Awe Inspiring Endless Panorama Mountains while Hiking up Midnight Peak 📷

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I have thoroughly enjoyed the awesome skylines and endless peaks you can see once on the summit of a local mountain, named Midnight Peak. The Kananaskis Rockies where I live in Alberta, Canada, offer some great hikes and even better views when you achieve the summit. Here's one photo set from Midnight Peak, which I've hiking (climbed) several times and will definitely do again.

Note: Click any image to view a larger version.

This shows just how steep a bit of the approach is, there are some easier switchbacks and hiking routes, but I like to find the more difficult spots, especially if it means I have to get my hands dirty, for some rock scrambling. No exception here and great fun!
ImageText

Definitely need to take careful stpes, a slip here would not feel too good. You can see some of the rocks shiney from moisture, making it even more slippery!
ImageText

The Summit Views

The hike up is great, but the real views are the awe and wonder from the summit. Here are a few panoramas to wet your appetite.
ImageText

Midnight Peak here in the front range, offers a great view out to the many distant peaks.
ImageText

These ridges are all alternate routes and hikes to to nearby summits. I've not done them all yet, so must return to explore some more!
ImageText

ImageText

ImageText

I love this image, as it shows many of my favorite peaks and the long lower right to mid left ridgeline is a great 10km ridge walk with fantastic scrambles and still good in winter or shoulder seasons. This is Wasootch ridge and I've had many stories on that mountain, I'll post someday.
ImageText

This final image, you can see in the distant center, the ski hill, Nakiska, which was home to the 1988 winter Olymnpics here in Calgary.
ImageText


This post was written in SteemWriter, my free multiple draft editor for Steemit.

Past Mountain and Panorama Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent mountain photography sets:

Sort:  

Awesome captures, really beautiful!!!

thanks cognoscere!

Great post and I love the area. My brother emigrated from the UK to Canada 12 years ago and lives in Calgary. Went skiing a few years ago to Kananaskis. Only minus 28 that day..

Hey, that great you know the area. Its certainly got a lot to see here and many peaks and hikes to explore. I know the feeling with the cold temps, its brutal here lately. haha

What I find hard to comprehend is the change in temperature during the day. First thing thing can be plus temperatures so you dress accordingly but by leaving work on your way home may have dropped to minus 8. Still love it though.

Great hiking! Awesome skylines and wonderful mountains indeed! I like all of your pictures! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks tangmo, wish my hiking season was as long as last year, we didn't have snow then so I hiked all winter. This year, not so much. Appeciate the comment though!

I love the camera icon you put on your posts. Really cool way to see which posts are photography (apart from the tag)

Loving your photos too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41