SteemitPublication Poetry topics #6

in #poetry7 years ago


fyne

By: @honeybee

female-1838149_640.jpg
so what if i smoke a little more than i should.
so what if i drink a bottle of prosecco and sing a little louder than i should.
so what if i jump around at 4am and be a little more disturbing than i should.
so what if i read a novel instead of these texts that i'm supposed to.
so what if i walk around without shoes and step on a little more dirt than i should.
so what if i stare at strangers and act a little more capricious than i should.
so what if i laugh and make fun of myself a little more than others would.
so what if i compliment a little more, complain a little less,
cry on my own, kick around, run around, poke around,
in circles, without a plan, a little out of control,
and popping it here and there, than i really, really should.
so what if i'm silent, detached, living in the clouds.
so what if i'm obnoxious, touchy-feely, demanding and pounding.
so what if i disappear, then reappear when you need me,
when you can't see a way out, can't find an answer.
let the answers drift. let the questions flow.
let your tears tell you what you really want.
let your smiles tell you you're blessed.
let your fears urge you to try.
let your miles prove them wrong.

so what if i put things off only to find that when i come back to them,
i have a renewed sense of purpose and a pair of rainbow goggles.
walk away your doubts, cast away that wilson.
let them be free.
let them have space to roam and wander.
let them run into walls and fall on the ground.
let them, simply let them go.

you held my gaze upon that first entrance.
you are in my every breath, every step i turn.
you are in my heart.
and you know this.

i care. i want to care.
i want to give more cares and fucks.
this body we occupy, this mind that comes alive,
are you conscious of your being?
are you conscious of the energies around you?
are you conscious of how transient our passing on this face of earth,
and scrumptious that scone is?
do you have attention deficit disorder?
good.
provoke them.

these structures draw our contours, and yours is looking fine.
i want to kiss your lips, blow a smoke ring to encapsulate your figure.
hop through it, you are fine.


Afternoon Daze - Poetry Dice Challenge Entry

By: @mrslauren

PDC3K_week4_robyneggs.jpg

mjdice_week4_re.jpg

Steem-_Line-3-1.png


Here is my entry for @robyneggs's Poetry Dice 3000 Challenge! I also did a little illustration to accommodate my poem. This contest was fun and quite challenging having to incorporate my interpretations of the symbols into the poem as well as keep the rhyme and rhythm up. If you're interested in entering, you can find the post with the rules here.

Afternoon Daze

dank poem.png


Alice in Steemitland

By: @opheliafu

My year-in-review

alicetitle.jpg

Lost in Alice

Today, I've chosen some of my favourite Alice in Wonderland inspired posts that I've created during my past year on Steemit. Taking my inspiration from the words of Lewis Carroll my paintbrush and I fell down a wonderful rabbit hole and landed on the blockchain, this is the result...

We’re all mad here

“But I don’t want to go among mad people," Alice remarked.
"Oh, you can’t help that," said the Cat: "we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad."
"How do you know I’m mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn’t have come here.”

― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

madshoes.jpg

madshoesketch.jpg


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/we-re-all-mad-here

Step into my shoes

shoesmad.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/step-into-my-shoes



Fly borogove fly!

'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.’

-An extract from Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll , Through the Looking-Glass

flyone.png

flytwo.png

flythree.png


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/fly-borogove-fly


Have you ever seen a borogove?
Up-close in real life?
Especially a mimsy one at that!
I’ve hear they can give quite a nip
Even with their upturned beaks
They don’t travel far
They can’t fly you see
They are a bird without wings
A shaggy mop on stilts
Very strange
Ever so odd
Not an everyday sight
How do I know?
The Mad Hatter told me all about them
Over a lovely cup of tea

-by @opheliafu

borogovesmed.jpg


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/have-you-ever-seen-a-borogove


Fancy a cuppa?

'Yes, that’s it,' said the Hatter with a sigh: `it’s always tea-time, and we’ve no time to wash the things between whiles.’

Are you there Alice?

alicewatercolours.jpg

Pen and watercolour on paper

aliceslide.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/are-you-there-alice


The blue raven

The Hatter opened his eyes very wide on hearing this; but all he said was, “Why is a raven like a writing-desk?”
“Come, we shall have some fun now!” thought Alice. “I’m glad they’ve begun asking riddles. — I believe I can guess that,” she added aloud.

By Lewis Carroll, 'Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland', Chapter 7

torchone.png

torchtwo.png

torchthree.png

raven.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/the-blue-raven


I was a different person yesterday.

“I could tell you my adventures—beginning from this morning,” said Alice a little timidly; “but it’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

― Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland , Chapter 10.

alicetoday.jpg


I fell into a rabbit hole this morning, I've struggled to get out all day...

I had a drink

that made me shrink

I really felt quite strange

So I gobbled down a cake

that cause my belly to quake

and I grew, and grew beyond my normal range.

aliceflowers.jpg

aliceflowerstwo.jpg

alicestill.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/i-was-a-different-person-yesterday


@publication


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80