Panorama Photography of Mountain Unicycling in the Canadian Rockies in November? Crazy!!!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Well my weekends pretty much always consist of exploring the wilderness of the Canadian Rockies. Its always a great time and usually my idea of a great time includes a bit of suffering from hard work.

Which is part of the reason why I ride a mountain unicycle. However, its especially tough as its getting colder, icier and the snow usually kills the option in the winter, but I was fortunately to get another chance yesterday to explore another new location on my trusty mountain unicycle and take some great photos on the route!

Note: Click to view any image larger.
Mountain Unicycling

its usually a pretty hard push on the way up, mostly hiking but certainly, wherever I can, some riding as well. Yesterday there as only about 2 inches of snow and not much ice, so everything was great for riding!
Mountain Unicycling

Mountain Unicycling

This ride was along a ridge, called Volcano Ridge, it has some georgeous views and photo opportunities, like this! Can you tell I am enjoying the day?
Mountain Unicycling

Mountain Unicycling

Heading further up the mountain, this ridge leaves you with a few sections of peaks and ridges to drop back down from. Like this one the last photo was on the top it, this is looking back to it, that I had to come down in the trees, as the rocks were too icy to safely scramble.
Mountain Unicycling

And finally, some great riding sections through the snow in the last bit of trees, until clearing the treeline to approach the summit.
Mountain Unicycling

And the vast scenery at the summit, enjoying the chance to get some cool photos of my mountain unicycle exactly where it belongs, on a mountain top!
Mountain Unicycling

It got windy up there, so I heading off riding to drop some altitude, find some rock ledges for more photos and hopefully a good spot for lunch.
Mountain Unicycling

Well, plenty of ledges and cliff bands for some photos in the sun.
Mountain Unicycling

Mountain Unicycling

I think this is my favorite...
Mountain Unicycling

And then, a much needed stop for lunch and a fire for an hour. It wasn't cold for needing the fire, I cooked a pretty awesome bush lunch to get some energy back in me for the 9km ride back to the car.

Lunch was 2 pieces of pizza, a stuffed chicken breast, noodle soop and a hot raspberry cinnamon roll. Delicious, I should have taken pictures, but was too busy eating it to stop! haha.
Mountain Unicycling

Had a great ride down, some stuff much tougher and steeper than this, but no bad falls or wipeouts this time, it was a tough, but excellent ride!
Mountain Unicycling

And my final shot of my MUNI (mountain unicycle) at the end of the ride. Time for a nap after this 18km trip.
Mountain Unicycling

Past Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent photography sets:

Sort:  

I'm always impressed when seeing someone mountain biking on a unicycle, it has to be extremely difficult! I can only imagine how bumpy that would be on some of the trails here in Arizona. My full-suspension spoiled me to the point where I can't even ride a hardtail anymore.

haha, its true Shenanigator, it is difficult. Try some riding with no brakes, no gears and no coasting, let alone peddling!! Its much different than a bike though, lots of core body movement to control it. Tons of fun!

That's incredible @unipsycho! Do you use clipless pedals, and how do you break?

Clipless pedals would break me badly, haha. Just platforms with pins in em for good traction. Braking is just putting pressure backwards on the upstroke with the back leg. Its natural once you learn to ride, but very unatural to learn. Some MUNI's do have brakes on them with a lever under the seat, but I am old school, all legs.

Another beautiful trail tour. I got butterflies looking at some of the pictures, especially where you were very close to the ledge. lol.....I'm such a mom. An incredible journey for you with some even more incredible pictures - I can't believe you rode a unicycle tho.....??!! Glad you enjoyed it.

haha, thanks. Ya there were some steep / high areas here, but I never really ride too close to a drop off, especially when its got snow and ice around. Its mostly how you angle the shot. Anyway, had a blast, yes, always nice to be able to share the trail photos! Thanks so much.

Very unusual hobby but very interesting 8) And very beautiful places!

Я хотя и ничего не понимаю по-английски, но все равно поддерживаю, потому что мне нравится эта соцсеть, и нравится здесь зарабатывать !

Quote: "Although I do not understand in English, but I still support, because I like this social network, and the like to make here!"

Thanks antro735 for your support. Спасибо antro735 за вашу поддержку.

Я рад, что мы понимаем друг друга !

Superb post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95