Beat the Winter Blues - Visit a Garden Conservatory - 6 original photos from the W.W. Seymour Conservatory in Tacoma, WashingtonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Has a cold winter got you down? Head to a warm conservatory greenhouse and stroll among the extravagantly colorful exotic flowers and luscious deep-green foliage. Breathe in the humidity and fragrance.

Come with me into the W. W. Seymour Conservatory in Tacoma, Washington. It's completely free to go inside and spend all day in the magnificent 12-sided glass-paned greenhouse. The Conservatory is a historic place, more than 100 years old.

At the end of this post, I'll show you a flower that seems as tropical as any in this conservatory - but it grows easily outdoors in cool climates like Oregon's Willamette Valley.


Bromeliads

xtsuDSC04871-1-2_WEBf9c05.jpg
SONY RX10, f4, 1/320 sec, ISO 125, 31mm

OK, I'll admit that this bromeliad is not flowering. But how could I not post it here, when the vegetation alone is as beautiful and colorful as any flower? It's one of the Guzmania bromeiliads, native to the tropics in the Americas, but I'm not sure which one. This plant was big, though, bigger than I could fit in my house! And they like warm temperatures and high humidity. So I can't grow these. Other bromeliads are more flexible in their requirements. Have you ever grown a bromeliad?


Bird of Paradise

This Giant Bird of Paradise (Strelitzia nicolai) is native to the sub-tropics of South Africa. I can't imagine actually growing one of these myself. The whole plant can get 30 feet high with leaves 6-8 feet long! They are used in landscaping in warmer climates, though. Have you ever grown a Bird of Paradise?

xtsuDSC04860-1-3_WEB354f3.jpg
SONY RX10, f2.8, 1/30 sec, ISO 80, 14mm


Orchids

I smile when I look at these perky orchids. They are Cymbidium iridioides, native to the Himalayan region in Asia. These flowers are on one stem from a large patch of strap-like leaves. I think they look like dancers, leaping into the air with exhuberance. This is an action photo!

xtsuDSC04882-1_WEB4a71f.jpg
SONY RX10, f2.8, 1/40 sec, ISO 125, 9mm

This is a Paphiopedilum exul, native to Thailand. The pollination of this orchid is interesting. Different insects are attracted to honeydew on that little pad, but it's slippery, so they fall into the bucket. The only way to climb out is through the rough track up the back of the bucket, behind the pad, and out through the furry channel at the top. Their travel through the tunnel is what accomplishes the pollination. Then they go off to another flower.

xtsuDSC04856-1_WEB927b1.jpg
SONY RX10, f2.8, 1/30 sec, ISO 80, 9mm


Anthurium

This pink flower is Anthurium andraeanum, from the warm tropics of Ecuador and Colombia. It likes low light, warm temperatures, and high humidity -- like a tropical rain forest. So I can't grow this flower, either! The pink part isn't actually a flower, but a modified leaf. The flowers will open on the spike that sticks out.

xtsuDSC04862-1_WEB34f08.jpg
SONY RX10, f2.8, 1/30 sec, ISO 80, 9mm


Calla Lily

So I can't grow any of the plants from the Seymour Conservancy that I've shown you. But I can grow Calla Lilies (Zantedeschia aethiopica), native to South Africa. Calla lilies seem so tropical and exotic, but they grow well here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. They don't take much care and can be divided regularly to share.

I know there are other flower colors, but I think the white ones are especially alluring. What's your favorite calla lily color? have you ever grown Calla Lilies?

xtsuDSC02397-1-2_WEBdb7b7.jpg
SONY RX10, f2.8, 1/160 sec, ISO 500, 52mm


Sources: The Seymour Conservatory - Tacoma Metroparks


What Do You Think

How do you deal with winter's cold, gray weather? Do you have a public greenhouse or conservatory near you? Do you grow any of these plants? Which is your favorite of these flowers? I really want to know!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @haphazard-hstead,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Beautiful photos of some amazing plants! Didn't even know we had something like that around here (I'm up the road a bit, in Port Townsend).

Thanks - glad you enjoyed my post. You are so close to Tacoma and this great place! Next time you are in the area, it's worth a stop. There is always a lot blooming there.

Yes, we also have those calla lilies here in Portugal. We call it "jarros" and the white ones are the more popular around! But it's easy to find purple or orange one too...I think my mom has the both, I will ask her! :)

I'm glad you have calla lilies around you. Thanks for their name in your area, too! I've never seen the orange ones, but my neighbor has a purple one. The white ones seem to grow better, though. Happy calla lily gardening to your Mom! : )

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@haphazard-hstead i like the birds of paradise the most.
I'm not growing them but the late hub's dad's wife did and hub's dad still has them.

How do I deal with the winter boredom? I don't - too busy to even noticed :D

Haha -- I don't get bored. I think it's more that winter can be very gray and overcast, without the bright colors of the flowers that we see in the summer. And some winters just seem more cold than others. A conservatory is a little warm tropical island of color! I'm with you - I've never understood being bored, lol.

@haphazard-hstead I do get tired of something - when it becomes a pattern .. sort of .. I guess we're all engineered /fashioned this way? Always looking for something different.

I agree. It always surprises me, too, how fast that happens!

vackra bilder det äe fantastikt tack

Kul att du gillade det (Glad you enjoyed it!)

Yes, they are really colorful exotic flowers! I like them all! Thank you very much for sharing!

Glad you enjoyed these flowers! That green and yellow orchid is from Thailand. I think that's where you are at, is that right?

Oh really! I overlooked that the orchid came from Thailand! There are various kinds of orchids in Thailand and I enjoyed seeing your pictures very much! You are right! I'm Thai and live in Thailand now! ;)

Wow, gorgeous phlowers (photos of flowers). The colors are truly amazing. You captured them well. I really enjoy greenhouses, they are so humid and smell so wonderful when you enter. And they are WARM when it's cold outside. Did the camera fog up alot? Seems to be one problem with greenhouse photos. Thanks for sharing.

Glad you enjoyed the flowers. I didn't have any trouble with my camera. If I had been outdoors for awhile before going in, there might have been a problem, because my camera would have been cold. I hope you get to take some good greenhouse photos sometime!

This garden very nice and beautiful photos and flowers. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47