Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 > Week 14 > Roll!

in #poetrydice7 years ago

pdc3k_week14_robyneggs_800.jpg

We are gonna spice it up this week by offering a twist on the traditional 9 images. And no, I haven't found the missing die yet. I am including the Mary Jane die as the 9th image (still optional) until I find the missing die...(see below)

My heart goes out to all in need right now

As natural disasters strike the nation, people are left naked in the god-like forces of nature. Anyone affected has my thoughts and prayers to comfort them. Alas, this is all I can provide, as I am also experiencing a hardship. I wish you all love and light! XO May you find shelter and food and water. May you have a warm place to sleep tonight. May the world give respite to those who can go no longer. You are in my heart and mind. Prayers.



Prizes

Prizes have increased this week. I am donating additional steem-based dollars (SBD) for natural disaster awareness.
Please be aware that nature can take your life at any moment, and will, in the end. Be aware that just the simple gesture of offering a helping hand can change a person's life for the better. Helping hands are needed more than ever right now. Please, reach out and make a move if you feel like helping those in need. (The donate pages are everywhere on Facebook, darling).

3rd Place - 3 STEEM + 1 SBD

2nd Place - 5 STEEM + 2 SBD

1rst Place - 7 STEEM + 3 SBD


Rules

  1. Create a poem using the images on the dice (above).
  2. All images on the dice must be referenced at least once, each, in the poem. [Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and will not count against you.] The 9th Mary Jane die is optional.
  3. Post your poem using “poetrydice,” as your first tag.
  4. Label your entry clearly. Include "Poetry Dice Entry:" in your title, so I know it's official.
  5. Drop a link to your post in the comments section (below).
  6. The 9th (Mary Jane) die is optional. If you do chose to use this image in your poem - follow this rule: Reference M.J. in your poem the corresponding number of times as leaves on the die. The single sun image on the golden M.J. die represents a single reference.

Deadline to enter contest is next Saturday at Midnight PST (UTC-7)

Winners will be announced weekly


Sample Poem

Poetry Dice Entry: Key to the Magic Stick

The key
Is a master
Of it's own household
If only I could change the lock
The secrets, they jump from my grasp
City buildings lined up in the cold
If only I could command them
I'd find simplicity

The scales
Of time are turning
As the music plays out of the box
Left to right, the totem passes
The merry jay burning
If only I had the answer to the knocks
I would smoke the city down to pieces
Until all that's left are the tales

by @robyneggs
October 8th, 2017


Judging

The current judges this week are @rensoul17 and @robyneggs. We are welcoming guest judges, if you would like to join us in this arena. Judges forfeit winning the challenge, but are encouraged to submit their own poetic entries. Two or three heads are better than one, so if you would like an opinion too, please let either @robyneggs or @rensoul17 know so we can all chat up which poems we like best for the week and why. Leave a comment below, or message steemit.chat/direct/@robyneggs. We prefer to converse over Facebook messenger. Add me here if you like: https://www.facebook.com/RobyneggsArt

*Disclaimer: The winners are based on the entries which the judges think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, we will not say that. Instead, we seek to offer you our encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet. Our opinion takes into consideration many things that can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

***Please only use the “poetrydice” tag for official entries to the contest! 👮🏿‍

I will be flagging any user who intentionally misuses this tag. This tag is how I locate entries to the contest. Your cooperation is much appreciated. Thank you. Flagging a post can remove rewards and make this material less visible. Some common reasons to flag:

  • Disagreement on rewards
  • Fraud or Plagiarism
  • Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
  • Intentional miscategorized content or Spam

OPTION 2 - The TWIST

pdc3K-week14-crazy_robyneggs_800.jpg

Rules

  1. Create a poem using the images on the dice (above).
  2. All images on the dice must be referenced at least once, each, in the poem. [Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and will not count against you.] The "Mary Jane" die is optional.
  3. Post your poem using “poetrydice,” as your first tag.
  4. Label your entry clearly. Include "Poetry Dice Entry:" in your title, so I know it's official.
  5. Drop a link to your post in the comments section (below).
  6. The 9th (Mary Jane) die is optional. If you do chose to use this image in your poem - follow this rule: Reference M.J. in your poem the corresponding number of times as leaves on the die. The single sun image on the golden M.J. die represents a single reference.

TWIST - Use all the images you can see, not just 8 or 9 of them!!!

It's wide open this week :-) I encourage you to make a hefty journey into your own fantasy land this week!!

BONUS points if you theme your poem "On All Hallows Eve"!!!



PDC3K Week 13 Winners
PDC3K Week 13 Roll
PDC3K Week 12 Winners
PDC3K Week 12 Roll
PDC3K Week 11 Winners
PDC3K Week 11 Roll

thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Note:

Please refrain from using upvote or resteem bots of any kind on this post. It detracts from the value of this block by fostering disengagement. I do not wish to see the comments filled with advertising spam and demands. I desire to locate and engage the entrants of this challenge without clogging up the line. Thank you for your consideration.

Sort:  

Oh so fun how you love to play @robyneggs!

Stopping by to give you a head's up on ArtAtSteemfest!!! I hope you'll jump on this opportunity as a host of a Steemit Art Initiative!

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@everlove/call-for-art-for-steemfest2-exhibition-open-to-individuals-and-steemit-art-initiatives

Again, A wonderful roll of the dices!
From the moment I saw them I wanted to create!
Here is the link to my entry!

https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@poeticsnake/poetry-dice-entry-on-all-hallows-eve-original-poetry-by-poeticsnake

Good luck to all who shall enter or already entered!

Thanks for participating this week.

Here's my entryhttps://steemit.com/poetrydice/@ajremy/prophecy-of-doom-my-poetry-dice-challenge-entry

It's my first time participating. Please leave a comment.

I sure did! Great poem. And thanks for playing

Here is my entry.

You are the sun and I am like an open book to you
You are the house, the key
You found the lock and just knew what to do
Merry Jay, you set me free
I feel like a queen in a skyscraper, in a beautiful suite
I feel like the mix tape of my life is so very sweet
I feel like justice is love
I see the world from above
from the comfort of a parashoot
in your arms
pointing at the place we met

This is great! :-)
btw you have a chance to pick your best entry to the PDC3K and submit it for SteemFest2! Check out my blog for the post!

Hi @robyneggs, I tried making an entry earlier before I get busy for the week.. hihi ^^ Thanks a lot.. :)

https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@tegoshei/lost-identity-entry-for-pdc3k-week-14-by-robyneggs

Thanks for joining us! :-)

You're welcome. (^^,)/ and thanks for having me.. ^^

Exciting and challenging contest. Good luck to the participants. :)

Great dice roll this week. I'll be back by Saturday with something...

sometimes, you might not know it, but you can be the one and only hope for someone else. And hope is all you need when it gets hard.
awesome challenge as always, even though I haven't joined for a while.

Kind words are always welcome :-) TY XO

:D I love this !!

Hi @robyneggs and @rensoul17. Here's my entry for the week. Would love to have a go at the twist but just not going to have time this week :( https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@g-force1980/an-unwelcome-visit-poetry-dice-contest-3000-wk14-20171011t233150695z

Thanks for entering this week! I'd like you to pick your top entry to the PDC3K and submit it to me for SteemFest2, if you choose. :-)

How do you want it sent? As a link on here?

I made a post on my blog to post it to please. Otherwise right here is fine. Ill find it! Xoxoxoxo YAY!!! So glad you are contributing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69