Winter River Adventures & Hiking on an Awesome Ice Flow! 📷

in #photography8 years ago

On my last adventure to the wilderness this past weekend, I spent some time up on a Butte in the high hills to view the surrounding hills and mountains. One think I love in winter though is the ability to get across and along rivers you just want get past easily in the summer.

This time, we came down off the mountain and returned by travelling about 6k along a river, which had some great scenery and exaactly what I was hoping for, open Ice Flows, and ice falls to have fun at!

ImageText

We took turns climbing up a smaller of the ice flows we found, its always neat to find these underground springs bringing up water and then freezing what turns into a nice ice fall or ice climb if you have an ice axe with you.
ImageText

I use microspike traction whenever I'm hiking in the winter on slopes or rivers, so you don't have to worry about slipping at all. You still have to worry about falling in or breaking through, but usually the rivers I'm on are only a foot of water in the winter, so while you might get cold or wet, its not life threatening. At -20°C, that is bigger risk, so carry extra socks and clothing at those times.
ImageText

This ice flow was huge, covering hundreds of meters of river overflow and some great slopes up through the woods for kilometers, which we got to explore!
ImageText

Everything gets burried, the bushes, debris, rocks, leaving a great enjoyable pathway!
ImageText

Unfortunately, I forgot my camera at home, so was stuck taking these with my camera phone, so they are not in good focus. Better than nothing I suppose!
ImageText

Ya, so after the ice flows, walked out the river back to the truck a few more kilometers and enjoyed the scenery of the river, where there are lots of steep banks and rocks, you just don't get to see up close in the summer.
ImageText

All in all, a great trip, and hopefully I'll find some more similar ice flows for my next adventure, they are certainly a LOT of fun!

Past Mountain and Panorama Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent mountain photography sets:


AutoSteem - https://autosteem.learnthis.ca

If you are not browsing steemit with nice photo galleries or using an autovoter then what is stopping you? AutoSteem does that for you, and so much more, so check it out today!

An automation tool for voting, curating and better browsing of Steemit!