Salute your Health | A bit of History and the Art of Food Fermentation

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0540.JPG

My daughter @mountainjewel is visiting this week and today she shared one of the oldest forms of food preservation with me.

Fermentation


She and her partner Ini have a lovely homestead which produces a bounty of fruit and vegetables each year. Canning, freezing and drying are several methods they use to preserve their vegetables, but fermenting is one of their favorite methods! Pickles, carrots, sauerkraut, turnips and beets, just to name a few are often found fermenting with saltwater brine in beautiful glass jars. Quite a lovely sight I must say!


Not only do they ferment for preservation purposes, they use fermentation because it is healthy!


But first… A little bit of history!


Vegetable fermentation dates back to 6000 BC in the area of land which stretched from Upper Egypt down to the southeastern area of the Mediterranean Sea. Russia, Poland, Latvia, India and Africa all claim fermented foods as part of their countries heritage. Due to unclean waters and uncleanliness in general, fermenting was the only method to keep food packed with healthy bacteria while preventing unhealthy pathogens. Fermenting enabled our ancestors to preserve their food as well as maintain healthy food sources throughout the cold winter months.

How is it healthy?


Fermented food is healthy partially because it is packed with Vitamin C! Not only do you reap the nutritional benefit from the vegetable itself, the nutrition is more bioavailable and more digestible. Great for our gut health!


One early story detailing the healthy benefits of vegetable fermentation began with a sea captain by the name of Captain Cook! Sailing the seas in 1700’s was a dangerous business, often navigating violent storms and seas. Many times sailors were injured or became ill during passage. Fermented cabbage was used by ships doctors as a poultice for injuries to promote healing. Lack of Vitamin C often caused scurvy among the sailors. Cook found fermented vegetables particularly Sauerkraut, was a great remedy! Why? Because fermented vegetables contain high levels of Vitamin C, in fact the fermentation process actually increases the levels of Vitamin C! Not only was Cook able to provide well preserved tasty food for his sailors, it was healthy too! The cabbage contained high levels of Vitamin C! Sailors who sailed with Captain Cook never had scurvy!


Captain Cook was a pretty smart guy, right?


captain james cook pixabay.jpg

Pic thanks to Pixabay

How does the vegetable ferment?


Fermentation begins with a microbe; a bacteria called lacto-bacillus naturally found on the skin of most vegetables. Pairing the vegetable with salt and water and depriving it of oxygen will cause the sugars in the vegetable to convert to lactic acid. This lactic acid acts as a preservative! Not only that, these same bacteria produces vitamins and enzymes which help make the vegetable more easily digestible. As I said, great for gut health! What an amazing probiotic you can makeyourself! [] (https://www.siberiancedarland.com/wild-fermented-sauerkraut/)

Meanwhile, back at the Bird’s nest…


We’re making Sauerkraut! Sauerkraut is one of my favorite fermented foods. It is so simple to make and quick to ferment! All you need is Fresh cabbage, Sea Salt and your favorite herbs! Amazing right? (One 2 ½ lb. head of cabbage will make about 2 pints of sauerkraut for about $2 USD.)
DSC_0043 (2).jpg

Wash and chop…


your head of cabbage. Slice into bite size pieces; fine or coarse, it’s up to you!
DSC_0046 (2).jpg

Layer and sprinkle…


the cabbage and salt using your favorite bowl. Massage the cabbage! *I’ll tell you, this old Bird worked on those forearm muscles massaging that cabbage! *It was fun, my daughter and I were chirping up a storm in the kitchen, such fun!> Back to massaging... pretty soon you will see a bit of moisture being released in the bottom of your bowl.
DSC_0048 (2).jpg

So simple…


and beautiful! I was amazed at the amount of water this cabbage produced! Feel free to add any favorite spices to your massaged cabbage. We added dill and mustard seed in the first bowl and celery seed in the second bowl!
DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Whole Peppercorns…


were first sprinkled Into the bottom of two sterilized jars. When the massaging was done, I used a wooden spoon I filled the jars with the cabbage and topped with the brine in the bowl. Firmly press the kraut into the jar until the brine covers the cabbage. My daughter said we must have the cabbage submerged in the brine to prevent mold.
DSC_0066 (2).jpg

Wipe the jars...


and cover with cheesecloth. You want to prevent any airborne bacteria entering your jars. Date and label and set in a cool dark area. No sunlight! Depending on the temperature, time of year and type of vegetables used, your sauerkraut will be done within 14 days. Feel free to taste it using a wooden utensil and cover if it isn’t tart enough for your taste. When you’re happy with the taste, refrigerate to stop the fermentation.
DSC_0073 (2).jpg

One thing to remember, if you want to achieve maximum probiotic efficiency with your sauerkraut, you must ferment for a minimum of 4 days!

We live in a warm environment and as a result our Sauerkraut was fermented in about 6 days! What a treat! I’m so thankful my daughter shared this valuable preservation method with me! Do you have a favorite vegetable? I hope you’ll try fermenting it! There are so many wonderful resources available check them out!

