Podcast Wednesday: Amanda Palmer and Justina Ireland Visit Podcasts

in #podcasts6 years ago

This week, I want to write about two specific recent episodes of two of my favorite podcasts, one of which I was fortunate to guest on some months ago. This is Podcast Wednesday.

podcasts.png

Amanda Palmer on Reading Glasses


Reading glasses is a delightful show about books and reading. Every week, hosts Brea Grant and Mallory O'Meara chat about what they've read recently, answer listener's questions, and interview a guest. A few months ago, when the theme of the show was translation, I was fortunate enough to guest on the show. This is particularly cool because the caliber of guests they get is pretty awesome. Amber Benson, Wil Wheaton, John Hodgman and Gail Carriger have all been guests.

A couple of weeks ago, Mallory and Brea hosted author and singer Amanda Palmer. I've been an Amanda Palmer fan for many years now. I've seen her perform in Berlin, in San Diego, and in Tel Aviv. And her TED talk (and basis for the book of the same name), The Art of Asking (embedded below) has had a profound impact on me.


The topic of the podcast that week was getting rid of unwanted books, and that is a topic that hits very close to home for me. As you may recall, we got rid of about half of our books during our recent move, which was simultaneously difficult and cleansing. This is an excellent episode of what is always a good podcast, and I recommend it.

Justina Ireland On Ditch Diggers


The recently announced Hugo finalist podcast Ditch Diggers is another one to which I have a personal attachment: co-host Mur Lafferty is both an author who's work I love and someone who's been a pal for a few years now. Ditch Diggers is a no-holds barred conversation about being a professional writer, hosted by Mur and former pro wrestler and current fantasy author Matt F'n Wallace. It's an honest conversation about the business as it is right now, and last week's guest was perfect for that.

I featured Justina Ireland's latest novel, Dread Nation, in yesterday's New Books Tuesday, because it is a big release, that deals with big topics. Having read some of it today, I can tell you it is also a very fine book so far. And as I tweeted last night, not only is this a no holds barred novel, I suspect extra holds were invented for it. And Justina isn't just a fine author. She is someone who has been on the front line in the fight for diversity and quality representation in literature, particularly YA literature, for years now. This is a terrific conversation that anyone who cares at all about writing and the publishing industry should listen to.

Related Posts:

Podcast Wednesday: The Last Movie
Podcast Wednesday: When Nora Met Anita On A Boat
Podcast Wednesday: Steal The Stars
Podcast Wednesday: Interview Shows
Podcast Wednesday: Quiz Shows
Podcast Wednesday: (non political) Comedy Podcasts
Podcast Wednesday: Politics Podcasts
My Favorite Political Humor Podcasts
My Favorite Wrestling Podcasts
My Favorite Pop Culture Podcasts
My favorite SFF magazine podcasts
My favorite advice (and comedic advice) podcasts
My favorite serial fiction podcasts

steemsig.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85