Hiking Kananaskis - Hunchback Hill - Mountain Grouse

in #photography8 years ago

The local weather keeps holding on before winter sets in, so I was able to get another great hike this weekend in the local Canadian Rockies. Went to a new area, which is called Hunchback Hill. No one ever really goes there and the trail is mostly non-existent, but it still had some nice forested areas, ridges, cliffs, rock bands grassy meadows and vistas to enjoy.

Here are a few of the shots I took during the day.
Note: Click to view larger versions!

Grouse

Grouse

Despite few visitors, over the years, this hill has a pretty decent cairn built up at the first viewpoint, and some nice vistas over toward the nearby, Barrier Lake. You can see the patches of logging from several years back, that is just starting to grow back in green, when up close.
Grouse

Grouse

Nearby every trip I see these guys, they are Spruce Grouse and they are often walking nearby the trails and they quickly dissapear as you get close. These three were all in different spots, trying different techniques to stay out of the way (some hide, some fly off, some free and don't move).

Grouse

Grouse

Grouse

Scenery

The rest of the hills we walked along were mostly open, with wind scoured ridges with deformed trees, some cliffs and rock bands scattered through the region which I was happy to have as a few scrambling sections to play on (also easily avoidable). A bit of snow in the trees and otherwise, just more great views.

Grouse

Panoramas

These were some of my views at my lunch spot, where I hung my hammock, kicked back and devoured a gigantic double decker home made hamburger I brought for lunch.

Grouse

Grouse

Grouse

Grouse

Grouse

I know these dry areas are not going to last long, but they are sure nice to enjoy before the snow covers it all up.

I hope you enjoyed these panoramas and photos. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent photography sets:

Sort:  

Beautiful images & story!
Thanks for sharing !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41