Thanks for stopping by!
And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

I have started fermenting the cabbage last winter and I loved it. I haven't used any spices but cumin as this is the traditional way of making sauerkraut in my home country and to be honest this is the only taste that I really enjoy. But it is very personal of course :)

Just one tip. I have noticed that you had a ring on while massaging. I see that your cabbage fermented nicely but this could be a potential risk as the cabbage is very sensitive to any bacteria while fermenting and rings are full of different bacteria :) not judging - really just a tip :)

Have a lovely day and enjoy your sauerkraut!

I haven't tried cumin, perhaps the next batch! Love the smell of it. Ah yes, my daughter did have her ring on...good call, you are correct! I was the cabbage massage master, I was taking a pic for the post so she stood in! You are correct, don't need any additional bacteria in there!!! Thanks @delishtreats love that you are using fermented foods, they're so good for us! :)

Hmmm... might give this a go! We got lots of cabbage in our weekly local produced vegetable box. I've been cooking them with apple, butter and honey... which the girls love... but there is only so much cabbage you can eat in a week!

Yay! I hope you'll try this, it's so easy to make and so good for you! Your little ones would enjoy it :) Some add apples to the kraut to give a little sweet to the sour! Cabbage does go a long way, I was amazed 1 cabbage made only 2 pints!

Yes, I often add apples and sultanas! Or if I'm pan frying the cabbage in lots of butter, I will also add some honey (or date syrup!) with the apples.

I love fermenting although I haven't done any recently. This post has me wanting some of that cabbage. Guess I should be doing some soon.

I know, just making the sauerkraut makes me want some :) Fermented foods are so good for us, I think that is why picures alone tempt us, lol I hope you'll make some, I would love to hear about your favorite recipe @shadowspub!

This post is so stellar and we had so much fun making this!! I am SO happy to do this with you - let's make more tomorrow? K ;) love you!

You are a rock star @mountainjewel! So glad we could do this together. Now I just have to get bigger jars and proper lids....then watch out! Kimchi is next on the list! ;) We're had so much fun, truly blessed to have you here oxoxo love you!

I've been wanting to do this for a long while, did not realise just how easy it is, interesting little bit of history there too, lovely post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, yes, it's so easy! (The hardest part is massaging the cabbage, lol) During your summer months you'll have a batch ready in about a 1 week! Isn't that crazy? Thanks my friend, appreciate your sweet words :)

Thank you for sharing this here mrs Bird!

This is so amazing. I was just thinking i wanted to make my own sauerkraut. I can’t find cheese clothes here, is there another way I can jar the goods? The climate here is so hot and humid I image it’ll only take about 6 hours to ferment. Haha. Thank you so much for sharing this @birdsinparadise. You make it look like a cinch :)

You have to make this @puravidaville! This will be awesome for your gut health!!!!! There are so many different veggies to try! Just remember to add a little more salt due to your hot climate. It will ferment faster, you want to ferment for at least 7 days to get the full probiotic effect however, don't go too long otherwise, yuck! I hope you'll try, I know you have access to amazing veggies where you are...or do you now that you're in Panama? How is it? Pics soon?

Our veggies are actually all the same. We have zucchini, potatoes, maybe broccoli and cauliflower on a good day (if you want fresh), spinach (but it’s different), onion, red peppers, avocado, carrots, not a lot of leafy greens… yes, cabbage, purple and green but mostly purple… way less than I would have thought before being here. I had much more access in California- we literally had everything. Can I still ferment if I don’t have a cheese cloth? What can I use instead, a paper towel? Thanks for holding my hand @birdsinparadise.

We will be in Panama in a few days! I’ll post some pics today and more to come shortly. 😉. You are the best :)

I like fermentation mainly because of the ethyl alcohol produced. Major props to those early Monks...

(Yes, I'm quite a lush at times.)

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

lol, good to know! I haven't fermented too many grapes, although Mr. Bird is toying with the idea! I"ll be sure to share when we do! Blessings to you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf Natural Medicine.

I've been reminded to make sure I look after my gut health as it can really affect mental health - seems there's more than one sign going on as this post also is a reminder to get more fermented foods on the go!


NM GEN 2.jpg

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

Thank you so much @naturalmedicine and @riverflows! So glad you stopped in. Yes, gut health is sooooo important for both mind and body. I personally know what can happen when the gut is not healthy, it rocks your world, throws you totally off balance and can definitely lead to depression and anxiety! Good to know you are taking care of yourself @riverflows! Blessings and be well! :)

Love it! I need to do some more sauerkraut since we finished up the latest batch last week. I even got some new fermenting lids to play with, so I really need to use them more! The radishes are looking great so far in the garden. I really want to try fermenting some of them to see how they come out!

I am so anxious to try different vegetables Katie. My daughter ferments so many different veggies, and I love the taste. She says fermented radishes are amazing, so let me know what you think when you try it! I need to get larger jars and special fermenting lids. Off to the market today! :) Thanks!

Ooh, glad to know she's tried the radishes! I'll keep you posted once I try them! Happy Friday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47