Bearded Iris: The Hall of Valhalla - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry 1 - SPC 30 - 9 photos and a flower toursteemCreated with Sketch.

From a bee's perspective, flying into a Bearded Iris must seem like entering the majestic hall of Valhalla.

DSC00360-3-164687.jpg

This is the photo I am entering in the PhotoChallenge. Details: SONY RX-10, f2.8, 1/100 sec, ISO 320, 9mm


The Beard of the Bearded Iris

There are so many different kinds of Iris! I really like the Bearded Iris -- the ones with the fuzzy part that looks like a caterpillar going into the flower. It seems like this beard must be what attracts bees into the flower to pollinate it. Take a look:

DSC00950-1fc13a.jpg

DSC00947-11b921.jpg

DSC00956-1-26d4dc.jpg

Doesn't it look like that fuzzy beard must be important? But there's a lot more to this Iris story than that flashy yellow beard.


The Valhalla of the Bearded Iris

Take a look at this Bearded Iris. It's easy to see the the petals, in light blue, standing upright. They are the Standards, in Iris talk. The purple parts that hang down are the flags - they aren't really petals, but the sepals that are underneath the flowers of other plants. Gardeners over hundreds of years have bred Bearded Irises to have the showiest standards and flags. The bees don't care about any of that!

Look right above the fuzzy beard on the biggest flower. See that cap that arches over the beard like a little roof? That's what the bee cares about! Those are the style arms of the iris. That gap between the beard and the style arm leads down into the base of the flower, where all the nectar is.

DSC00345-15558d.jpg

Spread apart the top petals of the Iris and you can look down onto the style arms. They can be cosmic!

DSC00349-1-1efb80.jpg

From a bee's perspective, flying into a Bearded Iris must seem like entering the majestic hall of Valhalla. So grand! With colors so spectacular and nectar so sweet! Can you imagine being a bumblebee entering this Bearded Iris, hovering slowly to make sure that it's OK to go all the way in to get nourishment after its heroic travels? To get the nectar, the bee has to struggle with the tight fit. That's where the pollination happens - down inside the hall, on the other side of the showy beard.

DSC00360-3-164687.jpg


Photographing Iris

There are so many color variations in Iris. Nobody can ever grow them all! All of the Iris in this post grew in my yard. They don't take a lot of care here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. They are a lot easier to grow than to photograph!

DSC00959-1b5891.jpg

I really struggle to take decent photos of a whole Iris flower. There is so much depth and structure to the flower. And some of the the dark Iris, like this deep purple one, seem impossible to capture with as much beauty as they have in real life.

DSC00964-19e13b.jpg

So, inevitably, I end up focusing on their fuzzy little beard! This summer, I want to get a photo of a bumblebee going in or coming out. But that will take a lot of sitting and watching my Iris. I better plan to make plenty of Wild Faux Pink Lemonade while I sit out in the sun!

DSC00961-188f2c.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this closer look at my Bearded Iris. And I hope you get to enjoy some Iris yourself this summer!



What Do You Think?

Do you grow any Iris? Do you have any tips on taking Iris photos? What's your favorite kind of Iris? What flowers are you putting in your garden this season? I would like to know!



Here are some other Haphazard Homestead photos you might enjoy: A Snake in the Grass // Flowers at the Seymour Conservatory // Garden Plants in the Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016 // Reading the Landscape - Pennyroyal Wetlands // Sweetgum Riot // Migis Lodge Lake Views // Arkansas Country Creek // Eat Flowers!

** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice shots!!! We have some on the side of our house that I'll have to inspect closer this year.

Thanks! There are so many different color combinations of Iris. I never get tired of them. But I think they are hard to photograph in their entirety. Gladiolas may be harder, but not by much! :O

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.03 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful close-ups!

Amazing photos!

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed them. :)

Beautiful flowers and interesting information! ;)

These are fantastic, I can't choose a favorite. Really amazing photography

Thanks. Iris are an interesting plant. They are so easy to grow, I think people take them for granted sometimes.

@haphazard-hstead holy molly!
that's a great one! specially the 1st one
that would be hard to beat! but I haven't seen 'em all yet :D
Good luck!

Glad you enjoyed my Iris. There have been a lot of beautiful flowers coming across the Steemit feeds this week, lol. It's a big colorful change from last weeks reptiles, lol. Most of them were just gray and brown images.

@haphazard-hstead yes, a lot .. I wanted to join, too
but I couldn't choose -I have too many flower pics so I let it go hahahah

I had trouble choosing just three myself! But since I didn't win anything, maybe I should have chosen differently, lol. I do like how so many people enter the photo challenge, though.

Great post! As a zoologist, I'm always looking to expand my knowledge of botany. Flowers (and plants in general) are unique and beautiful, and I feel you captured those qualities with this post and your breathtaking pictures!

Thanks! Plants are easier to study than the animals -- they don't move so much, lol. I imagine you've seen some interesting plants in the places you find your reptiles and amphibians!

Yes! I saw Sarracenia alata, yellow trumpet pitcher plants. I searched for 15 minutes for a picture I know I took of them but I can't find it now. If I ever do find it I'll post it here.

I bet you do have a lot of pictures from your field work. Steemit's a good incentive for going through all your photos! ; )

I appreciate being curated by the SteemGuild Photography group. They have some great photos in their curated list for this week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47