World Cleanup Day - Raritan River, NJ - Part II

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

About a month after the clean-up effort, shown here, I went back and took some shots of the same trail. I’m happy to say it looks MUCH better and after my friend, Dolly, called the township to pick up the trash and recycling, they came through and cleaned all the scrap metal that was too heavy to lift as well! Additionally they chopped up the fallen trees, including the one that became a garbage dam in the river, and threw them in the woods to return to nature and decompose. Was there still some litter? Of course, I’m not kidding myself into thinking this won’t be a lifelong effort, but maybe we can ask the township to put some garbage/recycling bins at entry points on the trail and a “No Littering, Fuckwad” sign.

The following pictures are how I want to remember and preserve New Jersey.

Not going to ask. Wasn’t looking for a trip to Narnia at the time.

No more scrap metal!

Based on the tracks, it looks like they used some serious equipment to drag that stuff out.

Happy World Cleanup Day, everyone!


All images are original unless otherwise stated. My camera of choice is a Nikon D7200.
Follows, votes, and comments go a long way; your attention and feedback are always appreciated.

Introduction Post
NSFW
Ass-Eating PioneerHumble Beginnings of Fetish PhotographyFetish Photography Lessons Learned - Ice Queen Lighting
Reflections
InvincibleHatred RevisitedMy Philosophy. Your Philosophy.Purpose in Value and Identity
Creative
An Unfortunate EventBellaDolly
Thoughts
Courage: A Bottom Up Approach To Changing The SystemWeaponized Social Memes
Photography
Trying To Tell Me Something...Dreary MondaySunset at Cape CodI Miss My Friend
Informative
Diet Overhaul Part I: List of Essential Vitamins and Minerals
Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66