Weaponized Social Memes

in #meme6 years ago

In the ever-evolving etiquette and acceptable behaviour of our society at large, we have formerly struggled through a painstaking process of change, usually involving awareness and self-sacrifice. Our tribal nature wants to categorize groups, identify threats, and side up. But this very notion may now be used to accelerate a once cumbersome process through two modern methods:

  1. The advent of social media and mass connectedness which gives us a way to IMMEDIATELY find each other and spread messages.
  2. The ability of a few to reduce an antiquated notion that no longer serves a purpose in society to essentially a meme that's easy to grasp.

The combination of these things creates a powerful tool for social change as the tribal 'group' we identify with is now perceived, not tangible. If we see a meme or phrase being re-used in various places, we assume a majority is using this based on the frequency of occurrence relative to our browsing experience. We (the majority) then feel a social pressure to bend to the message of the perceived social norm.

The example that comes to mind is 'gatekeeping'. I know it's not new, though I see the word popping up more frequently now as a VERY effective way of reducing and invalidating a close-minded argument which sides with a former social norm that no longer serves a purpose.

It is in this way that we can use these methods to advance ourselves towards a more inclusive society.

The argument can also be made that the groups that use these methods of reduction and dismissal already have their minds made up and are simply reinforcing these notions. In this case I believe any type of progressive leaning individual would become further inclusive and open, while the conservative-minded would remain stagnant, which still tips the balance towards social change (albeit maybe not as fast as I originally thought).

Of course...the Russian trolls may well figure out a way to use these weapons against us if they haven't already to further divide and conquer.

Anyway, here I am in the library because fuck pixabay and modern day clipart:

me.jpg

Sort:  

love it "Anyway, here I am in the library because fuck pixabay and modern day clipart:" hahah

I see you are here on steemit a few months now, just had a look around your account. I know when people start here they get a few welcome messages, but after that, if you have not joined a community you can easily get lost in the sea of posts. How are you getting on here on steemit anyway?

I’m doing a little bit of outreach this week with those that have been here a few weeks and have had some time to get a feel for the place. Would love to know your thoughts so far? Is there anything I can help you with or questions I can answer for you?

One tip I am spreading this week is to check your mentions. being part of steemit includes engagement and if someone happens to mention you in a post, you should really check it out. You can find your mentions on https://steemworld.org/@neabponch, if you look through the tabs, you will find all your mentions.

Regards
Paula
STEEM Witness @steemcommuity
STEEM COMMUNITY - Steemit Profile Banner.jpg

Hey Paula, I love the concept of steemit but dislike most of the content and power structure created through the necessity to coattail ride previously established content creators. I'm basically at the point where I just want to use this as a place to empty my mind from time to time and occasionally read something inspiring (if I can find it).

I'd love to be part of a community of people who write creatively or abstractly, but it's a bit hard to locate.

Thanks for the tip, luckily I missed no mentions :P

the power structure is a problem, stems from the initial distribution of steem I think.

Its great that you have a place where you can empty your mind, and its a pity you cant find content you like. Lol very often I use data to find posts of interest. What type of content would you like to see more of?

Im not aware of a community that focus on abstract writing, but there is the writers block on discord, if anyone can tell you they could. here is a link for their discord channel https://discord.gg/zMPGeq

In the mean time, if you have any questions or need help with anything just visit any of my posts and leave a comment, don't worry if its off topic.

Thanks, Paula, you're a gem. I know the content is there, it's just a matter of sifting through the fluff to get to it. I've seen SOME material I really enjoyed so I know it's there. I'll check out the discord, thanks again.

Hola ¿como estás? paso para saludarlo y desearle un buen fin de semana.

Thanks, maing, hope everything is good with you, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01