New Year, New Poetry Competition called Runaway Rhymes

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

"Yay A poetry rhyming competition!" I hear the Steemians cry.

Runaway Rhymes: Go With the Flow

Shall we start with what you could win?

First prize 25 STEEM
Second Prize: 15 STEEM
Third Prize: 10 STEEM

EVERY ENTRANT will get 1 STEEM

So the topic for Runaway Rhymes #1 is to write a rhyming poem about what you are thinking about most at the moment.

Rules

  • It has to be 8 lines or more.

  • It has to rhyme (or almost rhyme).

*Please add your poem or link into the comments of this post.

Optional, but Helpful

  • Please let as many poets know about this competition as possible by resteeming this post, and/ or including a link back to it in your Runaway Rhymes post.

The deadline is midnight 8th January

I will judge and do all the payouts on Monday 9th January.

As this is a new competition, in the event I don't more than 3 entrants, Steem will be rolled over to Runaway Rhymes 2.

Good luck and I look forward to enjoying the talents of the Steem poets.

Image: giphy.com

Sort:  

I am sorry to have joined your competition a bit late... but it doesn't matter... I love to write poems.

But... it is a fact: I am a dirty old man... I like to write DIRTY LIMERICKS, and a limerick is only 5 lines long. A very dirty limerick sometimes has 5 lines and 2 lines more.

But I don't want to offend anybody here. There are too many Girl Scouts in this world. (Nothing against Girl Scouts.. I was a Boy Scout once upon a time, too. And I love Girl Scouts cookies... and Girl Scouts, too.)

Once upon a time I was highly criticized in a poetry forum the first time I posted a dirty limerick, and so I left. That was the end of my stay in that forum. I resigned, but before I resigned I sent the head master a sample of my poems, so he could feel sorry, I hoped, for what he was losing.

Anyways... I will write a Dirty Limerick in a post of my own so that I don't offend anybody here. If you wish to find it or follow me, just search for Dirty Limericks humor comedy fun.

Oh, by the way... I also have several stage comedies, in case anybody is interested in theater.

Loading...

Right at this moment I've been thinking of STEEM
Thinking of the way how it could have been
How it could have started without me knowing
Until the other day I've seen it passing
I checked and read how it's doing
Then I realized this could be the starting
The starting point that I could be gaining
Gaining money that I could not imagine

Fantastic, I think about Steemit a lot too :)

Thanks a lot. It just went in my head spontaneously.

Nice poem entry, I believe we all have these shared thoughts on Steem and its future success. Let's hope it rises above and beyond all of our expectations very soon! Upvoted

Thank you very much. I am still finding my way here since I just joined few days ago. I have a hectic schedule with my work but I will try to concentrate on steemit when I am free. Happy New Year to all of you and may God always guide and protect you whatever you do.

You're welcome, Happy New Years to you, and best of success to you in everything you do. Thank you also, and God bless you as well.

I like your idea. I have resteemed this to help spread the word.

Thank you. I do intend to enter. Just need to put my poetic thinking cap on.

This is my entry for the competition @hopehuggs.

Life;
a puzzle of many facets
a labyrinth filled with twists and turns

Life;
likened to a Monalisa with death pores
and a tout with astonishing politeness

Life;
a joyful chaos
a beautiful madness

It is a great poem, but it I'm afraid it doesn't rhyme, which is one of the main points of this contest.

Am i free to post another one then @hopehuggs

yes, of course :)

Great to see you doing this! Here's my contribution :)

Runaway Rhymes: The You and Me in Perigee

What a cool idea! I will have to have a think! Not bashed out a poem in a while!

Yay! The more the merrier.

In that case! I am feeling awfy chirpy today. So here goes...

Simple Things

It's simple things
That sing to me
A kind word, a touch
These things are free

Our life is full
of these such things
Not ones that cost
Or diamond rings

But things we all have
To give away
They have no limits
No price to pay

So spread the love
To those most near
It's the simple things
That are most dear

Such profound truth in this beautiful simplicity. Great poem entry, upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38