Junction Lake Scenic Panoramas - Wilderness Hiking 📷

in #photography8 years ago

In my last post here, I had the photos of the many creek washes and waterfalls along the trail to the quite distant Junction Lake. Its a 28km (17mi) round trip hike to this lake and with the flood taking out 60% of the trail, it certainly wasn't easy. However, as @themagus said in comment recently to me, sometimes meandering off trail is the best way to go hiking. I certainly agree and enjoyed some beautiful scenery as a result. I hope you agree!

So, here was the destination as I finally reached the lakes after a very long hike that seemed to go on endlessly. Luckily the scenery just kept getting better the further along.

Note: Click any images to see large versions.

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

Couldn't have asked for better timing, as I arrived at the final lake, the sky opened up and some beautiful blues showed above the route I had hiking along to get here. My route and non-existent trail was right from the center of the photo all along the valley.
Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

While my last post was all the waterfalls on this same hike, I just saw that I missed a couple of waterfalls photos, so here they are. This first one I really liked, it was high in the alpine meadows just below the lake's headwall.

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

All around these upper alpine meadows were some awesome rolling hills and rocks in the surrounding towering peaks.

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

Mountain Lakes

See Part 1 - Mountain Waterfall Hiking along Creek Washout

Past Mountain and Panorama Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent mountain photography sets:

Sort:  

Great shots of the Rockies!

Thanks shieha, ya, this was an awesome hike in the rockies, among many.

Wonderful pictures! Mountains, sky and the lake are very beautiful indeed!

Isn't it great when a hike ends with open skies and beautiful colors just as you get to the alpine lakes! This is what it did here, it was perfect!!

Yes, I totally agree with you! It's really great! I wish to be there once in my life!

Incredible to see the way glaciers can carve such impressive and complex landscapes. Thanks for sharing these :)

So true, it leaves me in awe when I get to visit all these great places. no doubt!

what a beautiful place to be.

thanks dr0tcl, I absolutely agree with that!!

Thanks boddhisattva, that says a lot coming from you and your eye for capturing some beautiful skies as well.!

Nice panos, do you always take your unicycle ?

not typically no. I usually try to achieve 1000m of verticle gain, that is usually not too friendly with a uni, up or down. So depends where I go, how much scrambling and if its a trail or bushwacking. I love the trips most when I have the uni as well though, total fun and a little punishment usually. just the way I like it!

Fabulous!! I love how the sky opened up for you. The blue is so clear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47