Mountain Panoramas - Hiking to Galatea Lakes 📷

in #photography8 years ago

Here is another mountain hike where I've been able to get some great panoramas. I'm been here several times, but not lucky enough to arrive with clear blue skies, yet. Hopefully my next trip there I'll get the mighty blue backgrounds I'm always seeking.
Blue skies or not, these lakes are a beautiful destination and a great hike to get there.

There are three lakes in total with the upper lake being my favorite, since its up with the high rock walls all around.

Note: Click any images to see large versions.

Galatea Lakes

The clouds on this trip started dropping down over the mountains around. Despite the rain, it wasn't too cold and the clouds made the misty surroundings pretty unique to see as well.
Galatea Lakes

Galatea Lakes

Up to the upper lake is just 15minutes hike around and past the lake shown above, lots of scree slopes but an easy trail to follow around the lake.
Galatea Lakes

This is the same lake on a previous hike there, you can see all the ice still floating, even though this is early summer already.
Galatea Lakes

Galatea Lakes

And this panorama is of the lower elevation lake, called Lillian lake, which you hike past going in and out. It's a beautiful green color, perfectly clear water and a very popular summer hike destination, even if you don't want all the added elevation to the upper lakes.
Galatea Lakes

Past Mountain and Panorama Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent mountain photography sets:

Sort:  

Hello @unipsycho,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Beautiful photos! thank you for sharing.

Wow Beautiful !! Heavenly !!

Even without much sun there is a certain beauty in these photos, love it, can hardly wait till my next trip out to the Rockies!

Thanks daveks! I don't know what I'd do with myself if I didn't live nearby anymore. I get stir crazy when it's been 2 weeks since getting out (like now, ARGGHHH!!!) haha. I hope you enjoy any hikes you get when you come out, you certainly take the photos to document it well!

Wonderful and beautiful lake! I like all of your pictures.

Thank you. I like mountains.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47