Poetry Dice > Challenge 3000 > Week 12 Roll!

in #poetrydice7 years ago

pdc3k_week12_re.jpg

Whether you are taking a break from your own flow, or you desperately need pushed over the writer's block edge...this poetry challenge is for you. All of us coming together and sharing our versions of how the dice speak to us, is what makes this weekly challenge so great. I hope the roll of the dice will continue to be an inspiration for you and the ones close to you. Cheers! And thanks for all you do to make this contest great! 😀

Rules

  1. Create a poem using the 9 images on the dice (above).
  2. All 9 images on the dice must be referenced at least once, each, in the poem. [Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and will not count against you.]
  3. Make a post from your poem and use “poetrydice,” as your first tag.
  4. Label your entry clearly. Include "Poetry Dice Entry: Sample" in the title.
  5. Drop a link to your post in the comments section (below).

Deadline

Enter the contest by Saturday at Midnight PST (UTC-7).
Winners will be announced weekly, on Sunday.

**Please only use the “poetrydice” tag for official entries to the contest! 👮🏿‍

I will be flagging any user who intentionally misuses this tag.


Special thanks to co-host @rensoul17

Ren is coming on board to help promote the contest and judge entrants. Ren's detailed and helpful reviews are a valuable contribution to the PDC3K. Still, three heads are better than 2, and if you would like to co-judge one week, please let me or Ren know and we would be glad to have your review on board. All contributions are welcome. Thank you, again Ren, for all the wonderful things you are doing to benefit the PDC3K! 😍


Sample Poem

"Poetry Dice Entry: The Hand That Waves, Craves"

A hand
A bridge, an arrow
A direction points, in the sand...

The crass star
Glances back
At the Pyramid of Giza bar...

Wherever shall I go?
Wherever is the light?
Where, oh where, do the sheep go to blow?

The crass star
Looks back
But, like lightning, I'm already in the car...
by @robyneggs


*Disclaimer: The winners are based on the entries that I (we) think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, I will not say that. Instead, I (we) seek to offer you encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet. Please take into consideration many things that can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

"One Human Basket"

This is my curation pledge to the poetry community and beyond: I will use my upvote power to give back by giving my 100% real person vote to anyone using the "onehumanbasket" tag on their posts. As far as my voting priority goes: 1) poetrydice 2) onehumanbasket 3) whatever else.
Cheers~!

thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Sort:  

image

Since my entry is already nullified by my tag being wrong, I'll save you the time, and post here my song, it's short and sweet. Up vote someone else who knows how to tag there work properly😞

I like the flow of this @bleedpost and its simplicity <3

I really like it :) We all mis-tag sometimes!

Awwww...you totally get credit because you caught it and posted about it here - how about that? no sad faces here please....sad panda, lol

🐼😄 Very kind of you.

@bleedpoet, I like the poem, it has a Shakespeare feel to it. Very precise and to the point. The last line was my favorite..."Hand delivered"

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed my humble offering.

whoop whoop! that just means you ha more time to think on it! :-)

BLUSH
Or that I procrastinated...

Taking the 'powers that be' to task and stripping down the empire so treacherously built. Well done @breezin

:D
Now the feedback is twice as nice!

Loving these dice right now!!!

@clayboyn, Well, my, my, my. I would say ...99 (blew my mind) Shades of Intimacy. Most def did you turn up the heat. I love it. Thank you for expressing the art of showing us beautifully and not telling. I felt like the stranger for which you left the door unlocked and allowed me to come in and stand in the shadows of your rooms, yes I did say rooms, and watch everything unfold. This piece not only allowed me to see but it allowed me to feel the heat and burst with emotion as I too felt the intense moments and the tender moments . I also loved how you built the story, first you searched for her and could not find her and it seems she skillfully alluded you. And then suddenly there she was. So I as the reader went from the chase and her being far away somewhere to the end of the story where she quit running and there is total surrender. And too I saw a longing that had grown for her which can be seen by the slow and meticulous way he responds during the intimacy. To him she is a great mystery, yet very precious.
My favorite line..."running fingers through your hair soft and deep..."

That second to last line there really gave it a slight bdsm feel :D

DOIT! Thanks for entering again this week! I look forward to reading your entry as always :-) XO Cheers~! Thanks for all the love and support in the PDC3K @clayboyn

Hey thanks for entering the contest again this week!! :-) I enjoy reading your entries :-) ;-)

This ia a modern take on the Egyptian journey of the dark night of the soul into the abyss of the ancient Duat if I ever saw one. Interesting indeed, @thedickpiccritic.

This ia a modern take on the Egyptian journey of the dark night of the soul into the abyss of the ancient Duat if I ever saw one. Interesting indeed, @thedickpiccritic.

Heartfelt, raw realness. Sometimes when it comes to pain, that is unshakeable and overbearing, during these dark hopeless, lonely times, there are no answers. This went beyond, writing a poem, or just a story, I received it as the expressions from deep inside of heart spirit and mind. Thank You @japhofin80r for lifting your voice in this way.

ooh...can't wait to read it!! :-)

Heartfelt, raw realness. Sometimes when it comes to pain, that is unshakeable and overbearing, during these dark hopeless, lonely times, there are no answers. This went beyond, writing a poem, or just a story, I received it as the expressions from deep inside of heart spirit and mind. Thank You @japhofin80r for lifting your voice in this way.

I had a rough time with this week's throw but in the end was able to squeeze all nine dice into 4 lines. I hope you guys enjoy it!
Love Writ In Stone

EPIC, once again! :-) you put a lot into a little ;-) :D

Masterpiece....I could not tell that you struggled yet, some of our greatest work is done through struggle. This one can be likened to the high pressurized journey that a diamond and a pearl go through to reach its fruition because your poem is indeed a precious jewel.

Here's my entry @robyneggs: https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@krizia/the-heroine-a-poetry-dice-entry
It's not as awesome as @clayboyn's entry though! I really loved his work.

If there is ever a time to be unafraid is, it is during the time of chaos , which is much easier said than done. Thank you for your insightful entry @krizia.

This post has received a 15.22 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @clayboyn. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

JUICE! upvote bots are cheezy but i love u anywayz...

The memories we shared with our loved ones that have made their transition are sometimes bittersweet. Yet they are still alive and apart of us and as real as the noon day sun. It was not a dream and all our relations come into our lives to help us become who we are. We only linger a moment in time, growing and becoming who we shall be and who that is includes the essence of those that have left an imprint in our mind hearts and our very being. I love this ode of missing you. So wonderfully soothing to my spirit. @g-force1980.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31