My Favorite Political Humor Podcasts

in #humor6 years ago

My political views are not likely to surprise you if you've been reading my blog for a while. I'm a lefty. My heart bleeds, as I believe in peace and equality and all of that weird stuff.

Times for people of my affiliation have not been great. But when things aren't great, political humor is an incredibly useful pressure valve. You gotta, as they say, laugh. And to that effort, here are some of the best at making you laugh.

The Bugle

bugle.jpg

It took co-host Andy Zaltzman a while to recover after losing former co-host John Oliver once Oliver became too busy with his HBO show, but he picked himself back up with an impressive roster of funny people from around the globe in this British. but global, political podcast. One warning, though: If you hate puns, you may want to stay away.

Friday Night Comedy Podcast from BBC Radio 4

fridaycomedy.jpg

This single feed actually hosts a few different political comedy shows, of varying quality. The News Quiz is the best one. The Now Show is also very good. Dead Ringers is... also a show on this feed. The Museum of Curiosity is just kinda bad.

Fake The Nation

fakethenation.jpeg

Negin Farsad, the host of the show, is always brilliant, funny and much more versed in policy than you might expect from a comedian. Her guests are a bit hit or miss for me, but the show maintains great overall quality.

Lovett Or Leave It

lovett.jpg

When Jon Lovett joined his former Obama White House co-workers for an episode of their old podcast "Keeping it 1600," I don't think any of them imagined it would lead to comedy stardom. They're now all be partners in political podcasting and commentary juggernaut Crooked Media, with Pod Save America as the lead show, and an increasing variety of shows. Jon Lovett's panel show, where he hosts a group of funny, smart people to play games and make fun of the state of the world, is a personal highlight for me. Hour plus shows usually aren't my favorites, but this is one where I wish it was longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85