The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 3 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As detailed yesterday, this diet has turned into a weight-loss diet too.

Day 3 has been a lot like the two previous. Once again, the packets tasted like real food. Despite the restricted calories, there were no symptoms or indications of health concerns. Again, I was peppy; I had enough energy to do what I had to during the day. It's possible that my pep has been caused by an adrenaline jag.

Today's Meals

As with Day 1, a packet of granola with blueberries.

Unlike the other, this packet reconstituted with cold water. No boiling or heating needed.

Despite its messy look, it did the trick taste-wise.

Dinner was chicken teriyaki with rice:

One interesting facet of the dinner packets is that they're prepared in the same way, with two cups of boiling water and the same procedure. That could come in handy if someone's tired at the end of the day and has to fall back on routine.

After sitting and cooling, the dinner had liquid thick enough to be a sauce:

which is what you're supposed to get for teriyaki. It tasted just like the real thing.

Effects, So Far:

It's Day 3, and my energy level is still a bit higher than before I started. As broached above, this could be my excitement jacking up my adrenaline level. So or not so, I'll find out soon: adrenaline jags last three days at most.

No symptoms, no malaises, only normal hunger. I had to do some physical work today and the work was not a drain.

Curiously, my pep defies common sense; given the calorie deficit, I should be on the sluggish side. My weight, though, has not bucked it:

If you're keeping track, I have lost a few pounds since I started.

Conclusion For Day 3

No hard-learned lessons for today, only a mystery. According to the calorie counts, I'm on a fairly strict weight-loss regimen. The drops in my weight confirm it. And yet, my pep is still there: no sign of sluggishness or even unusual tiredness. I even managed to hum along despite a spell of insomnia last night. Moreover, my health is as okay as it was when I was eating fully.

Right now, the best answer to this conundrum I have is that it's due to pumped-up adrenaline from excitement about this experiment. If this is the case, I'll find out tomorrow; adrenaline jags last at most three days.

Still doing unusually well. Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!


Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9

Sort:  

Very interesting journey you are on!
Thanks for sharing & Steem On :)

Thanks! I just finished the latest installment. :)

The pep could also come from some weight loss. I have heard people who loss weight gained energy. It was almost like a switch off. Anyway’s I am glad to hear you are still doing good. Keep up the good work.👍👏👏👏👏

Glad to hear from you again!

The pep could also come from some weight loss. I have heard people who loss weight gained energy

It could be; could be....though I'm kind-of lost as to why.

Well just keep going and I think 💭 the answer to this mystery will reveal it self.

Are you a prepper yourself or this was just a challenge you wanted to do? I have never tried such food ( that lasts extremely long in case of a disaster ) but I've seen many people on TV do lots of prepping.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Are you a prepper yourself or this was just a challenge you wanted to do?

I guess you can call me a semi-prepper. I've read some prepper stuff, but I never went beyond storing regular store-bought food.

So, this is a challenge I wanted to do. Who knows: i might make the leap to full prepper, or homesteader.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thanks yourself! I don't know if this is a first in the prepper world, but if it is I'm very glad to add to the lsit of Steemit firsts.

I think you are between the first XD I mean, I haven't seen any prepper posts before ... maybe there are some who knows.

Thanks for the review! We've been considering putting some freeze-dried food away in storage, just in case! I'll be following to see how this chalelnge turns out!

Thanks! One advantage of these packets is that they supply variety. I mention this because I've also stored away ~100 lbs. of flour, four cases of pasta sauce, close to 50 spaghetti packs, two cases of cooked beans, about a case of canned veggies, and a lot of coffee. If I had the room, I'd prolly pack away ~100 lbs of rice. :)

The trouble with my packratted food stores is that they supply only a very basic diet.

So far so good by the looks of things , glad to hear its going good for you @nxtblg ! I hope your eating more then just these two little packets per day , if not as long as your health is still good then your doing great ! keep it up !upped and resteemed 💕✌👍😀

Nice - a food challenge. I did one back in October, not for preppers but for cheapness, I had to eat for less than $29 per week.

Looking forward to how you think of it all at the end.

Keep Going your doing great :)

There's no caffeine is the ingredients, by chance, is there? ;-)

If there is, it wouldn't do me any good: I'm already a coffee junkie. :)

But now that you mention it, I have seen supplement companies who claim that their offerings "boost energy" - only to find that they added caffeine. So you asked a good question.

Good job keep going

Very nice post, i like read it.
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for reading it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42