Migis Lodge, Maine - 2 - Lake Views - 5 original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

The lake surface was smooth as glass - so calm, so still. Not a ripple. Loons called in the daytime, screech owls at night. Come on into my post for a few peaceful late-October views of Sebago Lake, Maine.

DSC00882_WEB7828c.jpg

DSC00881_WEBc96ed.jpg

DSC00870_WEBf0954.jpg

DSC00871_WEB79396.jpg

DSC00874_WEB16d6c.jpg

See the first Lake Migis photo set - Stacking Firewood.
I'll be posting more photos from the Lake Migis Resort: Rustic cabins, resort comforts, more lake views, and special features. Follow me to get them in your feed!

Have you ever been to Maine? Do you like the sound of loons or screech owls?

** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's funny that most people I follow that do foraging are based in Maine :D.

Why is that?

I'm in Oregon's Willamette Valley, not Maine. But it's a direct shot along the old the Teddy Roosevelt Highway that goes 4000 miles from Portland, Maine to Portland, Oregon. So there's that. ; ) Happy foraging!

Beautiful photos!

I would absolutely love seeing a view like that every day if I could. I have not been to Maine. We don't have loons here in Iowa, but on my trips to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area I love hearing their calls echo across the lakes. We do have screech owls here, and their call is enjoyable to hear at night.

Glad you enjoyed the view. I've only been to Maine twice. I'd like to spend more time there, for sure. It's neat you have been to the Boundary Waters Area - it's great! Loons are special, but screech owls are, too. I had one here at my home in Oregon's Willamette Valley one winter. It stayed in the giant sequoia in my yard and called every night for months. It was really nice. Thanks for commenting and here's to the outdoors! :D

That's awesome you have a giant Sequoia in your yard! I'm glad we both enjoy the outdoors. I made a couple posts about my Boundary Waters trips a few months ago. I may do more in the future.

A lot of sequoias have been planted around town. Mine was a Mother's Day present for the people who owned this place before me. It's not that old of a tree, but 3 people can't reach around it! But -- a friend of mine has two in his front yard. Someone planted them as street trees !!! between the sidewalk and the street. The largest trees on the planet -- between the street and the sidewalk. And the city won't let him cut them down. It's a wonder.

Please do post more of your Boundary Waters trips! I'm so glad that area is protected for the public to use. It's a big expanse for big canoeing adventures! So much history, too.

I sure will do some future posts about Boundary Waters. 1,090,000 acres is a lot of expanse!

Beautiful place, and I love the way you framed those. Looks kind of like a combination of old world 3D stereoscopes and a lodge-wall photo series in that matte. I can almost hear the screen door of the cabins slam from across the bay. Thanks.

Thanks! Those frames do fit the character of the lodge. The rustic cabins and lodge walls will be in future posts in this series - maybe you will like those, too. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46