An Unfortunate Event

in #death6 years ago

My favorite spot; it’s always been loaded with food. I found a shortcut to get there the other day, my best friend taught it to me, you hop from the bush to the lower part of the balcony and you can skip going over top the rail. That thing is covered in squirrel and mourning dove shit anyway.

I jump up and all my favorite foods are waiting for me, I couldn’t ask for more on this sunny day, I might stop by the bath after this. A gray cloud is fast approaching. Faster than I can react. I become paralyzed after what feels like a dagger spikes through my heart. The pain is unbearable and I am being rushed into cool darkness.

There is shouting as I’m dropped onto some kind of fabric. I can only watch in horror and confusion. I have to get out of here; my life depends on this, I’m sure. I try to roll onto my leg but it’s crushed and unrecognizable. The pain shoots back into my chest and it is all I can think about.

A shadow painfully rolls my body into a chamber and brings me back to my food. The heat from the sun burns my eyes and the silence once again allows me to focus on my panic. Maybe if I don’t move it won’t hurt as much.

A sensation of drowning washes over me and the panic has peaked as I must find a way out of myself. I thrash about, the pain in my leg barely noticeable compared to the inability to breathe. I open my mouth to scream but no sound is coming out. No air can enter, no purpose can emit. The silence renders me incomplete.

This is it. I have no more words or abilities, they have been taken from me. Waves of consciousness pulsate through my crippled body. The pain has stopped but I’m afraid I know what comes next, no sense in fighting it I suppose. This seems as good a place as any. I roll onto my back and relief comes flooding in. My leg pushes itself into the air, the other leg follows.

The trees seemed to pause their undulation as if they had just witnessed a murder.

I die with my eyes open.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66