SteemitPhotoChallenge 16 Entry 1 – Eat Flowers! – original photosteemCreated with Sketch.

I eat a lot of flowers. These all went into a great salad with some weeds. What are these flowers? Come into my post and see!

Camera: Sony DSC-RX-10
Lens: 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 9mm
Shutter Speed: 1/125 sec
Aperture: f/4
ISO: 125

Species List

  1. Pink flowers - Rose of Sharon - Hibiscus syriacus
  2. Pale yellow and white flowers - Roses - Rose spp.
  3. Bright yellow on the left - Dandelion - Taraxacum officinale
  4. Bright yellow on the right - Bristly Hawksbeard - Crepis setosa
  5. The berries? - Wild Himalayan blackberries - Rubus armeniacus

How did I eat them? I mixed them with a big pile of very young Lambsquarter and Redroot Pigweed, topped with raw sunflower seeds and a blasamic vinaigrette. Yep, this was a great #EatYourYard salad - free for the picking!

  1. Lambsquarter - Chenopodium album
  2. Redroot Pigweed - Amaranthus retroflexus


What Do You Think?

What flowers do you like to eat? I would like to know!

And if you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post a be sure to use the Foraging tag. See what other folks are foraging by following the @foraging-trail, where all posts are SteemTrail-curated.



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

O.O that is bot delicious and beutifull, well done @haphazard-hstead!

Thank you! It was tasty, that's for sure!

Beautiful composition on both pics. Congratulations on your entry into this week's #steemitphotochallenge. Best of luck to you!

STEEM ON!!

Wow - thanks! Flowers make any salad look nice - and these make a salad taste great, too!

Awesome post and love the salad recipe. Will give it a try this week. Thanks.

Thanks! I wonder what flowers you have to eat, where you are.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

omg I want to eat flowers! My one dog eats my flowers all the time...of course why didn't I think of this...my salads will be awesome! Thanks so much for this post!!

Not all flowers are edible, but there are some really nice ones to know.

got ya...lol I take it roses and hyacinths are ok?

Roses and hibiscus are ok -- not hyacinths, the spring bulb. The hibiscus, hollyhocks, rose-of-sharon, and mallows are all related and they are all good. For both, the petals are all to eat. Not the bud or the reproductive parts like the pistils and stamens. If you do get to try any, I like to hear a taste review, for sure! :D

Thanks for the input on your other page to come here and for the suggestions as a bushcrafter. It is true, if you search bushcraft on here, I was one of the first posters for that, in a couple of my posts. I noticed other tags might have gotten my numbers up better but I stuck with using bushcraft as the first tag, to open up the space and hopefully help the greater good this past summer when I joined Steemit

Bushcraft is a great tag. You had a couple nice posts over there awhile back. I'm with you about the value of wool!

UP and RS your posts on here today also for you.

This is so cool!! I love to drink chrysthamum and rose tea - a habit I picked up from living in China. But this is awesome inspiration to eat more of what I have growing right here in my yard!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47