Podcast Wednesday: The Last Movie

in #podcasts6 years ago

I was going to write about a different podcast topic today, but then the folks behind Tanis and Rabbits dropped an entire serial podcast, Netflix style, so that's what we're gonna talk about. This is Podcast Wedensday.

podcasts.png

One of my very first posts on Steemit was about my favorite serial fiction podcasts. In it, I mentioned 3 podcasts by a very Steemit sounding company, Minnow Beats Whale: Tanis, Rabbits, and The Black Tapes.

This week, those same people, including some of the same cast as Tanis playing the same characters, dropped an entire, six episode, serial podcast called The Last Movie.


The podcast spins off an offhand mention in Tanis of a movie that drives everyone who sees it insane. It's "the last movie," because everyone who watches it dies. This is the story of the quest to find out the story behind the film. And watch that film, of course. Because listeners of Tanis already know our protagonist Nic Silver will jump into any gaping hole in the ground if there's a chance it'll kill him.

It's not crucial to have listened to Tanis, and while there are spoilers to Tanis, they are minor. You can definitely listen to this before committing to the many hours Tanis has racked up already.

The team behind these showed have weaved a complex web of alternate reality around them, with a fake radio station and repeating characters. The two main ones who made their way to this show are Nic, and his hacker friend, freelance employee, and slow simmering possible love interest MK. In Tanis, MK is mostly a helper and adviser. But she takes a serious interest in the mythical film mcguffin of The Last Interest and is a full investigative partner.

The Last Movie tells its story in six half hour episodes, where even the ads are a part of the mystery, as they contain clues to a riddle that will gain the first to solve it a nice bag of swag. I didn't solve it. I did listen to the entire thing, which is why this post is coming to you a little late today. If you like dark fantasy and horror (which I can really only consume in podcasts for some reason), I can pretty much guarantee you'll like this.

Related Posts:

Podcast Wednesday: When Nora Met Anita On A Boat
Podcast Wednesday: Steal The Stars
Podcast Wednesday: Interview Shows
Podcast Wednesday: Quiz Shows
Podcast Wednesday: (non political) Comedy Podcasts
Podcast Wednesday: Politics Podcasts
My Favorite Political Humor Podcasts
My Favorite Wrestling Podcasts
My Favorite Pop Culture Podcasts
My favorite SFF magazine podcasts
My favorite advice (and comedic advice) podcasts
My favorite serial fiction podcasts

steemsig.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90