Have you ever seen a borogove?

in #art8 years ago

'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.’

-An extract from Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll , Through the Looking-Glass

Have you ever seen a borogove?
Up-close in real life?
Especially a mimsy one at that!
I’ve hear they can give quite a nip
Even with their upturned beaks
They don’t travel far
They can’t fly you see
They are a bird without wings
A shaggy mop on stilts
Very strange
Ever so odd
Not an everyday sight
How do I know?
The Mad Hatter told me all about them
Over a lovely cup of tea

by @opheliafu

In Chapter 6 of Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll, Humpty Dumpty explains to Alice about the meaning of the words in the Jabberwocky poem. Humpty Dumpty tells Alice, `Exactly so. Well, then, “mimsy” is “flimsy and miserable” (there’s another portmanteau for you). And a “borogove” is a thin, shabby-looking bird with its feathers sticking out all round — something like a live mop.’

Steps

Follow me @opheliafu

Sort:  

She's a beautiful bird indeed. You made her come to life

Thank you @karenb54 , I hope you are feeling good today. Lovely to have you pop by. The borogove bird sends her best wishes too!

Your more than welcome, and thank you Borogrove bird :)

What an awesome bird, super cute, like the one who made it ! :) keep it up!

no reply's and more than 100 upvotes?!

Funny bird :) from mystery

:D Maybe everyone needs a shot of your coffee? I know I do!

My coffee will open mind and free the soul.
Than people start talk from their hearts .

Especially a cup of snapping turtle coffee!

lovely tutorial as always.

Wow, my daughter loves me reading the Jabberwock. I didn't know about the explanation in through the looking glass!

Yes Humpty explains (chapter 6?!)

I am really enjoying this Alice series. if you ever use these to illustrate covers of diaries, notebooks etc let me know I'l buy a full set for my girls and each of my nieces :D

I hadn't thought about it, maybe I will. Good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49