[POEM] - Poetry Dice W6 Entry: Ol' Theodore's Crime | Original Steemit Poetry

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

This is my official entry to the 6th Week of
the Poetry Dice Challenge.

Thanks for user @robyneggs for hosting this great competition.
It's a great creative outlet, and gets many people involved.

And now, onto the poetry, please!



Source Image


Sep002.jpg

Ol' Theodore's Crime

You could say I've been solvin' mysteries for a really long time,
one in particular you may 'ave heard, is Ol' Theodore's Crime.

I've been counting the days, and collecting the sparse clues,
but Ol' Theodore is a ruthless man, and holds nobodies views.

He left no evidence, mans' as slippery as a fish out of water,
'n the whole town knows, he's the one with an arrow who got 'er.

The body, disposed of in the sculpture park down by the fountain,
and during mid-day too, it's insane there's no proof has been mountin'.

He left us nothing to catch his ass, not even a lousy ol' footprint,
and knowing that damned Ol' Theodore, he'd even throw in a hint.

You can spend ages trying to best him, but he's cunning and frightening,
to see his next move you'd need a flashlight powered by lightning.

I'm still waitin' for that letter in the mail sayin', "We've got proof!",
but jus' as Ol' Theodore planned, the evidence of his presence is aloof.

The moral of the story is you can't mess with Ol' Theodore,
against this man you won't win a battle, nor any hard-fought war.

Sep002-2.jpg


Thanks for reading my entry!

Week 6's Imagery is Below


If you like poetry, why not check out some of my content for some inspiration.

Here ya go, enjoy!

Check out my previous poems!
1 - Moonlight Butterfly
2 - Dandelion Seeds
3 - Abberation
4 - Thief's Song
5 - Queen of Tranquility
6 - Ascension Over Grand Symphonic Omega
7 - Sail into the Sunset of Life's Final Conclusion
8 - Kiss Goodnight
9 - Antique Jewelry Box
10 - Offering to the Seas
11 - Mary-Jane's Trees Shade my Day
12 - Darkness Allure
13 - Groggy Morning
14 - Magical Rite
15 - Hero's Cape
16 - Flavours of Pain
17 - My Liquid Half
18 - Starlight Night

SteemitOceanNamed11.jpg
JoinPALnet.gif
upvotresteemfollow.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for entering this week's contest - I actuall like this one the best so far. Honestly though your upvote bots are distracting as hell - - don't you find them distracting as hell as a reader? Almost enough to make me not read your post...doesn't anyone else feel this way?

Yes, sorry! I know they can be distracting @robyneggs >_<

It's the easiest way for post exposure for a minnow, though.

Please forgive my upvoting sins. <3

How greedy can one person be? 8.2 into the @bellyrub bids? Thx for ruining for EVERYONE else.

I was merely attempting to control majority of the vote @flauwy.

It is a BIDDING system, and my intention was to bid for over 50% of the vote
to help promote my post.

The very last @bellyrub vote I myself participated in I seen someone else
do the very same thing. They bid $7.00 to everyone else's $1.00.

Also, I didn't ruin it for everyone. You still came out ahead.
Your post was at $4.50 and came out at $7.07.
$2.57 Increase for your $2.00 bid.

My $8.20 bid got me a $10.80 increase. It's simply proportionally greater,
due to me getting a big chunk of the percentage.

Don't forget the 25% curation reward that will be substracted for that. So my 2.57 are a profit of .07 which I consider a loss. That is the same percentage for everyone.

But you are right, it is still a good way to promote a post. I apologize for the tone, I just got super frustrated. I had hoped to make at least $1 with this.

I hear ya.

I knew going in making something off the post net-wise was unlikely.
I'll get $3.60 back for my $8.20 in so far.

I think, personally, in the long run it's not about how much profit
you stand to gain directly from the upvote, but rather, as a result
of the upvote bringing eyes to the post.

I didn't mean to rustle anyone's feathers.

I liked your post and resteemed it. I hope it does well.

Cheers @flauwy. :) Cool avatar!

Thx, now I feel embarresed for my rant. ;)

Anyhow, you are right, it might be a good idea to gain more followers.


You seem to be knowledgable about these bots and few people usually are. I wrote an article about booster the other day. MAybe you want to check it out and add some thoughts to it. I don't think I covered all the little details although I tried to be in-depth.

P.S. You need an avatar!

And I did the same often enough with @booster, so no hard feelings. It just happened that I changed my strategy to be more community friendly. But that doesn't work at all. ;)

This post has received a 41.50 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @hypexals-spiral.

Flashlight powering lightning. You bugger that's genius!! I LOVED this poem. I love stories so much. I didn't enter this comp because I didn't feel confident to do the dice but this has inspired me to try the next one!

Thanks so much, I myself favour that line.

<3

@girlwithoutwings please do enter the next one, or hey,
enter my contest and share your work with me.

poetry is for everyone.

Cool yes - think I'm following you now :)

Hoping you join us next week for the new PDC3K roll! :-)

Hopefully. If no, it's only cos I'm off to live in a tent for a few days :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71