Moonlight Butterfly - Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Girlfriend said to me, "Why don't you write a poem?"

So I said, "Give me 7 seed words to write the poem around."

We came up with these 7 words / things and I spent some time
writing a poem around it.

I hope you enjoy. Cheers!

SEEDS:

butterfly, crescent moon, snow peak, stones, running, poison, clock


A crescent moon rises amidst a dark sky,
and in the flower garden dances a butterfly.
The song of the night plays ever-loud,
echoing back from gloomy grey clouds.

The shrine in the forest beckons its light,
made of carved stones it shines in the night.
Place on its pedestal the offering of your flock,
reach the mountain snow peak on a nightmare clock.

A spell, a trick, a brew, and mix a deadly poison
pounding in my ears is a scary noise and
with it pours the salt on the open wound
while I'm running from the Devil's tune.

When the song of the night quiets down
and the life of the town starts to stir around.
Know that the butterfly dances on the wind,
of the crescent moon's songs tempting Sin.


Sort:  

good job i really like what you write . looking for more ! all best !

Thank you, I'll make more.

The imagery in this poem is really vivid - I just love every bit of it :)

Thank you. I will write some more.

Keep up the poem play!
This world needs more poets

I will make more poems. Thanks for reading!

I like it! I think you forgot the word "running" unless it is ommitted on purpose like the stone the builders refused...

Corrected it. Fleeing = Running, my bad. Ahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75