try this once with bagged beans - soaking them in cold water for a week instead of cooking them - but that experiment didn't work out well.

unless you like bean sprouts! I've eaten cold spaghetti-O type things in the past and obviously it is not as good but in a survival situation...

...You'll eat edibles that taste like cardboard. ;)

You eat healthy food. It shows from your post. Good food equals better brains

I hope so!

Day one doesn't sound to bad. hope it continues through the month :)

So do I.

And even if I do lose a significant amount of weight, at least I know to store caloric food alongside.

Your testing it the way it should be tested, does it say add bars? You will have a better idea what's needed when you have finished :)

Well done for crossing the finish line on Day 1. I'm curious what my wife could say about the food... might share her opinion next days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56776.60
ETH 2424.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37