Mountain Waterfall Adventures Hiking to Junction Lake Along the Creek Washouts 📷

in #photography8 years ago

I'm always amazed when I explore areas that don't have trails (and therefore people) to see what I find along the way and to some new and hopefully distant destination.

This series is from one of those days, I wanted to explore a route to Junction Lakes in Kananaskis but the trail that used to be there (although I never had used it) was completely washed out in 2013 flooding, I wasn't sure where or how to find a route. However, they are usually my favorite hikes really, and this was no exception, I love it!

These photos are actually a collection of just the small waterfalls along the way which certainly make some nice refreshing stops for a summer hike and they bring about a bit of challenge, as they are not always easy to pass by. None of these were too large, but I hope you enjoy the pictures of these falls on this hike.

waterfalls-hiking

I travelled up the creek bed, where the washout made some areas gravel beds and others still with falls, like this one here. Lots of these to walk along which made some areas fairly quick to travel. The day was 28km (17mi) so pretty long hike considering 1/3 of it was lunging through huge boulder fields.

waterfalls-hiking

You can see me in the green shirt getting a self timer photo along the river bed. My friend caught this on video, as I actually fell in the water trying to jump onto the rock. It was rather slippery. Sometimes photos can be painful and wet! haha.
waterfalls-hiking

These next three shots I really liked, as there was a short section of hiking trial not washed out, luckily along the edge of some falls that would have been a bit tougher to climb up them.
waterfalls-hiking

waterfalls-hiking

waterfalls-hiking

This area was completely covered in moss and algae in the water, but made for some interesting pictures.
waterfalls-hiking

waterfalls-hiking

These falls were each about 8m (25') high, so had to go around them up through the forest, there was no same climbing options, the rock was quite crumbly.
waterfalls-hiking

waterfalls-hiking

This one even had a really nice view from at the top of the falls, looking down towards the pool.
waterfalls-hiking

waterfalls-hiking

And last but not least, the sky turned blue and left a great photo to be taken on the way out along a few of the same falls.
waterfalls-hiking

That's it for just the falls on this one hike. I took so many other photos being out this day, I'll have to post some again for the trail and lakes I hiked to, it was all quite stunning. I hope you like them!

Past Mountain and Panorama Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent mountain photography sets:

Sort:  

Fabulous photos....and a long hike!!! Good one!

Good post and some great photographs. I noted two things..you must be in good shape (28km's with lots of clambering makes my legs tired just reading) and you certainly do not suffer from vertigo...I nearly fell on my desk looking down at that pool from the top of that waterfall.

themagus, you have me pegged. Hiking 700km in a year with 40km of vertical gain certainly helps keep me in shape. That, along with mountain unicycling, rock climbing, XC skiing and a bit of parkour and yes, I'm able to stay in shape fortunately. Wouldn't have it any other way.

I'll have to post some photos where I rappelled down a waterfall, those were really vertigo inducing. haha Thanks for the comment!

Sounds awesome .... what is 'parkour'? And a unicycle?

Parkour, check out some vids here. https://sites.google.com/site/parkourtutorials/
Yup, mountain unicycle. Check out my past blogs, you'll see some posts with it.

Very nice @unipsycho, I especially like the first, last, and the two yellow slime images!

cognoscere, the yellow slime was an interesting find. My friend wondering why I was photographing that disgusting stuff, but I too, love that photo now.

Thanks lyubovbar, appreciate it!

Amazing and beautiful pictures! I like them all!

Thanks tangmo, you have many beautiful flower pics I am always seeing as well, keep it up!

Thank you very much. I'm really glad to hear that you like my flower pics.

Very beautiful places there. I'll be waiting for the next parts from this and other days. You are true nature lover :-)

Nice photos and looking forward to your next post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67