Black City Bumpkin? Oh, you mean a "Brownneck".

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I'M SO NEW YORK...

I came to West Virginia to play college football from New York. It was a major cultural shock being from Queens. After I graduated I went to California to work on a few apps I was selling at the time. When I got back I met up with my business partner who books a majority of Country and Bluegrass shows. I'm usually the only city folk at the show. Which also usually means I am the only black person lol.

THAT TIME I MET HANK THE III...

Hank Williams III has not had the best run in the public eyes. He has been accused of being a racist and a homophobe. While I would not disagree with that analysis of his actions, I have to say that my time meeting him was enjoyable. Of course at a show like this they are wondering what is this 6'4'' black duded doing here. In between sets I had a chance to speak with him. We spoke about sports and how much I love West Virginia. We shared a few jokes. I was called a " CIty Bumpkin" and I corrected him and said, "NO! I'm a Brownneck." We had a good laugh and had some drinks.

NO COVER ON THIS BOOK...

I'm the type of person to give everyone a chance. If you have not done anything to me it's hard for me to not like you even if I hear stories. Hank previously signed the table that I usually commandeer at shows at an event years prior. I didn't know anything about him then. I would see his signature and not care too much about it because of all the things I heard before meeting him. But now every time I see this table I am reminded don't judge a book by it's cover.


2017-11-06.jpg

Here is a clip I found of the night.


Sort:  

#life
Dalai Lama : The purpose of our lives is to be happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72